7 Quick Takes (vol 81)

7_quick_takes

Rambling Edition…. (when is it not?!)

~1~

It’s been 2 days since I’ve received a new picture of Gariníon, so I do not have a new one to share today.  This picture from one week will have to do.  I know you might consider me biased, but in spite of that, she really is a beautiful baby!!!!  I just stare at her picture as much as possible!  I can’t wait to hold her and kiss her and give her all manners of “granny love”!!!!

I will get a LOT of pictures of that sweet baby beginning in less than a week!  I am so excited about the trip, and still a little nervous about being gone so long.

~2~

I completed a little beret with the beautiful yarn I received from my friend, KC.  I’m working on some matching socks for Gariníon.

I started hand dyeing some yarn.  It’s so fun.  It’s so easy.  It has been so long since I’ve done it! (I finally figured out that it doesn’t have to be all or nothing… I can do it in increments!)  I have one more color I want to add (some on the still-undyed base yarn, some over-dyeing) and then it will be done.  I like how it looks so far, but I always love seeing how it knits up.  What you think you see in a hank is not necessarily what you see in a pair of socks (or whatever!)  I have used purple and yellow so far and will add some green (and leave some undyed.)  It is starting to remind me of an iris (of course, we just finished “Still Life with Iris” at the theater, so I do have iris on the brain….)

~3~

SuperSoldier, far right, (and all the other guys leaving that day) getting ready to go "over there.

I’ve not talked to SuperSoldier since Mother’s Day.  I miss talking to him!  Of course, I understand that he can’t just pick up the phone “whenever” but I still miss it.  I miss him loads!  He has sent a couple of emails and we IM’d for about 3 minutes one day, but that’s not as nice as hearing his voice.  I am glad he has a shorter deployment than usual, but it is still a long time.

UPDATE!!!! SuperSoldier called about an hour ago!  He was heading from his “room” to the office and said he’d call again later!  YIPPEE!!!!!!!!!

~4~

mmmm. beans!

Last Friday, I did can those beans and it appears it was a success!  I sure hope so because I sent a bunch to SuperSoldier.  I have a few jars left here.  I plan to open one today or tomorrow to see if they’re good.  They should be, but you know… I don’t have the confidence I will have once I do open a jar that is good.  I will be quite disappointed if I sent a bunch of beans over there only to have to tell SuperSoldier to throw them away!  (if I talk to him, anyway!)

UPDATE!!! As I mentioned in #3, SuperSoldier called.  He got the beans and opened them while on the phone with me.  Poor guy didn’t have a spoon in his “room” so he tried using his dogtags.  That was okay, but he decided it might go better using the beef jerky I sent as a scoop.  That actually worked and he liked the combination!  He assures me that the beans were still sealed properly, smell right and taste great! Yay! (I’m still opening beans for myself, though!)

~5~

left=old pair, right=current/replacement pair

Chief brought a surprise home last night.  My glasses that were being replaced under warranty FINALLY came in! (it was 3 or 4 weeks of waiting!)  It was very sweet of Chief to call them and check up on things and then make the stop for them on the way home.  It is so nice to see better again!!! I have to bring the broken pair to TSO so they can send them in for credit.  That works out, though, since I have to go to that area anyway.  I need to look for Adams Cajun Seasoning to bring to SgtSoldierSon next week.

~6~

I am in a serious menu rut.  I have got to figure out more everyday type menu ideas!  The problem is in the ideas.  I’ll cook just about anything.  I just can’t seem to think of anything except the same old things… which would be fine if there were enough same old things!  I always think of:  spaghetti, meatloaf and some kind of grilled (george foreman grill) or baked/breaded chicken breasts.  Oh, and let us not forget scrambled eggs!  *sigh*  I need my real, outdoor grill to work.  The grill always makes things better.  Not that I think it will completely fix the “problem”, but it should help.

~7~

The beginnings of the Purge of ’10 have gone fairly well so far (see #3  7 Quick Takes Friday (Vol. 80).) I did move the vast majority of my books and it has really helped a lot.  I still have a long way to go and a lot of things to go through, purge and move around, but so far I do not regret the steps I’ve taken.  I think I need to purge my pots and pans next.  I have more than can fit in the cabinet and I’m ready to not have pots hanging from the pot rack.  After that, I think I will tackle the cabinets in the laundry room.  I am not even sure what’s in there apart from bandaids.

For more (and more interesting!) Quick Takes, head over to Jen’s.

About becomewhatyouare

Catholic, Middle-Aged, Knitting-Addicted, Wife, Homeschooler, Mom of 6, Mom-in-Law to 1, Mother of 11 little saints, Grandma to 1, Godmother to 12, Foster Mom to 5, Army mom, Happily living in Texas!
This entry was posted in 7 Quick Takes. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to 7 Quick Takes (vol 81)

  1. Therese says:

    Purge of 2010? I think I need that! I need to get past this cold first, though! So, I am curious, how do you pronounce baby’s name? She certainly is beautiful!

  2. MimiDenise says:

    Purge of 2010! Sounds good. Do you follow flylady? About the menu repertoire: I have 28 dinner menus that I rotate. Monday is chicken (4 different chicken dishes); Tuesday is Mexican (tacos, enchiladas…); Wednesday is pork (chops, ham..); Thursday is Italian (spaghetti, pizza..); Friday is meatless (quiche, fish..); Saturday is grill day (burgers, bbq..); and Sunday is crockpot. When I break it down into categories it is easier to think of meals. Maybe this will help.

    • Thanks, Mimi! I have actually thought to do something similar, but never followed through. I’m glad to know that it is a plan that works. I think I’ll have to try it. I used to have 6 weeks of menus and their shopping lists premade and I just went through in order (leftovers/precooking was coordinated in it, so the order mattered. that’s why it was 6 weeks ~ so repeats didn’t happen too often) but we eat a bit differently now, so I’ve just abandoned it. Maybe between your plan and my old routine I can come out of the rut! (don’t you love that Saturday is grill day ALL. YEAR. LONG.!? )

      I signed up for flylady emails once and it was too much!!!! I do try to use some of her tips and advice and i love her lists! (she had lists once upon a time, anyway!)

  3. ammiejo says:

    I absolutely love the idea of the category rotation! Brilliant! Thank you MimiDenise! The 4 to 6 rotation is good too! I have guilt when I serve spaghetti more than twice a month because it does not even rate in the top 10 of Stacy’s favorite meals, even if it is in the top 5 of the kid’s favorite meals. I am borrowing both of these ideas! We are in a serious meal rut! We use our outside grill several times a week! And the George Foreman makes an appearance at least once a week. Time savers in cooking and cleanup!

    I seriously need to PURGE here too! I could say I just don’t know where to begin, but in reality, it’s lack of want to mess with the mess. I need to do it while we are on our break from school though.

    I am sure that sweet girl is going to love having all kinds of Granny love bestowed on her! Count down has begun!

    Love you friend,
    Ammie

  4. mum6kids says:

    ooh what a beautiful grandchild!

    I too need to quietly purge. One idea is to donate a load of my old theology books to the parish and set up a little library corner.
    Just to make room for even more books… 🙂

Leave a Reply

