She Doesn’t Have Pneumonia

Yesterday I took TheMadHatter to the doctor to make sure that she did not have community acquired pneumonia like TheQueenofHearts did 3 weeks ago.  Her symptoms were pretty much the same and she’d been sick and coughing for 2 weeks.  (yes, I’m THAT mom… the one who assumes everything is a cold or allergies at first and for a while…. because it usually is!)

We saw a doctor who is new to the clinic, Dr. C-K. I just loved her. She has a lovely bedside manner, is very respectful of my approach to things, was informative and more than competent. She is not “our” doctor, but I will choose to see her any time I have to go up to the clinic (which is not often! and this is not because I don’t like our assigned provider. I’ve never met her. I just really like Dr. C-K.)

She ordered a chest x-ray to rule out pneumonia.  Thanks be to God the lungs were clear.  However, she did get a note from the radiologist that he noticed “significant scoliosis.”  That’s all he said. She tried to call him to get more details, but could not reach him! (frustrating!)  We looked at her back in the office and it is quite noticeable if you’re looking for it.  Over the past year I’ve noticed the TheMadHatter’s right shoulder blade protrudes more than the left but didn’t think much of it (she is very slender and just looks “boney” anyway.)

We should be getting a referral to an ortho to get more details on the degree/severity of the scoliosis. (update: I just had contact with Dr. C-K.  The radiologist estimates a 20° curve. This is the low end of where they like to intervene.  This is just an estimate and she needs more xrays and an eval from an ortho.) I am honestly not worried at all.  I am concerned enough, obviously, to monitor the curve and consider all of the treatment options they might offer, but I’m not worried.  Still, I would not mind one bit if you joined me in praying that God would heal her of this.

About becomewhatyouare

Catholic, Middle-Aged, Knitting-Addicted, Wife, Homeschooler, Mom of 6, Mom-in-Law to 1, Mother of 11 little saints, Grandma to 1, Godmother to 12, Foster Mom to 5, Army mom, Happily living in Texas!
This entry was posted in My Kids!, TheMadHatter. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to She Doesn’t Have Pneumonia

  1. Carla says:

    Glad it’s not pneumonia and will certainly pray for healing of the spine. (hug). I will also pray for your peace of mind. There is nothing worse than worrying about the health of your child no matter how minor the medical issue may be.

    Feel better, Mad Hatter!

  2. KC says:

    As she is my Pumpkin’s favorite, of course, I’ll pray for her (well, we’d pray for her anyway).

  3. AmmieJo says:

    Saying prayers for her to heal and for you, friend, also!

  4. Jess says:

    My boobear had scoliosis and it had to be monitored every 6 months by xray. It is gone now but I do remember the dr saying that sometimes it shows up around the mad hatter’s age because of growth spurts. Praying for her to feel better and for her spine to straighten on its own.

  5. PaperSmyth says:

    I found your site looking for “become who you are” quotes from Pope John Paul II. Very good content and I may have to bookmark it!

    I have scoliosis (first diagnosed at 11) and as a adult it is not much of a bother at 21º of curvature on the greatest curve; I hope that your child has the same result. I will pray for your peace-of-mind as well.

    If at all possible, could you tell me where/when the “People of God, become who you are” quote was spoken?

    Thanks for all you do.

    • Thank you for your prayers for our daughter and for me! We hope to see the orthopedist soon. Her larger curve is a bit more significant than yours (since I posted this we’ve had a proper scoliosis xray taken and 20° was a too-low estimate), but I have hope that it will be well. (She has double major scoliosis, “S” shaped)

      The quote that I adopted for my theme for this blog comes from the Apostolic Exhortation Familiaris Consortio of Pope John Paul II, to the Episcopate, to the Clergy and to the Faithful for the whole Catholic Church On the Role of the Christian Family in the Modern World

      It comes from:

      PART THREE

      THE ROLE OF THE CHRISTIAN FAMILY

      Family, Become What You Are

      17. The family finds in the plan of God the Creator and Redeemer not only its identity, what it is, but also its mission, what it can and should do. The role that God calls the family to perform in history derives from what the family is; its role represents the dynamic and existential development of what it is. Each family finds within itself a summons that cannot be ignored, and that specifies both its dignity and its responsibility: family, become what you are.

      Accordingly, the family must go back to the “beginning” of God’s creative act, if it is to attain self-knowledge and self-realization in accordance with the inner truth not only of what it is but also of what it does in history. And since in God’s plan it has been established as an “intimate community of life and love,”(44) the family has the mission to become more and more what it is, that is to say, a community of life and love, in an effort that will find fulfillment, as will everything created and redeemed, in the Kingdom of God. Looking at it in such a way as to reach its very roots, we must say that the essence and role of the family are in the final analysis specified by love. Hence the family has the mission to guard, reveal and communicate love, and this is a living reflection of and a real sharing in God’s love for humanity and the love of Christ the Lord for the Church His bride.

      Every particular task of the family is an expressive and concrete actuation of that fundamental mission. We must therefore go deeper into the unique riches of the family’s mission and probe its contents, which are both manifold and unified.

      Thus, with love as its point of departure and making constant reference to it, the recent Synod emphasized four general tasks for the family:

      1) forming a community of persons;

      2) serving life;

      3) participating in the development of society;

      4) sharing in the life and mission of the Church.

      • PaperSmyth says:

        “family, become what you are”

        That one I was able to find. Thank you. I am somewhat aware of what is in the document, but have not read it all yet, so thanks also for the link.

        I have the kind of scoliosis with three angles (5, 20, ? don’t recall the last #) and consider myself very blessed that it did not progessively get worse as I aged. I can say from experience that an orthopedic surgeon or orthopedist will be the only one who can tell you for sure what’s going on. (If the first x-ray she had was one of her lying down, I would expect that to be very inaccurate.) Standing x-rays have come a looong way in the 25+ years since I was first diagnosed, but they are still imperfect.

        I will continue to pray for your family over the next few weeks. God bless you.

        • Ahh, I see. I’ve never heard the quote “People, become what you are.” A quick google turned up nothing for me. I hope you find it.

          The scoliosis xray (standing) was much more accurate than the (standing) chest xray. They didn’t look at the whole spine (obviously) in the first (the one that alerted the radiologist to the presence of scoliosis) since they were just looking for pneumonia but sent us back for another.

          We finally got our referral stuff and made an appt for her for the 12th. We should have more answers after that, though her first appt is with the NP, not the Ortho.

Leave a Reply

