Versatile Blogger Award

I was given the “Versatile Blogger Award” by The Praying Mom.  Many thanks to this sweet young mom!  You should go check out her blog and meet her and her family.

The “rules” are:

1. Thank the blogger who gave it to you
2. List 7 things that people may not know about you;
3. Pass the love to 15 deserving bloggers (I think I’m going to just refer you to my blogroll!)
4. Let them know that you gave them an award.

Hmmm.  Seven things you may not know about me.  After 3 years of blogging, it seems to me that I have probably already told you everything that I’d be willing to tell you about me in such a public venue.  I’ll try to come up with 7 things, but forgive me if you know them already.

  1. I have a tattoo and I wish I didn’t.  It’s not offensive or anything nor is it seen by others most of the time.  I won’t say I “hate” it and I’ve never considered having it removed.  I’ve actually thought to have the color freshened up.  My thought is:  since I have it, it may as well not look so faded, but if I could go back all those years, knowing who I am now, I wouldn’t do it.
  2. I only wear Birkenstocks.  Unless I have to wear something formal (RARE) and then I’ll make sure I have a very long skirt and I’ll wear little ballet-type slippers.  I have “flintstone feet” and regular women’s shoes simply do not fit me.  Regular shoes, even “wides” do not fit my very wide feet and my high arches.
  3. I “suffer” from “Road Aggravation”.  I hate dealing with stupid, slow drivers and by slow, I mean those going UNDER the speed limit and those drivers who think the left lane on the highway is their exclusive property no matter how slowly they want to drive.  This makes driving in the South Austin/Lakeway/Bee Caves area (three times a week) extremely painful and aggravating to me.  (I mean, come on!  Really??  40mph in a 65mph zone???!!!!!)  I constantly “holler” at the other drivers, though I usually temper what I say (limiting it to things like, “COME ON! MOVE!!!!!)  I don’t cuss at them, but sometimes, if I’m really aggravated, they earn the title of “dummy.”  *sigh*
  4. I have a complex system for eating m&m’s.  They have to be eaten in pairs, colors must be eaten in a specific order and when there are odd colors left, there is a complicated method of color combining that I “must” follow.
  5. Insects and spiders don’t typically creep me out or bother me.  I find mosquitos and flies annoying, of course.  They truly are pests.  As long as they’re not taking over or kicking me out of my bed, spiders are welcome to build their webs in the corners to help take care of the flies and mosquitos.  Insects and spiders, over all, just don’t bother me and I find many of them fascinating!
  6. I am sensitive to smells.  My kids can’t have smelly gum or candy in the car, they are to spray their cologne/perfume AFTER they get to where they’re going.  Strong smells (and not just strong “odors”) really get to me.
  7. In my 11 years of being a knitter, I’ve only ever knit one thing for myself.  A beautiful pair of socks that I loved.  And the cat ate them and the cat still lives.

About becomewhatyouare

Catholic, Middle-Aged, Knitting-Addicted, Wife, Homeschooler, Mom of 6, Mom-in-Law to 1, Mother of 11 little saints, Grandma to 1, Godmother to 12, Foster Mom to 5, Army mom, Happily living in Texas!
This entry was posted in Awards. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Versatile Blogger Award

  1. MimiDenise says:

    It is so great to learn 7 new things about you. I can really relate to the M&M ritual. BTW we went to Beauty & the Beast Saturday and IT WAS AWESOME! I was so surprised how professional it was… as good as the movie and I really liked the movie! Your girls were superb! Hayley really liked the wolf and actually got to meet him after the show. Thrilling!

    • MimiDenise, you know things about me that I *wouldn’t* put on the blog!😀

      I am so glad that you liked the show so much! I’ve only heard great things about it. I get to watch it as a mom and patron on Saturday. I can’t wait!

  2. Cassidy says:

    I can totally related to the M&M thing. I have a method for M&Ms, jellybeans, skittles, and any other candy that comes in different colors. For the odd ones I have come up with a great way to finish those.. I give them to the kids or my husband so I don’t have to worry about the colors not matching lol

    • LOL… if I ate those non-chocolate candies, I’m sure I’d do that, too. As it is, I only eat the lemon ones and only occasionally, so I make the kids give me two and enjoy!

      Give away chocolate? I’m pretty sure there’s something against that in the catechism!😛

  3. Carla says:

    Well, while I only eat M&Ms by the handful which I am sure has something to do with my expanding waistline, we do share a love/fascination/respect for insects and spiders!!

  4. dawnbydesign says:

    #4 is my favorite!

    I, too, have a faded tattoo that is not offensive nor where anyone can see it.

Leave a Reply

