Our “Garden Party”, week 1

To see other Garden Party celebrations, head over to Catholic Cuisine!

I was late.  We didn’t do our “Garden Party” until yesterday and I pretty much called it dinner!  We didn’t have everything, but it was enough for us!

We simply had:

  • Shepherd’s Pies
  • Shepherd Crook breadsticks
  • Sheepfold Gates
  • Wolf’s Paws (and chocolate strawberries just because we had leftover chocolate!)

I had intended to also do the cupcakes (even took them out of the freezer) but when it came down to it, I just wasn’t up to it!

I used refrigerator breadsticks.  (All they had at the store were the garlic kind  We really didn’t like them.)  For the Wolf’s Paws, I used Pepperidge Farms Brussels cookies and Baker’s Dipping Chocolate.


I had TheBoy make the Wolf’s Paws (and strawberries) and the Gates and twist the bread sticks.  I didn’t bother decorating the Shepherd’s Pies.  It was cute, but I just needed to get dinner on the table!

Over dinner and then later, dessert, we talked about what each thing symbolized and that was about it.  I hope next week’s is a bit more put together!

(On a completely unrelated note, today I am taking TheMadHatter to her first ortho appt for her scoliosis.  I am anxious about what they have to say.  Prayers are appreciated.)

Be sure to head over to Catholic Cuisine!

About becomewhatyouare

Catholic, Middle-Aged, Knitting-Addicted, Wife, Homeschooler, Mom of 6, Mom-in-Law to 1, Mother of 11 little saints, Grandma to 1, Godmother to 12, Foster Mom to 5, Army mom, Happily living in Texas!
This entry was posted in Catholic, Liturgical Year, Our Catholic Family Life. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Our “Garden Party”, week 1

  1. Michelle says:

    Bet everything was delicious it looks it! Prayers are with you.

  2. Therese says:

    Love the party idea!!!

    Many prayers for MadHatter!

  3. ammiejo says:

    The boy looks so intense on doing a good job! Sweet boy! I love the ideas, very fun!

    Praying for you and MadHatter today!

    AmmieJo

  4. Elizabeth C. says:

    I think your Good Shepherd ‘dinner’ was fabulous! We’ll be praying for good news for your MadHatter today.

    Blessings!

  5. What a big helper you have there! It looks great!

  6. Sarah says:

    I think it looks great. Simple is good =) And it raised discussion of the Good Shepherd, which is the most important, to me anyway …

    Prayers for the doctor appointment! I hope all goes well.

  7. lena says:

    thanks for sharing your party.

    how did the ortho appt go? i was diagnosed with scoliosis at age 11 (i think). i’m not sure the grade of her curve or mine for that matter. however, i would highly recommend keeping her active. i was in multiple sports and played at a level (premier, stat level, semi-pro, etc…) the doctors didn’t understand how i experienced such little pain given my curve. i attribute it to my level of activity and fitness. i only wished i took up swimming.
    as i write, i’m becoming motivated to get back to a moderate-high level of fitness for the sake of my body.

    my prayers are with you.

    Pax Christi – lena

    • Thank you, Lena. Things went fairly well. They way they measure they gave her a 24° curve and did not think bracing would be beneficial to her because she is nearing skeletal maturity. We’ll still see the chiropractor and see what he thinks, but we were very encouraged. Here is the update, though I summarized it pretty well here.

  8. Kelly says:

    The food looks wonderful! I love choco-covered strawberries. I bet they went great with the wolf paws.

    I really enjoy seeing everyones different approaches to celebrating this first week.

    God bless!

  9. Jessica says:

    It looks wonderful! I love the pictures of your little guy helping. So cute!

Leave a Reply

