Home Sweet Home!

TheBoy and I are back home.  It is so nice to be back, but I already miss our other kids and that beautiful grandbaby.  I suppose this will be my perpetual state now…
missing some while enjoying others.  *sigh*  I don’t like how that’s worked out!

I intended to go to 3 homecomings while I was there.

SirGrape, showing off his muscles! LOL!

The first should have been to meet SirGrape.
Unfortunately, I was not contacted and the poor guy was just looking
and waiting for me and I didn’t even know he’d come in.  bah!
He came in the evening before SuperSoldier.

SuperSoldier and BierMann

The last was the night before I left town.
We “heard” that BierMann was coming in Saturday night
and then were told he was not
and then were told he was there
~after he landed.  We were late to the ceremony.  Bah!
But we did show up before he left the gym (where the ceremony was held.)

SgtSoldierSon, TheBoy, Grandpa, SuperSoldier and SirGrape

Chief’s dad came up for SuperSoldier’s homecoming.
It is so nice that he is close enough to do that!
Chief’s dad did 2 or 3 tours in Viet Nam.  Being at SuperSoldier’s
homecoming ceremony was a healing experience for him.
What he saw all of the soldier’s receive by way of welcome
was a far cry from what happened when he returned.
Not only did the Army not do as good of a job as they should have then,
society at large was so anti-war that they took it out on soldiers.
Seeing this very different welcome did his heart a lot of good.
I’m so glad he came.

Brothers

It was nice to see my sons all together like this!

And this!

Celebrating the return of the heroes! SuperSoldier, TheBoy, SgtSoldierSon and (the back of) SirGrape

SuperSoldier brought/sent gifts.
This is a gift he brought for me.
He picked it up in Ireland. 🙂

This is THE REAL DEAL…
not that too-sweet, crayon orange stuff we get here in the States.
This is the most refreshing and delicious stuff ever!

He mailed most of the other gifts,
but we missed the package notification,
so he’ll have to bring those things when he comes home on leave.

It was very sweet to watch SuperSoldier with his niece.
He’s always been so good with babies and children.
That certainly didn’t change one bit!

“I like this Uncle Pookie!”

Trying for the tickles. She’s very close!

Of course, I loved spending time with that grandbaby, too!!!
So did “Uncle TheBoy”!
He almost cried when we had to say good bye
and during our flight home he talked about how much he missed her.

TheBoy loved flying!
He was quite apprehensive at first
(think “meltdown” before we took off for the first time)
but decided flying was pretty darn cool after all!

There is so much beauty to see from the air.

But all of this travel wears a guy out!!!

There is beauty to be seen on the ground, too…

“Rangers Lead the Way!”

I thank God and Chief for making this trip possible for me.  I would have been very disappointed to have had to miss SuperSoldier’s homecoming.  I am so very grateful to have been there and to have been able to spend time with SgtSoldierSon, Mrs.SSS and Gariníon.  I am happy to have enjoyed such mild (even cold!) weather.

But I am also happy to be back at home!

About becomewhatyouare

Catholic, Middle-Aged, Knitting-Addicted, Wife, Homeschooler, Mom of 6, Mom-in-Law to 1, Mother of 11 little saints, Grandma to 1, Godmother to 12, Foster Mom to 5, Army mom, Happily living in Texas!
This entry was posted in BierMann, Celebrations, Deployment, Family, Gariníon, Grandbaby, Military Life, Motherhood, Mrs.SGTSoldierSon, My Kids!, Photos, SGTSoldierSon, SirGrape, SuperSoldier, TheBoy. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Home Sweet Home!

  1. MamaMidwife says:

    Thank you for sharing your pictures! They are wonderful.
    Your granddaughter definitely has some resemblence to you.

    I love all the soldier homecoming pictures. It is so great that you were able to be there, and the Boy too!

    Welcome back!

  2. Debbie says:

    Our grand daughter doesn’t live by us either. We miss them, but will see them in September for 2 or 3 weeks. As her sister will be getting married in September and her husband is taking a class in Oklahoma and doesn’t want to be home by herself.

    We do they have to move so far away!

  3. MimiDenise says:

    Love the post! Very touching.

  4. KC says:

    We missed you while you were gone! Welcome back.

  5. Michelle says:

    So glad you are all home safe, especially SS. You are truly blessed ALL the way around!

  6. Sarah Oldham says:

    (I used to blog at So . . . This is the Road I’m Traveling On/CuppaJoe2Go)

    Anyhoo, loved this post! Thank your son for serving our country! This Sailor family is appreciative!!!
    Lovely lovely family pictures!

  7. Theresa Messner says:

    Beautiful pictures! I love coming here and looking at them.

    So happy that everyone is happy and healthy.

    Take care friend!

Leave a Reply

