Favorite Fives for May

It’s time for Favorite Fives on the Fifth, Hosted by Em at God’s Canvas!  This month’s theme is “Outside.”  Perfect with the weather getting so nice (except in Nashville, God bless them!)  Here are my favorite five for 5/5.

Angel Statue in my front garden. This was in our floral arrangement for Mary Clare's funeral.

Our mailbox. There's nothing special about it. It's just that it is an individual mailbox. I am grateful that we don't have a community "stall" of mailboxes.

My Texas Star flag pole holders. There is one on each post of the railing that leads to the front door.

This one is a bit different.  You may not hear it well (sorry) but it is the sound of a Mockingbird, the Texas state bird, recorded this morning on my back porch.  I love their varied sounds!

(weird, when i listened to it on the preview it sounds crackly.  it doesn’t when i listen to the file on my computer.  oh well.)

And finally, my favorite outside five:

My front door handle. It is the way in to the air conditioning!

Go over to Em’s to see more Favorite Fives!

About becomewhatyouare

Catholic, Middle-Aged, Knitting-Addicted, Wife, Homeschooler, Mom of 6, Mom-in-Law to 1, Mother of 11 little saints, Grandma to 1, Godmother to 12, Foster Mom to 5, Army mom, Happily living in Texas!
This entry was posted in Favorite Fives. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Favorite Fives for May

  1. Lisa Sweet says:

    I have a *very* similar, if not identical, angel statue for my son, Brady’s memorial garden. The outside of your home looks lovely, especially the white flowers (portulaca?) around your mailbox. We still only have post-construction dirt:(
    We are still in Spring here in NH, but it looks like Texas is in full-blown summer! Is it hot there now?

    • Very cool about the statue. When we selected the arrangement at the florist’s, they did not have a statue and their supplier did not have one. We found out later that they drove all over central Texas to find one rather than not make it happen. So very kind.

      The flowers are actually weeds that I did not plant (well, that’s obvious… who plants weeds?!) I think we call them “morning glories”. They come in many colors, but these are white with a bit of pink in them. When they first started to grow, I thought, “oh, sheesh” but then they grew fast and bloomed and I decided to leave these “wild flowers” there!

      We’ve started to get into the mid 90’s. Finally. This past winter was more “wintery” and longer and wetter than we’re used to!

  2. Dawn Farias says:

    I am so covetous (am I making up words this morning? must be the coffee) of your individual mailbox! Your home looks loverly.

    • Nope, sorry, covetous is already a word. 🙂

      I truly do appreciate having our own mailbox. So much so that if they change it, I’ll probably insist on moving somewhere that has one again. (I want to move anyway, but that may take me out of my fear of the economy into action!)

  3. Carla says:

    Jealous of your mailbox! Ours isn’t too far from our house, but it is a pain!

    And I didn’t know that the mockingbird was the state bird of Texas… so you score a few points for educating this morning. (I need to do a post about birds. Stay tuned!)

    And I chuckled at your door handle. I am thankful for airconditioning, too, though this spring has seemed mild. Am I off base on that one?

  4. KC says:

    The mockingbird recording was fine on my computer.

    We have those weeds, I mean flowers, in my vegetable garden that I’m letting go dormant this year. It’s really quite beautiful.

    I really like the Texas star flag holders.

  5. snowbabies says:

    Beautiful! I miss a mailbox. Love the sweet statue.

  6. Christy says:

    We too have that angel from our son’s funeral. It is precious. I am jealous of your mailbox in bricks. We live on a country road that is first base for car baseball and we lose mailboxes regularly as stupid teenage boys beat them with a bat.

Leave a Reply

