I just ate… (updated a bit)

Cricket. Seriously. I’m a northerner by birth. We don’t fathom that Crick-ettes are REAL BUGS!!!  So when a cake recipe, provided by the baker of the cake you’re eating, lists “Crick-ettes” as one of the ingredients, you don’t think actual insects!

(yes, he put the sour cream and onion kind in. in a cake.)

But you’re wrong if you think they aren’t insects.

I’ll be honest, it didn’t taste bad. (it tasted like any other bad white cake [i don’t like white cake. our wedding cake was chocolate]) It’s just the thought that I ate bugs!!

Who brings a cake with insects to a pot luck?  A man named John, that’s who.  In the “pick your favorite dish” contest, I voted for the cream cake. NOT the cricket cake, thankyouverymuch

By the way…. my Chernobyl beans won first prize for side dishes.  I received a $25 Applebees gift card!

Blessings!

Sent from my i P h o n e G S
Cuz I’m cool like that

About becomewhatyouare

Catholic, Middle-Aged, Knitting-Addicted, Wife, Homeschooler, Mom of 6, Mom-in-Law to 1, Mother of 11 little saints, Grandma to 1, Godmother to 12, Foster Mom to 5, Army mom, Happily living in Texas!
This entry was posted in Me. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to I just ate… (updated a bit)

  1. Carla says:

    LOL! This totally brings back a memory of mine. Actually the first memory I have. And I remember it like yesterday. My baby brother was sitting on the floor in my parents dinky rental home in the Spring of 1977. David couldn’t move other than roll around, but somehow he managed to find a cricket, get ahold of it, squish it and eat it all as I hear my mother in slow motion say…. NOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO!!!! DAAAAVVVIIIIDDD! We swear to this day that is the reason he’s so “messed up.” Guess I’m going to have to keep my eye on you now, too! hee hee

  2. Yes. Ew!

    Poor David! TheBoy ate half of an earwig. I got to him before he scarffed it all.

    Also “ew”.

  3. Cathy says:

    My response was the same as Charlotte’s.

    Why would you do that??

  4. Jess says:

    what was it covered in chocolate or something?
    I guess I don’t understand…

    • It was a “Crick-ette” cake that someone made and brought to a pot luck. The girls were freaking out. I told them to calm down, it was just a gag. You know, like gummi worms Arent real worms. theQueenofHearts googled it on Chief’s phone and found out they ARE real insects. Ewww. By then I’d eaten half a piece of cake

      see them here:

      CRICK-ETTES Original Cricket Snax:

  5. KC says:

    Triple Ewwwww!

  6. Yasher says:

    I am laughing my butt off! And gagging. But mostly laughing because you thought it was a gag. Gag was on you, perhaps literally? LOL

  7. Carla says:

    I am loving the addendums! And the other comments. I’m still grossing out. At first, I thought this had to be some sort of April’s Fool Joke gone wrong!

    Potluck… crickets… Don’t invite that guy next time!

  8. Jess says:

    Who invited that guy???? I am calling KC’s triple ewww and raising it to ‘oh my goodness, I think I’m going to barf!’ ewwww.

    I mean I get eating bugs if it means survival or something, but for a potluck????

    Ewwww
    Ewwww
    Ewwwwwwwwwww!

    • LOL!

      Now, I should have said this before….

      Apart from the really, really, really bad and YUCKY decision to bring THAT cake, John (yes, his real name) is a very nice man with a faith that is inspiring. He is a convert to the Church who is very active in RCIA at the parish that my friend, K, belongs to -where she entered the Church this Easter.

      So yeah, let’s keep inviting him, but also assure him that he doesn’t need to contribute to the food!

Leave a Reply

