Brain Spill 25 May 2010

Busy

I am busy, busy, busy with packing, packing, packing!  Well, that and laundry, battery charging (3 cameras and an iPod, the phone is charged already)  trying to decide which knitting projects to bring (both on the plane and in my checked luggage!)  I won’t be carrying purse on this trip.  I need my carryon and personal item to be filled with cameras, computer and knitting, so a backpack and laptop bag is what I’ll have to go with.  I suppose that’s alright since I won’t be trekking around with a preschooler and won’t need to carry crayons, paper, or matchbox cars!  My little wallet thingy actually came with the laptop bag, so it will be enough.  The back pack can hold the cameras and a change of clothes (not that I worry that they’ll lose my suitcase or anything…)

I keep asking my family what they need me to do for them.  I ask them what they plan on eating so I can shop for them ~ things like that ~ and I keep getting the same answer, “We’ll handle it.”  Wow.  You’d think they don’t need me or something!  Sheesh.

Excited!

My son and daughter-in-law have wireless set up in their house already, so I’m sure I’ll be posting regularly (particularly photos!!!) but who knows how regularly.  I hope to be useful to them.  I hope to help them out with cooking and cleaning so they can rest and focus on loving on and caring for that baby!  Of course I am looking forward to lots of kisses and snuggles with Gariníon, too!  What I don’t plan to do is any “taking over.”  They are managing being Gariníon’s momma and daddy just fine and don’t need me to come in like a bull in a china shop!  (That is not to say that I won’t share my experiences with them if they want it, but I don’t feel a need to butt in!)

I am going to miss my family something awful.  A week is a long time, but if I’m going to be away from them for that long, I’m glad it’s to be with another bit of our family instead of on a cruise or something!  Plus I’ll get to be re-familiarized with the area a bit for when I/we head back out there this summer for SuperSoldier’s homecoming!

I am hoping that I will be able to get my things done quickly today so that I can give TheBoy a lot of attention.  This will be hardest on him.  He’s being very brave about it, but I know he is dreading it.  His sisters keep talking about what fun they’re going to be having while mom is away and dad is at work.  They’re going to have a “party” all day, every day!  I know they will take good care of him.

SuperSoldier

SuperSoldier was able to call yesterday.  I was glad considering the events over the weekend.  They had a “commo blackout” for an unrelated incident, so families were left wondering until Sunday afternoon (when we received an email from the company commander.) It was just bad timing that these two incidents took place in such close proximity to each other.  The blackout was lifted yesterday and SuperSoldier called.

I told him there was a discrepancy between the date he gave me for mail cut off and the date the company sent out.  The company gave us more time.  I asked if there was anything else he needed me to send while I still had a little while.  There is.  Want to guess what?  … Yup.  Beans.  One of the guys he worked with told SuperSoldier to tell me he would pay me $50 for more beans! :)  How’s that for an endorsement!?  I had 3 quart jars left, so I packed them up yesterday and will mail them after my dentist appointment this morning.  (and no, I will not accept money for them!)

Knitting and Yarn

I’ve been  using kool aid to dye wool yarn lately. I love doing that!  You can see what I’ve done over on my knitting blog.  My “Morning Star” yarn is my favorite (the pink is second) and I think I’ll be knitting a sweater for Gariníon with it.  I plan to wind it into a ball today and bring it with me on my trip.

Theater

All three girls auditioned for Beauty and the Beast on Sunday night.  I *think* the callback list will be out today.  I am always such a nervous wreck between auditions and final cast list.  I fret that some will get parts and some won’t.  I fret that any will get parts (because I dread the commitment… it’s worth it, don’t get me wrong, but it’s lots of driving!)  I fret that they will be disappointed with the part they get (if any) etc., etc., etc.!  I do hope they all get cast!

Prayers

Please pray for safe travel and for my family while I’m away from home.  I’ll be back with many pictures!

About becomewhatyouare

Catholic, Middle-Aged, Knitting-Addicted, Wife, Homeschooler, Mom of 6, Mom-in-Law to 1, Mother of 11 little saints, Grandma to 1, Godmother to 12, Foster Mom to 5, Army mom, Happily living in Texas!
This entry was posted in Brain Spill, Family, Gariníon, Grandbaby, Knitting, Military Life, MilkyWhite, Mrs.SGTSoldierSon, My Kids!, SGTSoldierSon, SuperSoldier, Theater, TheMadHatter, TheQueenofHearts. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Brain Spill 25 May 2010

  1. Michelle says:

    Prayers are with you! Enjoy!

  2. Rachel says:

    Have an amazing time loving on your newest (only) grand-baby!! YOu are such an amazing woman! I look forward to reading all about your trip!🙂

  3. snowbabies says:

    I know you’ll love kissing that sweet baby.

  4. MimiDenise says:

    Packing- what a HAPPY chore! Give the baby lots of hugs and kisses for me. It is good that you are committed to not taking over- communication is the key! (HA! this coming from the grandma that is raising her granddaughter-LOL) Take a deep breath. Give the boy hugs from me too and remember when he was little, with a smile.

  5. And that is one lucky “Bunny” to have you to raise her!

    I will give him your hugs.

    The memory with a smile might come with a little trickle of a tear, too.🙂

  6. ammiejo says:

    Praying you have a safe journey! So very soon you will be smelling sweet baby smell and cuddling her in your arms!

    Those must be some awesome beans! $50? Maybe I do need to try them!

    Saying a prayer that the girls get the parts their hearts desire!

    Love you friend

  7. Carla says:

    Have a safe and wonderful trip! If the girls need help with anything, please have them call me. (I’ll email my number.) I can certainly help in a pinch!

    And 50 dollars for beans! Wow! They must be fantastic!

  8. KC says:

    Ben did not mention the commo blackout. He just told me he was busy. I found out in other ways. Sheesh! My MIL was freaking out. Luckily, I was too busy with ballet to worry too much; just a bit but by then Ben had written.

  9. MamaMidwife says:

    You have a knitting blog too?!

    I also love dying yarn and have done some pretty neat things with kool-aid. It’s cheap and non-toxic.

    Glad to hear SuperSoldier loves the beans.

    And I can’t wait to see the grandbaby!!

    (And I found out – it’s a GIRL!!!)

Leave a Reply

