7 Quick Takes (Vol 74)

7_quick_takes

1

After all of these months of waiting and on-off orders and manifests, SuperSoldier has finally left the U.S.  They may keep him there longer than we figured, too.   This is our Army life.

2

I took TheMadHatter up for another xray.  Now we wait.  The ortho clinic hasn’t called for an eval appt yet, but I hope they do soon.

3

I’m really surprised that we’re already on the doorstep of Palm Sunday!  Where did Lent go?  It’s been a pretty good Lent overall, though not what I had planned.  It is no surprise that it has actually turned out better than I planned.  God knows exactly what he’s doing and this year I think I’ve done a better job of getting out of the way and letting Him do his thing.  (not that I’ve stayed completely out of the way, mind you, but better than my norm.)

4

I continue to appreciate my congressman, John Carter (R-TX).  Here is a quote from him on the “exemption” that the president, pelosi, reid and certain cabinet members have (or plan to have) from our new “health care” plan:

“This is such an incredible affront to every principle of equality in this country that it demands an immediate apology to the nation by the President,” says House Republican Conference Secretary John Carter.  “That should be followed by a straight up-and-down vote in the House and Senate on a bill requiring every Member and staff in both Houses and the Administration be included in this new monstrosity, with no exceptions for leadership, committee staff, the President’s cabinet, or the President. If they think this crap is good enough for Joe the Plumber, then it should be good enough for Barack Obama, Rahm Emmanuel, and Tim Geithner.

5

I found a small amount of my reading “mojo.”  I have one book nearly done and I am looking forward to reading No Turning Back: A Witness to Mercy (which I just got in the mail!) and I also want to finish two books I started quite a while ago ~ except this time I have reason to hope I might actually finish!🙂

6

So, really? “They” (I guess World Wildlife Fund ~ at least they sponsor the website promoting it) want me to sit in the dark for an hour tomorrow night?  With kids in the house?  Really?  I could see evening or morning where there is some natural light, but when we tend to use lights anyway….. but from 8:30 – 9:30 pm?  Gee, it’s too bad that this is exactly the time that I planned to check every bulb in the house to make sure they are all actually working.

7

I keep thinking about going self-hosted on this blog, but then I think…. “that’s probably a lot more work.”  But there are just enough benefits to doing it that I keep coming back to the idea.  I don’t know if I keep hesitating because I’m chicken or  because it’s prudent or both!

For more 7 Quick Takes, head over to Jen’s at Conversion Diary.

About becomewhatyouare

Catholic, Middle-Aged, Knitting-Addicted, Wife, Homeschooler, Mom of 6, Mom-in-Law to 1, Mother of 11 little saints, Grandma to 1, Godmother to 12, Foster Mom to 5, Army mom, Happily living in Texas!
This entry was posted in 7 Quick Takes. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to 7 Quick Takes (Vol 74)

  1. Theresa Messner says:

    My thoughts are with you and your family, with SuperSoldier and TheMadHatter. I think of you often.

  2. KC says:

    It does sound like a good time to check if all the bulbs are working.

    Will continue to pray for SuperSoldier (and you).

  3. Linda says:

    hello fellow texan!
    self hosted is fun and grants you more freedom but yes, it has the potential to be a time sucker and also become more of a chore..

  4. Jenny says:

    My first visit, I headed over from Jen’s. I love you GW Bush billboard on the side! I’ll be back to look around. Have a great week!

  5. Tami says:

    1) As a military family I know, it is what it is. But it still stinks.

    4) I love your Rep. too!

    7) What is self-hosted? I know, I am not a techy person. AT ALL!

    • self-hosted is buy my own space and running my own blog rather than the free wordpress. it is a way around the limitations at wordpress (or blogger or any other free blog place.)

Leave a Reply

