That Wore Me Out! A Brain Spill…

Yesterday really took it out of me!  We left the house for the chiropractor a little after 8am and didn’t get home until after 2:30pm.  When we got home, I had to put some chicken in the oven, do some tidying (and get the girls on their chores) and then it was off to the dance “supply” store and then dance class.  Then home, dinner, theater, etc…  whew!

Poor MadHatter was really hurting last night.  The chiropractor took some xrays while he was manually moving her spine to see what kind of correction we might hope for.  It was pretty darn amazing!!!  It appears that we might be able to get her main curve down to about 10° (or less!)  Of course, there are a lot of variables in this so the end result is really unknown, but there is a lot of reason to hope for a significant correction.  (I do have more details and some images, but they’re not here with me right now.)  So yeah, I’m very hopeful this will help, but mostly my hope is in the Lord!

She also had her first bit of traction.  The xrays plus this are what caused her pain.  It was pretty bad.  She broke down crying a couple of times and it broke my heart.  I know that it is worth it and that she won’t always hurt to this degree after these sessions, but she sure did yesterday  … and it was her first day of ballet!  The class was pretty hard for her (and she had dance rehearsal for Beauty and the Beast last night, too!) but I know she’ll do better each time.  We iced her back and I gave her motrin (not on the “recommended” list of pain management from the chiropractor, but as a mom who has arthritis, I know it can help and it did.)  I also think that even though it was tough on her, the dancing afterward probably helped keep things loose.  I hope so, anyway

She has a pretty significant leg length discrepancy.  It’s about ½ an inch!  The gave her a lift for her shoe to help with the alignment.  This girl always wears sandals.  She is going to have to start wearing flats and running shoes more, I guess.  In this picture, you can see how “off” her hips are.  Makes me wonder if this had any part to play in the scoliosis.  It just seems to me that you can’t walk around that “crooked” and not have some kind of consequence on your spine!  We’ll never know for sure, of course, but it does make me wonder.

The ballet class is a very simple beginner’s ballet class.  It is only a 6 week (once a week) class for the summer.  At this time, our purpose is not to make them dancers, but to have them learn some skills that well help with theater.  Who knows, though … they may end up wanting to take it up more seriously after this.  Not sure how I’ll manage that if they do…  Tonight is Jazz and Tap class.  That should be fun.

On the way home from the chiropractor’s, we hit some traffic where we didn’t expect it.  Turns out it was delayed due to a very bad, head-on collision.  I was pretty horrified to see those vehicles.  So, no, SuperSoldier, we WON’T sell you that 23 year old truck without airbags.  NO. WAY.

I received a hat in the mail from Sunshine.  She handknit a hat for my granddaughter.  It is beautiful!  I would really like to show you a picture, but there is always a chance that SgtSS and MrsSgtSS might stop by and I don’t want to ruin the surprise.  I think Charlotte’s daughter is shaping up to be a great knitter!

Today is a much quieter day, only having a dentist appointment for me this morning and dance/theater for the girls this evening.  I am so glad.  I really need a quieter day before I do the “way south Austin” thing again tomorrow!

How is your week shaping up?

About becomewhatyouare

Catholic, Middle-Aged, Knitting-Addicted, Wife, Homeschooler, Mom of 6, Mom-in-Law to 1, Mother of 11 little saints, Grandma to 1, Godmother to 12, Foster Mom to 5, Army mom, Happily living in Texas!
This entry was posted in Brain Spill, Catholic, Chiropractic Treatment, Family, MilkyWhite, My Kids!, Scoliosis, TheMadHatter, TheQueenofHearts. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to That Wore Me Out! A Brain Spill…

  1. snowbabies says:

    I am so sorry she is having such difficulty with her back.. I have mild scoliosis.. no fun…

  2. Michelle says:

    There is hope and bringing her to a chiropractor is absolutely the right thing to be doing . (not that you needed my approval) I too was diagnosed at about her age and my parents started me with a chiro. It has made a huge difference in my life!! Now I’m 40+ and I still see a chiro regularly and no lasting effects of the scoliosis.

    • You’re right… I don’t need your approval, but I REALLY appreciate you sharing your experiences and your support of our plan of action!

      I can’t wait to show her your comment!

  3. Therese says:

    praying for her!

  4. Rachel says:

    Oh man! I will be praying for her… being in constant pain is NO fun… espically when you are as young and active as she is! *hugs* Praying that the chiropractic appointments help!🙂

  5. AmmieJo says:

    I’m so glad to hear that you are getting positive news from the chiro! I know the running is going to be hard, keep repeating the positive to yourself!

    The ballet classes sound like so much fun! I had a friend in school who took ballet and other dance classes all through school. She didn’t do it because she wanted to do anything with it, she just enjoyed the classes. I always thought she was the most graceful person I knew.

    Our week? One word…baseball.😀

    Love you friend.

  6. Rosario says:

    I get stuck in my own little world and forget there are others out there going through the same thing I am going through. I hope and pray that you will be able to correct her curvature and no need for surgery ever. Unfortunately I just waited to see what happened intead of searching for other alternatives. Now my daughter needs surgery and I am scared. The date is set for September 15. Please pray for us.

Leave a Reply

