April Brain Spill

Last Friday (Good Friday) I met a milestone:  it was my 3 year blogiversary!  This was obviously not notable in comparison to remembering and entering into the Passion of the Lord, but I also didn’t want it so slip by completely unnoticed.  Of course, we also marked the 5th anniversary of the passing of His Holiness John Paul the Great from this valley of tears into the reward of eternal life.  John Paul the Great, pray for us!


Holy Saturday was TheMadHatter’s birthday.  I can’t believe she’s 14 already!  Happy birthday, baby girl!

Oh, I almost forgot.  We finally got our referral and we have an appointment with nurse practitioner (initial screening) at a civilian ortho clinic about 20 minutes from here.  I hope that the prognosis is good.  A friend of mine recently emailed me to let me know that her daughter with scoliosis, who had an appointment last week, was recommended for back surgery this summer.  Please keep this little girl in your prayers.


I also had the privilege of sponsoring my friend, K, as she ~and her 23 year old daughter~ entered the fullness of the Church.  It was a beautiful Vigil Mass at a parish about 20 minutes away from our home. Walking the road to conversion with them has been such a blessing to me.  They reminded me of all that I take for granted.  I would love to share pictures of the big day with you, but I can’t.  K’s husband works for an anti-Catholic church and the reality is that her husband’s job would be in jeopardy if his church learned of her conversion.  For the time being, they are just leaving things alone with that church so I cannot share pictures or anything.  Very sad that his job would be threatened, their very livelihood removed, even though her husband does not share her love and understanding of the Catholic Church and is a faithful member of his own church.

There has been a negative side-effect to attending the Vigil Mass:  TheBoy’s sleep pattern is way off.  He slept for the first two hours of the Vigil Mass and didn’t get to sleep until 0130 on Easter Sunday morning.  He was up by 0830 to see if the Wabbit came (he did!) and then fell asleep at around 7pm last night, slept for a couple of hours and was up until midnight again.  I need to figure out how to fix this!


I miss SuperSoldier very much.  We talked on the phone every day.  Every single day.  He even called several days in a row after leaving the country (at astronomical rates I am sure) but that has ended.

Aww!  As I was typing this, an email came in and it was from SuperSoldier!  Well, it was from Amazon from SuperSoldier.  He sent a gift card to me.  His message is:

HAPPY BIRTHDAY MOM! I hope you live forever! You are the best Mom EVER! I love you, SuperSoldier.

(By the way, I had put two things in my shopping cart this morning but was going back and forth about ordering them. Now I am going to order them for sure. I am getting The Better Part: A Christ-Centered Resource for Personal Prayer and Jesus of Nazareth)

So there you have it.  Today is my birthday.  I am 45 today.  (I was wondering how I’d mention that without sounding tooooo self-serving, but my boy came to the rescue!)

You know, once upon a time, 45 sounded really old.  But really, it’s not!  Trust me! No, I’m serious! Quit laughing!!!!

I’m starting to feel a bit under the weather.  I felt it coming on yesterday, actually.  It’s some kind of chest/lung thing, just like the kids have had.  I thought that the thing I had a few weeks ago (before TheQueenofHearts got sick) was already it, but I guess not.  These symptoms are a bit different than the ones I had then and are more like the kids’ complaints.

Last Tuesday, TheBoy got sick, too.  His fever got to 104° ~ something pretty much unheard of with my kids.  Since Easter was so close, I took him into see a doc right away on Wednesday.  Because of the pneumonia that TheQueenofHearts had, he decided to take a cautious approach so that we didn’t end up in the ER over the weekend.  I’m glad he did.  Within 2 hours of his second dose of Zithromax® he was back to his old self.  He still has a bit of a cough, but he feels great and the fever was gone by mid-morning on Thursday.  It was an amazing turn-around and we avoided the ER.

Today, I plan to spend my birthday running a couple of errands (if I’m not feeling worse later), getting some basic housework done and then doing some knitting.  On The Mad Hatter’s birthday, TheBoy (4) thought it would be a GREAT idea to go to McDonald’s (his own choice of the perfect eatery) and was disappointed when he learned that she wanted momma’s home cooking on her birthday.  It was so sad that I explained to  him that *I* “wanted” to eat there on MY birthday, so McDonald’s it is….

I pray that you have a wonderful and blessed Easter season!!!

🙂

About becomewhatyouare

Catholic, Middle-Aged, Knitting-Addicted, Wife, Homeschooler, Mom of 6, Mom-in-Law to 1, Mother of 11 little saints, Grandma to 1, Godmother to 12, Foster Mom to 5, Army mom, Happily living in Texas!
This entry was posted in Brain Spill. Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to April Brain Spill

  1. Theresa Messner says:

    Happy Birthday Knitter! I hope you have a fantastic day with your wonderful family!

  2. KC says:

    Happy Birthday!!

  3. Lisa Sweet says:

    Happy Birthday!!
    Coincidentally, my husband turns 45 today also!! He was born at 11:21 am. Who’s older?
    Enjoy your birthday dinner. McDonalds is my hubby’s favorite eatery (yes, still at 45!) but I am making him a ham for his birthday dinner.
    Happy Easter, too!

    • I was born at 0940 CST….. so I guess I’m older!

      Thank you. Please send a happy birthday to your husband. His birthday is the best day of the year (okay, maybe the third best!)

      Oh, I forgot to admit that I like McDonald’s, too. I mean I actually like it once in a while in spite of how awful it is for me.🙂 It’s not my favorite, but I do like it.

  4. Carla says:

    Sending Birthday Blessings your way! I hope you enjoy it to the fullest!

  5. Christy says:

    Happy Birthday!
    I have The Better Part and use it for my daily meditations. You will love it. The first chapter could be a book of its own all about how to pray and “do” a meditation. It has changed how I pray!
    And happy blogoversary also. (today is my one year for frugalcrunchychristy – I may need to make a post).

  6. AmmieJo says:

    Happy Birthday, friend! I pray you feel better quickly!

    And so cool about the blogiversary! Congrats to your friend K and her daughter!

  7. Jess says:

    Happy birthday!!!! hope McD’s was yummy!

  8. Cathy says:

    Hope you had a fabulous birthday! I started to leave a message earlier but my computer seems to be under the weather and keeps freezing up. Then I forgot to come back and post. Yeah, yeah..mac. yada yada. Already heard it from the Mr. lol

    Hope everyone is better quickly and praying for good news at the the consult! Send my love when you talk to SuperSoldier.

    Love ya bunches!! Talk to you soon.

Leave a Reply

