Just Checking In!

Remember this?

"It's a little big, grandma!"

Now we have this:

"Much better, Grandma!"

I had plenty of yarn left after making the first hat (beret) and 3 socks (one was a test!) to make this little hat that actually fits!  I also have a bit of yarn left in case I need to do any repairs in the future.

She’s such a tiny little thing.  I just love holding her and smelling her sweet head.  I am really going to miss her when I go home.  I am going to be so glad to be home with my other guys, but I sure will miss her… and her mommy and daddy, too!

Today and tomorrow I’m going to spend a little time doing a little “precooking” for MrsSgt-SS and put some things up in the freezer just to save a step or two for her.  Sgt-SS is going back to work tomorrow, so she’ll soon be “on her own” during the day.  I know she’ll do beautifully, but why not make things easier on her?  At least I hope to do that.

About becomewhatyouare

Catholic, Middle-Aged, Knitting-Addicted, Wife, Homeschooler, Mom of 6, Mom-in-Law to 1, Mother of 11 little saints, Grandma to 1, Godmother to 12, Foster Mom to 5, Army mom, Happily living in Texas!
This entry was posted in Family, Gariníon, Grandbaby, Knitting. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Just Checking In!

  1. MimiDenise says:

    I love your blog!

  2. Jess says:

    So sweet! Now she has a today hat and a later hat!
    You are such a sweet grandma (and mama!)

  3. MamaMidwife says:

    Best baby gift ever – meals!!! I think making any of it a little easier is wonderful.🙂

    The hat’s pretty cute too.

  4. Yasher says:

    What a wonderful MIL, you are! And what a sweet little thing your granddaughter is! I love the little hat! My mom knit some very similar for Weeb and cousin Bean when they were babies. What a beautiful yarn! I love the color!

    Were ANY of our kids THAT tiny? Okay, maybe not ours… but they were pretty close. *sweet memory sigh*

    • Of course I do know what you mean…. but my smallest was 2 lbs bigger than this one is now, at 3 weeks! (which explains why the first hat was so big! I downsized it but nowhere near enough!) But they do all have the same newborn mannerisms, so yes, *sigh*…. I just spent the last 90 minutes holding her while she slept so peacefully on my chest. *sigh* I’m going to miss her when I’m gone!

      I love the yarn, too. The pattern I used was a trimmed down version of my “Willow’s Blue Flower Hat”🙂

  5. snowbabies says:

    you look so happy!! I love the feel of a newborn on my shoulder!!

  6. teachinmom says:

    She’s so beautiful!!! Love it!

  7. What a wonderful MIL!

Leave a Reply

