Advent

Our Advent has gotten off to a slower start than last year, but we’re plugging along.

While I’ve mixed up sugar cookie dough, I haven’t actually made any yet.  I’ll get to it… eventually.

For our Jesse Tree, I purchased a small, potted stone pine at the grocery store.  I remove the red ribbon and am using Michele Quigley’s small ornaments found at O Night Divine. I didn’t have the circle punch (looked for one, though!) and I didn’t use photo paper because I didn’t have any, but I am pleased enough so far, even with the matte cardstock and crooked cutting.  TheBoy enjoyed hanging the ornaments.

 

Last night we started reading The Jesse Tree.

 

This is a new addition to our Advent book collection.  I really like this book.  I’ve only skimmed through it, but so far I like it.  TheBoy was very disappointed that I “had” to stop reading.  The pictures are lovely and so far the story is interetsing.

 

Hoping your Advent is coming along nicely.  God bless you!

About becomewhatyouare

Catholic, Middle-Aged, Knitting-Addicted, Wife, Homeschooler, Mom of 6, Mom-in-Law to 1, Mother of 11 little saints, Grandma to 1, Godmother to 12, Foster Mom to 5, Army mom, Happily living in Texas!
This entry was posted in Catholic, Crafty Stuff, Liturgical Year, Our Catholic Family Life. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Advent

  1. Since this is my first Advent as a home schooler, I decided to keep it simple. Fortunately, I found (in my attic) an Advent activity that I never used before. In 2008, my sister send me “The Story of Christmas” Story Book & Advent calendar, and it was put in a box and forgotten. I am so glad I found it. It is set up like an advent calendar, however instead of opening the door, each day has a miniature book you take out and read. Each one tells the story of Jesus’ birth. Dec. 1 spoke about the Holy Land, today spoke of the prophecy of Isaiah. Each book is threaded by a gold cord to hang on the Christmas tree. My girls are taking turns placing the little books.

  2. Carla says:

    I’ve been thinking about you. Haven’t seen you blogging as much. I hope you are enjoying this holiday season!

    We went with another LEGO Advent calendar. Though with all the Bible verses we are having to memorize for school and AWANA, I am afraid my little one’s brain might explode if I have him do anything more tedious. Though I am super excited for our Happy Birthday to the King cake! 🙂

    Oh and I noticed it slightly snowing on your page! Is that wishful thinking??

  3. Oh, to have the energy of a not-pregnant mom! Despite my best intentions the most I have done with the (excellent) info you gave me, was start thinking about next year! I just keep telling myself, “It’s just a season. It will be over soon.”
    And, I like the crookedly cut cardstock. It looks home-y.🙂

Leave a Reply

