Blessings all around us

In our sorrow, we have not forgotten our blessings.  They are very many and we are very grateful.  God is so very generous with His love and His grace and His mercy.  Even as tears silently stream down my face, I praise Him and I thank Him for the privilege of being a mother so many times.  I thank Him for choosing Chief and me to cooperate with Him as he creates eternal souls.

My womb is empty, but my heart is full.  It is full to the brim, nearly bursting.  It holds aching and sorrow, but so much more joy and love.  The sorrow is real, but not  overpowering.

St Teresa of Avila’s bookmark prayer comes to mind again and again.  It is my strength during this time.

Let nothing disturb you,
Let nothing frighten you,
All things pass away:
God never changes.
Patience obtains all things.
He who has God
Finds he lacks nothing;
God alone suffices.

Yes, my heart is full, joy abounds, even in the midst of sorrow.  One happy thing for my mother’s heart is that today SuperSoldier is coming home for Christmas leave.  We will enjoy a bit over 2 weeks with him.  I am so glad.

I leave you with some pictures that capture some of my joy:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

About becomewhatyouare

Catholic, Middle-Aged, Knitting-Addicted, Wife, Homeschooler, Mom of 6, Mom-in-Law to 1, Mother of 11 little saints, Grandma to 1, Godmother to 12, Foster Mom to 5, Army mom, Happily living in Texas!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Blessings all around us

  1. MimiDenise says:

    What beautiful pictures… What a beautiful family! Tell SuperSoldier “hi”.🙂

  2. KC says:

    Love the pictures! Can’t wait to see SuperSoldier.

  3. Angela M. says:

    Pearl – sorry hardly seems an adequate word to try to comfort you. Know my prayers are with you. Angela

  4. gardenia says:

    a favorite prayer of mine — I love to pray it in times of sadness, fear, despair, and yes, even in joyous times. praying for you.

  5. My heart goes out to you, but you are right, you have a beautiful family, and you are blessed. Tnank you for sharing. Life is about joy and sorrow.

  6. God is so good to let us mingle joy in with our sorrow, isn’t He? ((Hugs))

  7. MamaMidwife says:

    God bless you, friend. He has given you grace to see the good even in times of sorrow. I’ve been praying for you. ((Hugs and love.))

  8. MaryAlice says:

    Hoo…Hoo…hoo…
    😉

  9. Carla says:

    You are in my prayers and will continue to be in them. May joy always outweigh sorrow in your life. I’m sorry, my friend, for your loss and admire you for your courage and strength.

  10. Lisa Sweet says:

    So very sorry for your loss. I pray that the Infant Jesus will continue to fill you with peace, love and joy. You are a grace-filled woman and so blessed by God. Your piece of heaven will be crowded indeed!

  11. Ethan says:

    I love you Texas Knitter. Merry Christmas!

  12. Sarah Oldham says:

    I haven’t stopped in a while so I hadn’t a clue . . . God bless and keep you. He knows best – and you have such courage in your Faith! You inspire me! Mele Kalikimaka and God bless you and your beautiful family.

  13. teachinmom says:

    (((((hugs))))) You are an amazing, faith-filled woman and I am glad to know you!
    Peace

  14. Therese says:

    Many prayers for you!

  15. Dawn Farias says:

    Oh, friend, I’m sorry I’ve been absent for so long that I didn’t know to even celebrate with you in time. I’m so sorry for your loss. ((hugs))

Leave a Reply

