7 Quick Takes (Vol. 90)

7_quick_takes

~1~

Last year, we decided not to get the NFL package.  We also decided that if we weren’t going to have Direct TV’s Sunday Ticket, then we might as well change to cable.

We hated it. We hated cable.  We hated their boxes and software. We hated not having the NFL package.  We switched back to Direct TV this February.  We like the boxes and their software better, we like satellite better and we liked the idea of being able to get the NFL package… but it is kind of expensive. So, I decided some time ago, perhaps around October 2009 (maybe a bit later) that I was going to save up for the NFL package.  I decided I would do it by saving all of my coins.  I didn’t really think I’d get very far since I mostly use my debit card, but I do use cash on occasion.  I was really dedicated to saving all of my coins.  I used quart-size canning jars and kept them sitting on my desk.  I’d empty my pockets and purse everyday.  I filled one, then 2 jars and as of 2 nights ago, had filled a third almost halfway.

With the NFL preseason starting next month (Packers are hosting Cleveland on 14 August) I decided to finally see how close I’d come to saving enough and poured out the jars.

Even though it was a pretty decent pile, it honestly didn’t look to me like it could be THAT much, but I wanted to know, so I sorted and counted.  It was amazing to me!  Without any effort beyond emptying my purse and pockets, I saved $185.00! (I counted $87 just in quarters!)  Almost enough for that Sunday Ticket.  So yes, I think we’ll order it this year!  I am so glad to know that we’ll actually be able to watch all of the Packers games!)

I also think I’ll continue to save my coins. They really add up!

~2~

This week has been a bit rough.  Between coming home and trying to get back into the groove of things and opening week for Beauty and the Beast and last minute costume work, I have been totally out of it.  The house is constantly on the edge of chaos and we only got down to the chiropractor’s office twice this week.  (She’s supposed to go 3 times a week and didn’t go at all while I was away.)

~3~

I was thinking next week would be so much better since there is only a brush-up rehearsal before performances begin again, but then I realized that they begin “Just So Stories” on Monday.  I don’t know how I’m going to fit everything in.  You see, the chiropractor has very weird hours and when you add 3 hours of travel time to the 45 – 60 minutes for the actual visit, well, it’s hard to make it all fit.  “Just So Stories” rehearsals are from 9am to noon all this week.  The week of 8 – 15 August will be rough, too, as there are 6 hour rehearsals planned!!  Oy!

~4~

It is already time (probably past time) to think about the next school year… we’ve been so busy since the spring that there are a few unfinished things we still need to wrap up from “last” year.  *sigh*  It’s not much, but I wish we had a real break this year.  I definitely have a case of the “Idonwannas” with planning for next year.

~5~

I think we’re past the worst of the separation anxiety.  It seems that coming along with me to meet SuperSoldier and visit with the other kids and the grandbaby has had a positive effect.  One day this week I was gone most of the day between the chiropractor and errands.  He wanted to stay home every time I left!  I still give him the option of coming along when I can (which is most of the time) and he chooses to stay home.  Last night he told me he wanted to stay home today while we went to Austin.  Whew!

~6~

Our summer houseguest is “moving out” today.  She’s been really lovely to have around (well, she’s 18, she wasn’t around that much, but still, very lovely.)  Things have not worked out as she planned, so she may be moving back to Kansas soon.  I hope and pray she figures out everything she needs to and makes the best decision possible.

~7~

Here are some images of the girls from after the “FRG” showing of Beauty and the Beast.  FRG shows are, basically, the final dress rehearsal before opening night, but the theater welcomes the military community to come and watch the shows for free.  It’s nice for both sides… the performers have that last dress rehearsal, but with an audience… they really take it much more seriously than they might if the theater were empty, and the military folks save quite a bit of money (tickets are $20 for adults and $15 for students/kids and seniors.  I have friends who attended and I know these families saved $80 each and really enjoyed the show.)

These were taken with Chief’s iPhone.  The lighting is horrible in the lobby where they do the “meet and greet” so….

MilkyWhite

TheMadHatter

TheQueenofHearts

So, how about this:  You head over to Jen’s for more 7 Quick Takes while I try to tame a bit of the chaos before we head out to Austin?

About becomewhatyouare

Catholic, Middle-Aged, Knitting-Addicted, Wife, Homeschooler, Mom of 6, Mom-in-Law to 1, Mother of 11 little saints, Grandma to 1, Godmother to 12, Foster Mom to 5, Army mom, Happily living in Texas!
This entry was posted in 7 Quick Takes, Chiropractic Treatment, Family, Football!, MilkyWhite, My Kids!, Theater, TheMadHatter, TheQueenofHearts. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to 7 Quick Takes (Vol. 90)

  1. Therese says:

    Go PACK go!!!!

    We have DTV too, and I love it!!!

  2. MimiDenise says:

    Your girls are so lovely!! We got tickets and are very excited about the show. Love you guys.

  3. Lisa Sweet says:

    I must agree…such lovely girls! I see their Mama in them:)

  4. MimiDenise says:

    as in tomorrow, July 24, matinee

Leave a Reply

