Book Review: Little Star

Disclaimer: I was recently asked to review the children’s book, Little Star, by Anthony DeStefano. Mr. DeStefano sent a copy of the book for me to review. I have received no other compensation for this review and, as always, I offer you my honest opinion on this book.

As soon as I received an email inviting me to review this book, I looked it up on Amazon and was interested in it right away. I was also interested in knowing more about the author, so while I waited to receive my copy, I looked up some information about him.

Mr. DeStefano is also the author of This Little Prayer of Mine, (on my wish list for TheBoy), Ten Prayers God Always Says Yes To: Divine Answers to Life’s Most Difficult Problems (no, it’s not a “prayer of jabez” type book. It’s right on the money and in my “wish list” on iTunes!) and A Travel Guide to Heaven. (also in my wish list!) He is also the Executive Director of Priests for Life.

In this book, Little Star, a young boy asks his father to show him which of the stars is the Christmas star. The boy’s father tells him a story about the littlest star (wiser than the larger, brighter stars) who alone among the stars recognizes the King of the Universe come as a Babe in a manger. The story goes on to tell of the complete sacrifice of self that Little Star makes and his reward for making it.

I like this story and so does TheBoy (4yo). I also enjoyed the illustrations by Mark Elliot. I like the soothing colors and the silly “faces” of the stars. I particularly enjoy the scenes in Bethlehem.

Little Star, by Anthony DeStefano is a sweet story that will be added to our Advent and Christmas book basket to be enjoyed each year.

About becomewhatyouare

Catholic, Middle-Aged, Knitting-Addicted, Wife, Homeschooler, Mom of 6, Mom-in-Law to 1, Mother of 11 little saints, Grandma to 1, Godmother to 12, Foster Mom to 5, Army mom, Happily living in Texas!
This entry was posted in Books. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Book Review: Little Star

  1. MimiDenise says:

    Aww. That sounds so sweet. I want to get one for Hayley.

  2. My husband is an amateur astronomer. He likes to point out the stars and planets to our girls.

  3. Lisa Sweet says:

    Thanks for the review. I’ve been hunting for Christmas/Advent books to add to our collection.

Leave a Reply

