my weekly mission and the annual mission

This is a busy mission week!  Of course, there is my weekly (daily, hourly) mission to my family, the children and their homeschool in particular, but also this week is our parish’s annual mission.

This is a busy week in our Catholic homeschool! Besides readin’, ‘ritin’, and ‘rithmatic, we have several liturgical celebrations. Today we commemorate St John Bosco.

Here is a coloring page: SAINT JOHN BOSCO

I have also “discovered” (yeah, I’m often behind the times. Ask my teens!) that at CatholicOnline, there is a series of “comics” with a frame for many saints. I’ll be using those (when they exist for the day/celebration) with my kids. Kind of a fun thing to add.

1 February: St Brigid of Ireland

Our book is: Brigid’s Cloak

Our coloring page is from Waltzing Matilda (Charlotte) Find all of her coloring pages HERE

 

2 February: Feast of the Presentation of the Lord,

Coloring Page 1

Coloring Page 2

Coloring Page 3

Charlotte has a page also

It’s also Groundhog Day!

There are loads of Groundhog Day coloring sheets out on the net.  Here is the one we will be using: Groundhog

3 February: St Blaise,

Charlotte has a page

I am going to do a trial run on a weekly “lapbook” covering the saints and celebrations for the week.  I’ll still figure out a way to make individual lapbooks for the celebrations that we want to put more emphasis on, but a weekly lapbook may be good for those times when I can’t really come up with a whole load of stuff on an individual.  We’ll see how it goes….

~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~

Last night, Chief and I went to our parish mission.  I enjoyed the talk very much.  The “main thrust” of the ministry of the Deacons seems to be “guided meditation” type prayer, particularly for healing.  I didn’t particularly enjoy the last 10 minutes or so because I simply don’t have a good imagination!  I don’t imagine visually.  I can’t “see” Jesus walking up to me and sitting beside me.  I can’t “see” myself sitting in a field of lilies.  I can’t “see” in my mind’s eye.  There was nothing wrong with what they did ~ there was nothing disturbing, it just doesn’t “work” for me.

The talk was pretty powerful and quite hilarious.  Deacon Eddie is a great speaker.  Tonight we’ll hear from Deacon Robert, too.  I am looking forward to going back.  I think I will get a lot from their talks.  Toughing out their “meditative prayer” stuff will be worth hearing the rest.  (Yes, my local friends.  I’m pointing this out for you as well as for me.  COME!)

Deacon Robert is going to be speaking about contemplative prayer.  I’m slightly apprehensive because I know that there are a few “working definitions” for that term. Some are kinda crazy, but I don’t expect that.  Others are just not what I’ve come to understand to mean contemplative prayer.    The one that I know best and fully embrace (intellectually, even if I haven’t been brought to it!) is along the lines of St John of the Cross and St Teresa of Avila.  I have been learning about this from Fr. Thomas Dubay’s (R+I+P) writings.  Deacon Robert’s understanding and teaching may be different, but my prayer today is that God will use this time to show me something to increase and improve my prayer.

God bless you, God love you, God grant you peace!

About becomewhatyouare

Catholic, Middle-Aged, Knitting-Addicted, Wife, Homeschooler, Mom of 6, Mom-in-Law to 1, Mother of 11 little saints, Grandma to 1, Godmother to 12, Foster Mom to 5, Army mom, Happily living in Texas!
This entry was posted in Catholic, Coloring Pages, Home Education, Lapbooks, Liturgical Year, Our Catholic Family Life. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to my weekly mission and the annual mission

  1. Debbie says:

    Thank you for the pictures. We are getting snowed in Tuesday and Wednesday.. The kids will like something new.

    • I can’t imagine! There was a tease of possible winter weather, but now it appears that the precipitation and the cold temps will not coincide. Now if the cold temps would just pass us by…. *sigh*

  2. Thank you for the links to all of the coloring pages!

Leave a Reply

