7 Quick Takes (Vol 66)

7_quick_takes

~1~

Well, you know about how this wimpy Texan couldn’t stand the cold. Fortunately, it warmed back up. Whew! With the warm, however, came some unwelcome guests. Ants and bees. Yup. There were ants in the kitchen and bees in the house (we opened the doors and windows… we need new screens badly.) Are you kidding me? Ants? In January?

~2~

The warm weather didn’t last (though it’s not bitter cold) as we went from over night lows of 60° to 40° this morning! Brrrr! Are you kidding me? FORTY?! No, it’s not sub-freezing, but 40 is still cold!

~3~

I already messed up the sweater I am knitting. I had to rip it out. I’ll be starting again today. *sigh* More on that over at my knitting blog.

~4~

The nice folks at DirectTV offered to pay the contract cancellation fee the cable company will charge us for early cancellation, so we are going back to satellite today. Yippee!!! Of course, that means the the 4 feet pile of junk in the corner of my bedroom has to be relocated put away. Before noon.

~5~

SuperSoldier’s deployment was delayed. He was very frustrated. First he was told he wouldn’t leave for a month. Now he’s on “Standby” for the original flight out. We may not know he’s manifested until the last minute. I get it. It’s the Army. I’ve lived that life for all of my adult life and still, this is killing me. Imagine how it is for him.

~6~

Last week I made a 2 week menu and shopped according to it. Now I can’t find the menu! I have no idea what I am cooking. I really need to start doing those things on the computer instead of stray pieces of paper.

~7~

I just can’t think of seven things. If I think of another one, I’ll come back and edit.

Ahh, yes. There was one thing I wanted to gripe about.  My rolling pin.  Chief got a lovely Polish Pottery rolling pin for me for Christmas.  I love it.  Or I should say I loved it.

Honestly, immediately after I opened it, I could tell by the weight that it was hollow.  I was surprised by that, but figured they knew what they were doing.  Not so much, I guess.  I made pizza last weekend while the kids were here and this is what happened when I rolled out the second crust.  The dough is not hard to roll or anything.  I would say that I was using it under normal or typical circumstances and the handle just broke off.  I can’t believe that it is made in 3 pieces.  I can’t believe it is hollow.  We are going to return it.  It is too expensive to be sitting around here broken.  *sigh*  Hard to believe the $8 wallyworld rolling pin is so much sturdier.

For more 7 Quick Takes, head over to Conversion Diary.

About becomewhatyouare

Catholic, Middle-Aged, Knitting-Addicted, Wife, Homeschooler, Mom of 6, Mom-in-Law to 1, Mother of 11 little saints, Grandma to 1, Godmother to 12, Foster Mom to 5, Army mom, Happily living in Texas!
This entry was posted in 7 Quick Takes. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to 7 Quick Takes (Vol 66)

  1. Dawn Farias says:

    Poor rolling pin. 😉

  2. Jenny says:

    I hate it when I shop & lose my menu plan. It means I’ll have some “stray, I never use” ingredient just sitting around!

  3. lisa says:

    Nice to visit you from Quick Takes — We have a lot in common — from our age and new mother-in-lawishness to the stray scraps of paper menus. But I don’t knit and am the daughter and mother of the military — not the wife. Blessings to you on this waiting game for deployment, tho. And prayers for your husband along with all our military heros. (I’m with you, btw, on taking back the rolling pin. Doesn’t mean a thing to be pretty and not work!)

    • Nice to meet you, Lisa. I’m so glad you stopped by.

      I find that being a military mom is a lot harder than being a military wife. I think it is quite simply that I married a soldier, but gave birth to baby. My husband has always been and will always be (even though he’s retired!) my old soldier. My babies are always may babies. *sigh*

  4. KC says:

    This morning WAS cold. I couldn’t believe I was cold.

  5. AmmieJo says:

    This warmer weather has been so nice! It’s back in the 40’s here too. I don’t mind that so much as the single digits and teens we had earlier this month!

    It’s a beautiful rolling pin! I agree, I would take it back also!

    I use a notebook for my menus. LOL Ok. I use a series of notebooks. Whichever one I can find when I sit down to plan. Problem is…there are several notebooks I use. I can never find the “right” one until weeks later.

    Tell SuperSoldier the boys and I are praying! (hugs) for you!

    AmmieJo

  6. you forgot flies. Ugh. I strongly dislike flies.

    Bummer about the rolling pin, it sure is gorgeous though! Hopefully you won’t get any slack when you return it!

Leave a Reply

