Reflections

I thought I would do a Reflections post today, just for a change and to cover a few basic things in an orderly fashion!🙂

I can’t believe it’s the middle of the week already!

reflections

Thanks to Darcee at Simply Catholic for this format!

Reflections -20 January 2010.

Plans for this week – Would it be bad to say I just want to get through the week?

.
I am wearing – comfy pants and a t-shirt

I am feeling – pretty well overall, but I have some joint pain in my feet, my back (though this is improving today) and my left hand.  Also on my left hand, I smashed my pinkie finger.  It hurt like heck when it happened last night, but I thought it would be fine after a bit since it didn’t swell or bruise before I went to bed.  I was wrong.  I swelled up overnight and right now I can’t even see the knuckle wrinkles!

I am hearing – TheQueenofHearts making her coffee (what can I say? she’s her mother’s daughter!), the dishwasher running and the fishtank is making a bunch of noise.

I am thankful for – all of the blessings of faith, family, friendship and freedom

I am wondering – how I’ll get to Adoration today with TheBoy with me.  He gets so bored and antsy in there.

Outside – it is barely getting light now.  it looks gloomy and overcast, but the temperature is 66°!  If those clouds clear up it should be a lovely day.

In prayerKC who remembers Mark Edward today.  It is the first anniversary of his passing into Heaven.

The Family

Chief: is well.  there isn’t much to report and you know what that means:  no news is good news!

SGTSoldierSon & MrsSoldierSon: were here over the weekend! Yippee!  They are moving to the same duty station as SuperSoldier.  They should be there in just over a month or so.

SuperSoldier: was here this weekend, too!  He is doing well, but is frustrated because the date for his deployment has been pushed back.

The Queen of Hearts: is working hard in school.  she is in 3 productions at the local theater as well as the homeschool production of Midsummer Night’s Dream.

The Mad Hatter: is doing well.  she is in 2 productions at the theater plus Shakespeare

MissCreativity: is great!  she is in Mulan, Jr. and the Shakespeare production.

TheBoy: is suddenly a little boy!  no longer my baby or toddler.

The Homefires:

Kitchen – Today I will be making fajitas for dinner

In our my craft room: I am knitting a helmet liner for SuperSoldier and have joined a sweater knit-along (see my sidebar)

In our school: getting back in the swing of things for school took a little time, but I think we’re finally there.

Lucky Room(s) of the week: No idea.  Should clean out some closets (again)

My iPod

stillwaters rosary


My Reading

Yes, STILL [hoping to finish] reading:


Fulfillment of All Desire Cover

The Fulfillment of All Desire

Drawing upon the teaching of seven Spiritual Doctors of the Church, Ralph Martin presents an in-depth study of the journey to God. This book provides encouragement and direction for the pilgrim who desires to know, love, and serve our Lord.

The End Cover

The End of the Present World and the Mysteries of the Future Life

Let the pages of The End of the Present World and the Mysteries of the Future Life fill you with the same burning words of love, with the same ardent desire to know God above all created things, that St. Thérèse gained from them. Let them also enrich your understanding of certain teachings of the Faith that can often seem so mysterious, even frightening:

+The signs that will precede the world’s end

+The coming of the Antichrist, and how to recognize him

+The Judgment and where it may send us: heaven, hell, and purgatory

+Biblical end-times prophecy: how to read it and not be deceived

Jesus commands us to be ever-watchful for his return, and ever-mindful that we have no lasting city on earth. The End of the Present World and the Mysteries of the Future Life is an invaluable aid to inculcating in your spirit that heavenly orientation, without which true human happiness cannot be found—in this world or the next.

Liturgical/Spiritual –

  • Holy Hour on Wednesday from 3 to 4
  • Our family has the vocations cross this week



About becomewhatyouare

Catholic, Middle-Aged, Knitting-Addicted, Wife, Homeschooler, Mom of 6, Mom-in-Law to 1, Mother of 11 little saints, Grandma to 1, Godmother to 12, Foster Mom to 5, Army mom, Happily living in Texas!
This entry was posted in Our Catholic Family Life. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Reflections

  1. Rachel says:

    Knitter, I don’t comment often… but am a frequent visitor/reader. You amaze me! You are such a wonderful woman and an amazing mother to your children!! I admire you… and always love visiting/reading to challenge myself to become a better person/mother/role model to my own children!!🙂

    Have a blessed day!

Leave a Reply

