Remember that old Beatles song?

I’m a Loser?  That’s me.  I’m a loser.

I woke up this morning to a lovely gift bag from Chief for Valentine’s Day.  In it was some candy and these two lovely gifts:

A Lenten Journey with Jesus Christ and St. Therese of Lisieux and a cute little bear

I didn’t do anything for Chief yet.  Nor for the kids.

Valentine’s day just isn’t a big deal to me.  Quite honestly, I have seen it as a “kid holiday” for just about forever.  You know, like trickortreating for Halloween.  When the “1-800-sendbloomingplants” commercials started, I looked at Chief and said, “don’t get me flowers.”  What I meant was, “this is so silly, all the money and effort put in to all of this, don’t bother, I don’t need anything.  If you haven’t dumped my butt for being a cranky, selfish woman yet, you’ve proven your love.  Let’s not bother.” The weird part about that is that gifts are very important to me.  Giving and receiving (they need not be expensive or anything, just thoughtful) but not for Valentine’s Day.  *sigh*

It’s not that I didn’t intend to do anything at all.  My plan was to pick up a few things for Chief and the kids from the store when we went after Mass.  We always go after Mass (the tradition started with going for donuts.  we still get donuts sometimes, but we also do a small shopping trip.)

Chief planned his gift for me.  He set it up after I went to bed in left the bag in my “coffee spot” (meaning where we make coffee.)

So, yeah.  I’m a loser.  I feel pretty guilty that he did that, planned that and my big “plan” was to grab something at the grocery store after Mass, on the day while they were all with me.  I suppose Chief already knows that I’m a loser on Valentine’s Day.  He’s still around and still taking care of me, so I guess he likes losers.  Good thing for me, huh?

About becomewhatyouare

Catholic, Middle-Aged, Knitting-Addicted, Wife, Homeschooler, Mom of 6, Mom-in-Law to 1, Mother of 11 little saints, Grandma to 1, Godmother to 12, Foster Mom to 5, Army mom, Happily living in Texas!
This entry was posted in Our Catholic Family Life. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Remember that old Beatles song?

  1. KC says:

    That is so sweet. And, you’re not a loser! I guess every once in while they need to be ahead of the game.

  2. Carla says:

    You spend an entire year giving of yourself to your family. Planning dinners, educating children, doing laundry, etc, etc. You give all year round and I think Chief just wanted you to feel special today. I say that is pretty awesome!

    I highly doubt that Chief is thinking you are a loser of any sort. I also doubt that anyone else does either.

    Happy Valentine’s Day, Knitter! Enjoy your gifts and your coffee!

  3. Dawn Farias says:

    I’m with you on thinking Valentine’s is overrated!

Leave a Reply

