WANTED: Opinions, Recommendations

We were fortunate to dodge the bullet on the washer and dryer for a couple of months, but the time has come.  We need to get a new set.

I’ve been researching, but it’s all getting confusing!  There are only a few things I know for sure:

  • We are only considering front loaders
  • I don’t want another Maytag.  (There is another popular brand that I am 99% certain I do not want to purchase, but I am not going to say which it is because I am open to your opinions and recommendations.)
  • I need/want a large capacity and consider 4.2 cu ft to be the minimum for the washer.
  • I want a handwash cycle (this has proven invaluable on my  current set)
  • Price is not the most important consideration.  While we don’t want to be ridiculous, we are willing to invest a good amount of money to get a set that will meet our needs and last a long time.

I am interested in knowing what you do recommend and what you don’t.  If you love yours, tell me!  If you hate it, tell me!  And be sure to tell me why, what your most/least favorite “feature” is, etc.

We plan to purchase soon so please, please help me out!  Thanks in advance!

About becomewhatyouare

Catholic, Middle-Aged, Knitting-Addicted, Wife, Homeschooler, Mom of 6, Mom-in-Law to 1, Mother of 11 little saints, Grandma to 1, Godmother to 12, Foster Mom to 5, Army mom, Happily living in Texas!
This entry was posted in Our Catholic Family Life. Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to WANTED: Opinions, Recommendations

  1. KC says:

    I have only owned Kenmores. My first set lasted 15 years. Last year I purchased a front loader and do love it. Mine has the hand wash cycle and is the biggest one.

    I don’t like how sometime the clothes come out creased even though I don’t use the highest spin speed. The dryer doesn’t necessarily pull those creases out. Even though I could technically stuff the washer full, when I do, those creases are worse. Also I hate how everything is in a tangled mess when I pull the clothes out but that’s not a big deal.

    Overall I like how clean my clothes get and how little detergent I need to use. I have a Kidswear setting that I use a LOT.

    • did you get your new set at Sears or at the PX?

    • Howdy, fellow Texan! I don’t have a rec for a new washer and dryer (I’m still limping along with our old fashioned ones!), but I just wanted to tell you that I love your blog and I am so impressed with your knitting! I just learned how to crochet and I still find knitting needles awkward. Thanks for stopping by my blog, Holy Mothering. I’m sorry that your Father in Law is involved with CIM–it is so easy to be misled by this since our culture encourages it. You and your family are gorgeous!

      God Bless!
      Lara

  2. Theresa Messner says:

    I wish I could help you. Thankfully ours hasn’t bit the dust, yet.

    Hoping all is well with your family. Soon I need to actually sit down and send you an email about what is new in our little world.

  3. teachinmom says:

    We have an LG set.

    I hate it. I can’t come up with stronger language than that and still post it on your blog. Hate. Seriously. Dont’ get them. At. All.

    I’ve read and heard that Speed Queen is a great brand, built like they used to build machines, but not a lot of bells and whistles. After two and a half years with out LG set I am ready to buy a new washer (at least) and am strongly considering Speed Queen. Seems they are built to handle the load size I would put it through.

    Peace!

  4. Lisa Sweet says:

    I don’t think I can help you. I have a new Maytag front loader and dryer and so far, I love them. Dare I ask why you don’t like Maytags?
    My appliance guy did recommend, at one point, the Whirlpool dryers. He said they were well built.

    • It’s just that every Maytag appliance we’ve had over the past 11 years had not lived up to our expectation for life or performance. They’re not what they used to be, but I hope they’re also not what they were when we purchased… hopefully they’ve moved back toward their previous reputation which prompted us to buy them when we did.

      If we’re going to spend $2-3K (THUD!) we just don’t want to go with a brand we’ve come to associate with problems.

  5. Jess says:

    We have the whirlpool duet sport. They are not the biggest ones around (I think that is what the sport means) but they are working for us now. They are bigger that what we used to have. My test was whether I could fit my giant king sized comforter in there and I could, so it works. It has a sanitary cycle and a handwash cycle. We got them at the px when they were having a deal where you got the pedestals free, and we also got the floor model on the dryer. So far the only problem we have had is water leaking out onto the floor a little if we run a lot of loads and the area between the door and the drum (the rubber part the catches all the stuff people leave in pockets) has too much water sitting in it. It also leaked when we did the cleaning cycle, but I think it was for the same reason. If I wipe that area out when I am doing a bunch of laundry then it is fine. That area dries out between cycles normally because I leave the door open a little.
    Good luck in your search!

  6. snowbabies says:

    I have the same set as KC does, mine is the size down from hers. I love mine! Did lots of research before buying…. I did NOT one that vibrated everything off during the spins… this is such a quiet one. We opted not to get the pedestals.. bought a flat screen TV instead with the $$. No regrets. Bought from the PX using a discount code and also got free shipping reimbursement… it was delivered by Sears… go figure. Call me if you want a code . I think there is a 15% one right now.

    • Jess says:

      oh mine vibrates like crazy in the spin cycle, but we run it on high spin (hopefully to help the dryer dry faster) and our machines are touching so I think that is part of the problem. When dh comes home he is going to pull them apart a little and see if that helps. It has thrown things off the top : /

      • When ours was new and had none of its current issues, it didn’t shake things off, but now it does. Someone once left a bottle of bleach on top of it while it was running. Boy were our floors clean in there after that! *sigh* It also sounds like you’re standing next to a jet engine winding up for take off. It is HORRIBLY loud. (probably the bearings are shot.)

  7. Dawn Farias says:

    I am no help since you are only considering front loaders. Good luck!

  8. Tami says:

    What did you decide?
    If you are still looking for opinions, we have the Kenmore Elite. We’ve had them for over 3 years now, and they have been moved a couple times. The washer does jiggle things off the top, but I still love it. I can stuff TONS of clothes in each load, and they come out nice and clean. I agree about the tangled mess that someone else commented on, but it wouldn’t be a deal breaker for me.
    There are two things I miss about my top loader. #1 the ability to felt. #2 if I don’t leave the door open on the washer it gets a musty smell.
    We bought through Sears, as we are so impressed with their treatment of military families. They also have discounts that make it comparable to the BX, without the hassle of the BX.
    Good Luck.

    • I really appreciate your input. We did make a decision, but it is good to hear that you like yours! We decided on these:

      Chili pepper Kenmore Elite 4.5 cu. ft. Front-Load Washer
      Chili pepper Kenmore Elite 7.4 cu. ft. Electric Dryer – Steam

      We ordered them at aafes.com. They have 20% off of Kenmores right now, no tax, free shipping, refund on the “bulk shipping” fee… We saved over $1K this way. They are expected in “about” a week. Our other machine is not completely dead, so waiting a week (or even 2) is worth saving all of that money! We decided not to get the pedestals, but I think I might change my mind in short order.🙂

    • I meant to mention, also, that I wish I could felt well, too… but I’ve had a front loader during my entire knitting career. There are ways around it, and I can felt at home in spite of having a front loader, but it’s not as easy as a top loader.

      I’ve determined that since I don’t felt often, but do often have wool items that need to be hand washed that I’d rather have the hand wash cycle than convenient felting. I am (sort of) working on a felted bag and when I finally finish it, I’ll just take it to a laundromat. Since I felt infrequently, I’d rather spend a little time and money when I want to felt rather than have to actually hand wash my woolens all of the time!

Leave a Reply

