March Brain Spill

St Joseph Coloring Page 1

St Joseph Coloring Page 2

Yesterday, I had meatloaf planned for dinner.  Unfortunately, the meat didn’t thaw in time, so I needed substitution.  On those nights, I find that  a good,  quick substitute is scrambled eggs.  One of the girls mentioned that Jess was making green eggs and pancakes for dinner.  I thought, “why not?”  A long time a go, I used to do this sort of thing and it was fun.  So I did….

The eggs

Pancake Batter

yum!

“May those who love us, love us; and those who don’t love us, may God turn their hearts; and if He doesn’t turn their hearts, may he turn their ankles so we’ll know them by their limping.”

“An Irish Blessing”

The Washer and Dryer are finally here and I love them!  They are so quiet!  It took about 3 minutes for me to regret the decision to not get the pedestals.  We’ll probably add them.

This Sunday, Chief and the girls are going to go see The Phantom of the Opera down at Bass Concert Hall at UT.  This is being called the “Farewell Tour” and this is the final Texas engagement.  I’m excited for them to get to go see it and I’m also happy that TheQueenofHearts can scope out the campus a bit (she hopes to be accepted into their performing arts program in a few years.)

Here is what I’ve spent some of my time on:

It is a quick knit and so cute!  So tiny!!!!

Yesterday I downloaded the iPieta app for my iPhone and Touch.  It comes highly recommended and is so loaded with goodies that you can’t download it over the 3G network.  You either have to use the computer or a wifi connection!  I’m going to load it onto my machines right after I’m done here.  I’ll let y’all know how I like it.  It really looks cool.  Update:  So far, I love it!  I had to uninstall the app and reinstall before I could get the audio downloads to work, but it was worth the time to do that.  I can’t wait until they put out more audio for it!

And now for the “I learned something new” files….

From the 1983 Code of Canon Law:

Can. 1251 Abstinence from meat, or from some other food as determined by the Episcopal Conference, is to be observed on all Fridays unless a solemnity should fall on a Friday.  Abstinence and fasting are to be observed on Ash Wednesday and Good Friday.

We are completely, morally free to celebrate the Solemnity of St Joseph this Friday by including a meat dish on our menu if we wish.   We are not, however, required to.    What I now wonder is… does this apply to our personal fasts? (really, I’m not looking to get out of anything… I’m just curious.🙂  )

God bless you!

About becomewhatyouare

Catholic, Middle-Aged, Knitting-Addicted, Wife, Homeschooler, Mom of 6, Mom-in-Law to 1, Mother of 11 little saints, Grandma to 1, Godmother to 12, Foster Mom to 5, Army mom, Happily living in Texas!
This entry was posted in Brain Spill. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to March Brain Spill

  1. KC says:

    That’s a cute set you knit!

  2. Tami says:

    Oh, I was hoping someone would answer the question about the break from the personal fasts. My kiddos have been asking, and I couldn’t find anything on the internet.

  3. Yasher says:

    LOL Was anyone brave enough to eat the green eggs and pancakes?

    I love the little knit outfit!

    I don’t have an iPhone or iTouch and applaud you for being brave enough to enter the world of apps because they sure as heck make me feel old! 😛

    • LOL, yes, we ate them. They tasted just fine. It was fun.

      You know I’m a “Mac junkie”… you should applaud, rather, that I am not buying an iPad just to have one! Shazam is one of my favorite apps…. that’s the one that identifies songs. Sometimes I’m out and I think, “what is that song?!” (usually 80’s music I almost remember) and I can find out!🙂

  4. Jess says:

    Ooooo your eggs and pancakes were much greener than ours ( think mint green), next time we are adding way more food coloring!

  5. I have 2 tips: start with blue coloring in the eggs and use Wilton coloring gel. I get it at HL. It’s not cheap, but the colors are great and it lasts a long time. (keep them in a ziploc freezer bag.). The green I used is called “leaf green”.

  6. Dawn Farias says:

    I love the green eggs and pancakes!

Leave a Reply

