7 Quick Takes (Vol. 68)

7_quick_takes

~1~

My computer display is really acting up.  The lower third of it is useless.  Urgh.  I guess I’m going to have to let Chief open it up and try replacing a couple of parts.  *sigh*

~2~

Tonight is “tech rehearsal” for The Wiz.  It was originally scheduled for Sunday, but since it is Superbowl Sunday, they moved it to Friday.

~3~

Speaking of Superbowl Sunday, GO, SAINTS!  (Sorry Carla and Mrs.SoldierSon!)  Anyone else notice that after our good Bishop, the Now Archbishop of New Orleans Rev. Gregory Aymond, arrived, the Saints had a fantastic year?  First trip to the Superbowl?  Chief and I saw him on television at one of the games.  Hmmm.  Is he using his “pull”?  Maybe they’ll move him to Green Bay!🙂

~4~

Speaking of Superbowl Sunday again, we seem to have fallen out of our Superbowl party tradition.  Maybe next year.

~5~

There seems to be a huge issue with the new digital electric meters they have been installing around here.  Electric bills are going up, suddenly.  Significantly so.  Most people are reporting a 100% increase or more.  Oncor says that it is because of the arctic front we’ve had.  I don’t think I buy it.  I think there is a problem with the new meters or the software.  We just had our meter installed and our average daily use has been under the usage we had last billing cycle when it was really cold.  grrrr.  People have seen bills go from $150 to $325, $300 to $700.  How does one budget for that kind of increase?!  Unlike most whom I’ve talked to about it, we  have gas heat rather than electric, so maybe it won’t be so bad for us.  Still, that kind of increase is ridiculous, even if you do have electric heat.  Imagine what their bills will be in the summer when it’s 110°!!!!!

~6~

Mrs SoldierSon and her sister are looking into baby carriers (slings, etc.) I shared with her what I know and love.  Anyone have anything to say about their favorite?

~7~

Monday, I have an appointment for root planing at the dentist.  It really didn’t go well the last time I tried to have it done.  I’ve opted for dental “anesthesia” this time.  Imagine my surprise when I found out they use halcion!  Many, many years ago, while suffering through some insomnia, I used halcion (long before it was known how crazy people get while using it.)  Based on my history, Chief and I discussed things like his hiding the car keys on Sunday night.  My previous experience had me doing all kinds of things in my sleep, with no recall whatsoever, so we’ll take the necessary precautions.  I wonder if I’ll be able to sleep Monday night after taking halcion and being out of it Sunday night through Monday evening.

For more 7 Quick Takes, head over to Jen’s.

About becomewhatyouare

Catholic, Middle-Aged, Knitting-Addicted, Wife, Homeschooler, Mom of 6, Mom-in-Law to 1, Mother of 11 little saints, Grandma to 1, Godmother to 12, Foster Mom to 5, Army mom, Happily living in Texas!
This entry was posted in 7 Quick Takes. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to 7 Quick Takes (Vol. 68)

  1. violingirl says:

    I love wraps. They are so versatile and easy to make on your own. I used this tutorial:

    http://wearyourbaby.com/Default.aspx?tabid=121

  2. Carla says:

    First off, you have the most horrible taste in football! LOL!

    I’ve been luckly with the electric bill I guess. Mine actually went down. *shrug*

    As far as baby carriers, my favorites by far were the pouch sling before the baby had head control, the BECO for front carrying when they were large enough to not fall out or a ring sling to hip carry. I also used the BECO to back carrier.

    Oh and be careful with the triazolam. That stuff can be scary! I hope Chief keeps a good eye on you! I’ll be praying!

    • I am actually a bit nervous about the triazolam, especially when the one time I took it (once was enough!) I did have so much activity. Nothing bad or scary (cleaning the kitchen, etc.) but it does tell me that it does affect me like that. I have lots of plans to protect the family and myself. Chief is definitely keeping an eye out. Though I’m sure you already know this, the dosing is .5 at bed the night before and .5 an hour before the appt. That seems like a lot, but it’s that or dentures. I’m not ready for dentures yet.

      Now you know I have a soft spot for the Colts, but I sure love an underdog. 43 years in the NFL and never even been to the superbowl. I’d just love to see them win it. Peyton has a few rings. More than deserved them, but I’d like the others to get one, too.🙂
      Thanks for your prayers over this. I’m sure praying, too.

      • Carla says:

        Peyton has 1 ring! I think it needs a twin for the other hand! 🙂

        And I’m all about the underdog except they are playing my team!

        Of course, you probably would have been for the Vikings since your old boy Favre plays for them. Like I said, your taste in football…. well, it’s a moot point and we’ll just agree to disagree. LOL

        I hope this dentist visit solves every tooth problem and that you tolerate the meds better this time. I am blessed with good teeth and when I hear of friends going through this I remember how lucky I am.

        • Brett Who?????

          Do you not know, my friend, that the Vikings are as big a rival, if not MORE than the Bears for my Pack? I was just as happy to see them kicked out of the playoffs as I would have been to see the Pack move forward!

          I am a PACKERS fan, not a, um, uhhhh, what’s his name again? fan!😀 I lurve me some Aaron Rodgers!

          Go, Pack, Go!!

          Packers

          Rodgers

  3. homegrownandhomespun says:

    Knitter: I second the baby wrap at wearyourbaby.com. It’s only 5 yds. of a slightly stretchy knit fabric (easily available at Wal-Mart for $1/yard, and it’s on sale at JoAnn’s this week!!), and all you’d need to do is hem it on the sides if you like, or leave it “raw” like I did. Plus the web site has incredible video tutorials, which I find to be a major plus.

  4. Carla says:

    I guess “Who dat?” comes into play here! ROFL. I knew the Favre comment would rile you up! Traitor, eh?

    Have a great weekend! I’ll be working. Yes, even during the Super Bowl. Lucky me!

  5. ammiejo says:

    People in our area reported an increase like that, too. We didn’t have new meters going in though. Our bill was actually lower, but we have gas heat.

    All this football stuff makes my head spin! I am SO glad it’s almost baseball season!😉 Although it seems ESPN or some sports channel is on here at the house anytime one of the boys is watching. It’s amazing what I learn when I’m listening absently!

    Slings, I did NOT like my Maya wrap. I had one that was a homemade sling and I liked it most. It was similar to the Maya….sort of, but much easier to use.

Leave a Reply

