Did You See It?

I didn’t see it during the Superbowl. It must have been on when I was cleaning up the kitchen or something.

Focus on the Family produced a short ad featuring Tim Tebow and his mom, Pam.  This ad caused quite a bit of a firestorm before the Superbowl, before the ad was made public.  If you go to this link at CatholicVote.org, you can see a quote from “the other side” ~ something written before the ad was seen outside of Focus on the Family.  Lovely, eh?

The thing that makes my head spin the most, though, is that  NOW president Terry O’Neill was quoted by the  LA Times as saying:

“I am blown away at the celebration of the violence against women in it. That’s what comes across to me even more strongly than the anti-abortion message. I myself am a survivor of domestic violence, and I don’t find it charming. I think CBS should be ashamed of itself.”

LAME!

I am sad to hear that O’Neill was a victim of violence (she calls herself a survivor, but it seems to me that if she can’t see that ad ~ that fake, funny tackle ~ for what it is, that she is still a victim.)  I hope one day she heals.

KUDOS to CBS for standing their ground and showing the ad!!!!

So what do you think?  Does it look like violence against women to you?

Emily at God’s Canvas reminded me of the Snickers commercial.  Where are the comments about violence against women and the elderly?

I had the commercial here as a youtube video, but Mars, Inc made them take it down.  You can see it at hulu:  http://www.hulu.com/adzone/watch#50032761

And since I’m posting videos, I did laugh out loud at this Doritos commercial.  The quality isn’t great on this, but it is cute…

About becomewhatyouare

Catholic, Middle-Aged, Knitting-Addicted, Wife, Homeschooler, Mom of 6, Mom-in-Law to 1, Mother of 11 little saints, Grandma to 1, Godmother to 12, Foster Mom to 5, Army mom, Happily living in Texas!
This entry was posted in Faith, Family, Pro-Life. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Did You See It?

  1. snowbabies says:

    no mention about the Betty White one with her being tackled into the mud by a football player? Pathetic… really.. I agree LAME

    • oh, yeah…. i forgot about that one! that was pretty amusing, too. And that was violence against women AND the elderly. Oh, Snickers! You abusive lot! (JUST KIDDING. I ACTUALLY LIKE SNICKERS AND IT WAS HUMOROUS, though my favorite commercials were the Doritos ones… I don’t even like to eat Doritos, but that first one I saw…. hilarious.) I think I’m going to update this entry.

  2. Carla says:

    I actually taped the SB, didn’t want to really watch it since my team lost, but specifically went looking for this ad. Then I went to focusonthefamily.com and watched the Tebow spot with the whole story. I think it was fantastic and I am especially glad that 1st Amendment rights were exercised and were not censored. Of course having lived in Gainesville and having seen Tim Tebow in action on the field, I have a soft spot for UF and TT anyway!

    • you know, since moving to florida, my sister seems to have become a Gators fan…. their Christmas card featured a picture of their girls at a game ~ face paint and all. but if you want to know what I really think, I think she’s a Tim Tebow fan…. i did remind her that she’s old enough to be his mother. LOL!

  3. KC says:

    The Tebow ad played almost right after kickoff. I almost missed it and then couldn’t figure out why there was such an uproar.

    Violence against women? That’s so LAME! Seriously? Grasping at straws.

    Oh, and I LOVE that particular Doritos commercial although they were all funny.

  4. mum6kids says:

    Violence againt women. PERLEEESE! Yep as you say, LAME.
    Of course adverts like that would never get past an editor in the UK.
    Keep your freedoms folk-and move over, a lot of Brits might be on their way one o’these days if things carry on the way they are going over here.

  5. Jess says:

    The doritos ads were funny, and really? violence against women?
    I think the doritos, and the snickers, and the tebow ad and maybe a couple more were the only ones we watched. I wish we didn’t have to censor so much. Remember when the commercials were hilarious and clean??? Oh the good ol’ days….

  6. I don’t understand the issue behind the commericial. *shrug* I think people just get in a tiff because they can, not because there is a valid reason.

    The doritos commercial is AWESOME!

    I laughed about the VW one, but The MTI didn’t think it was very funny.

  7. Dawn Farias says:

    Honestly, if I hadn’t known before hand that the Tebow commercial was pro-life then I would have just thought it was about a baby that struggled for life because of health issues.

    She says she calls him a “miracle baby”, that “he almost didn’t make it into this world” and “I still worry about his health”.. or something similar. How it could then possibly be seen as offensive is beyond me. It may be too indirect to be billed even as a pro-life ad.

    I’m guessing the story at Focus on the Family is more explicit??? And that’s where the gripe comes in??

  8. Amy says:

    I guess it gives me comfort (in a way) that the pro-abortion crowd has to make themselves look so silly to cling to their agenda.

    I suppose all co-ed football games should be closely policed. All “football families” should be jailed forthwith! Heaven forbid a family be close enough to play and roughhouse.

    Yeah, they are grasping at straws here.

Leave a Reply

