That’s My Boy!

I just had to share this.  Today TheBoy went to play at his godparents’ house, with their youngest boys, while his sisters rehearsed A Midsummer Night’s Dream for 2 hours.

He and his friends, J and J (#s 5 and 6) wanted to build something, but they needed help.  J called out, “Mom, can you help us build this?”

She replied, “I’m sorry, I can’t right now because I am cooking.  Why don’t you ask J (#2)?” (there are 4 “J” sons in this family!)

TheBoy decided he must enter the conversation at this point and addressing his godmother said, “You’re NOT cooking with meat, right?”

Now I didn’t talk to him about abstinence.  He’s newly 4.   His understanding of this particular lenten discipline at this age would be limited (not completely void, but limited.)  Besides, he just eats what we serve (minus a few veggies he doesn’t care for!)  But I guess he was listening to Father today when we went to receive ashes at noon. He knew today was a “no meat” day and he was looking out for his “Nina” and his friends.

That’s my boy!


About becomewhatyouare

Catholic, Middle-Aged, Knitting-Addicted, Wife, Homeschooler, Mom of 6, Mom-in-Law to 1, Mother of 11 little saints, Grandma to 1, Godmother to 12, Foster Mom to 5, Army mom, Happily living in Texas!
This entry was posted in Our Catholic Family Life. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to That’s My Boy!

  1. Yasher says:

    I’m amazed at how much they pick up on at this age! Sounds like you’ve got a bright boy on your hands! 🙂

  2. Amy says:

    What a sweet little man! Oh, they are so so observant at this age! So much more than I generally give credit for!

Leave a Reply

