Chief’s Father’s Day and a few other things

I figured I’d better post something ~ anything ~ to let you know that I’m still alive!  I cannot believe that it is already Wednesday.  This week is flying by.

Anyway… I’ll do a basic post about Father’s Day, I suppose and I have 2 other things I want to mention.

I think Chief had a nice Father’s Day.  He got some pretty snazzy gifts and we all had a great time seeing Toy Story 3 together.  I liked it!  It was better than the second one, I think, but some of the things were a bit more intense than I’d like for a movie that appeals to such young kids.  TheBoy did fine, but we weren’t sure he would (I had to pick him up when the girls took him to see Shrek a couple of weeks ago.  He refused to sit in the theater to watch the movie.)  He was pretty freaked out about the whole movie thing up until that opening credits shot (the one with the clouds) and then the “jumping desk lamp” scene started up.  It was familiar to him, having seen it on videos countless times, so he suddenly felt more comfortable.

Chief’s gifts included a special pillow for his neck and back pain. He’d not only wanted, but also needed, one for a while but was always unwilling to spend the money.  TheMadHatter gave that to him ~ spending her own money on it!  MilkyWhite bought both his and her own tickets to the movie (again, with her own funds) and bought him a couple of extra-dark chocolate bars.  TheQueenofHearts put in some of her money toward his big gift, as did Sgt&MrsSoldierSon.  I gave him a custom print coffee mug.  I really like it.  I kind of wish I’d ordered two!!!

this is what is printed on the mug

iPhone4

SuperSoldier preordered the iPhone4 for Chief.  It was meant to be released tomorrow, but for some reason Apple notified me that it is being delivered today!  I can’t wait to see it in person.

The software update for the iPhone came out a couple of days ago.  I’m already annoyed with it for one small, cosmetic reason:  The plain black wallpaper for my homepage is now gone.  I have to choose some stupid patterned thing.  I hate it.  Oh, well.  I’ll get used to it, I suppose, and if that is the only “problem” I have with it, then I really can’t complain.  It really is supposed to be much better software.

I did notice that when I used my USAA app to do a deposit mobile (that has got to be one of the coolest things ever, by the way…) that the picture taking part of the process was MUCH faster.  Much, much faster.

(once again, pardon the bad lighting and terrible coloring of this picture!)

And, finally, the “big gift” ~ the iPad.  (of course, as you can see, he got 2 really big gifts!) Oh how I went back and forth on this.  I just wasn’t sure he’d like it (okay, I mean I knew he’d like it, but would he want it?  Like me, he has a MacBook Pro, iPhone, iPod… would he like this, too? or would he see it as something he really didn’t have much use for?) and then last Thursday evening he mentioned how cool he thinks the iPad is and how much he thought he’d like to have one someday… whew!  I didn’t know what else I’d do if I didn’t get that.  (I had intended to get him the new iPhone when SuperSoldier told me he wanted to get it for him..)

TheQueenofHearts got her first paycheck this week!  She’s pretty excited about that.  We opened a new checking account for her.

I just want to mention again that my friend, D., and her husband, J., are going to Retrouvaille this weekend.  Please keep them in your prayers for a fruitful weekend.

About becomewhatyouare

Catholic, Middle-Aged, Knitting-Addicted, Wife, Homeschooler, Mom of 6, Mom-in-Law to 1, Mother of 11 little saints, Grandma to 1, Godmother to 12, Foster Mom to 5, Army mom, Happily living in Texas!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Chief’s Father’s Day and a few other things

  1. Carla says:

    *Drool* IPAD… *DROOL* IPAD…

  2. Therese says:

    I love my iPad! What a fun Father’s Day!

  3. Debbie says:

    Prayers for your friend. We were closed to loosing it a few years back and went to a marriage encounter weekend.

  4. Cathy says:

    I heard on the news this morning that some random,”lucky” people were getting their iPhones a day earlier. I’m glad Chief is one of them.😀

    • Oh, really? Random, lucky people, huh? I didn’t know that. All I know is that I got an email. Maybe they looked at the orders and decided to send them early to the people who have financially supported Apple the most over the past 20+ years…😀

  5. dawnbydesign says:

    Sounds like a great day! And I didn’t know about the new iPhone coming out. I love my iPhone. Speaking of love, I LOOOOOVE the collage for the coffee mug. It’s fabulous.

  6. Elaine says:

    What a wonderful Father’s Day! Wow the Chief received some really good gifts. I love the mug.

  7. Michelle says:

    He is truly a blessed man!

Leave a Reply

