From my friend, D. ~ Post-Retrouvaille

You probably remember my request for prayers for D. & J. during their Retrouvaille weekend.  I received this email a short while ago:

****************************

If you wouldn’t mind, would you post the following to your blog?

Dear Blog Readers,

We returned from our Retrouvaille weekend with hope for the future where there previously was none. Retrouvaille IS truly a “lifeline”…just like they say.

J. has been closed off from showing/feeling ANY emotions all his life because showing/feeling them usually ended up with him getting hurt in some way.

We went to Marriage Encounter a couple of years ago and left on the second morning after he folded his arms and adamantly announced that he “wasn’t going to do this crap.”

I was crushed beyond words and this just caused more walls to go up between us….after all (to my thinking) this PROVED that he did not care about me, my feelings, or our marriage.

I went into this weekend scared to death and convinced that the same thing would happen. There have been many broken promises and lies in our marriage.

This weekend, however, he proved me wrong beyond my wildest expectations! He participated fully….and at times when *I* was ready to give up and walk away from the weekend. He told me that if I didn’t want to participate I was welcome to stay in the room and read, knit, watch tv…..whatever….but HE was committed to going to every talk to get EVERYTHING out of the weekend that he could. He said he knew he needed every tool possible and was going to do whatever it took!

If that’s not a man who cares about our marriage, then I don’t know what is! Needless to say, there was no way that I could even think about missing out on anything after hearing those words!

Plus, I knew that there were many friends, fellow parishioners, and those of you from this blog praying for us and our success. Knowing that truly helped me when it got really hard.

I learned this weekend that my husband really DOES love me and I am on the path to finally believing that I am a person worth being loved.

I now know that at the previous Marriage Encounter J. was not ABLE to open up the vault of feelings that he has worked so hard for so many yeats to suppress and hide from. This time, he was ready.

We are more committed than ever to the Sacrament of our marital vows and a renewed relationship with God  We will be attending the rest of the follow-up sessions that start next month so that we can acquire more tools and continue to grow.

Thank you so much for all the prayers. Especially to becomewhatyouare! She sent me a personal email with a short note of encouragement and prayer. I printed it out and kept it in my pocket. There were several times that taking it out, reading it, reciting that prayer helped me keep a positive attitude!

All of you have directly impacted our marriage in a very real and positive way.

There are no words to express my gratitude. I can only tell you that we are renewed and TOTALY COMMITTED to keeping that renewal alive.

Peace be with you….and thank you for helping us find peace in our lives.
-D

****************************

My thanks to you, too, dear readers!

About becomewhatyouare

Catholic, Middle-Aged, Knitting-Addicted, Wife, Homeschooler, Mom of 6, Mom-in-Law to 1, Mother of 11 little saints, Grandma to 1, Godmother to 12, Foster Mom to 5, Army mom, Happily living in Texas!
This entry was posted in Catholic, Marriage. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to From my friend, D. ~ Post-Retrouvaille

  1. Debbie says:

    Amen that is wonderful.. Will keep praying.

  2. MimiDenise says:

    I am so happy for you, D!… and J! Have you heard of flylady.net? She has a website and she will email you daily. The goal is to “fly” (finally love yourself) and Flylady herself will love you until you are able to love yourself. She helps you take baby steps to organize your house and take care of your home and family. Just a thought. Maybe flylady.net can help. I know God can do amazing things for you and your new/old love!

  3. Michelle says:

    Prayer is powerful stuff! Thank God and God Bless

  4. Yasher says:

    Wonderful to hear! Congratulations to them and best wishes for continued sucess in their marriage. 🙂

Leave a Reply

