7 Quick Takes Friday (Vol 64)

7_quick_takes

~1~

The girls are back at the theater.  MilkyWhite in one production, TheMadHatter in two and TheQueenofHearts is in three!  TheQueenofHearts got the lead in Mulan, Jr! 🙂  TheMadHatter is disappointed in the role she got in Mulan, Jr (but likes her role in The Wiz) and MilkyWhite is pleased with hers.  I know they’ll all do really well.

~2~

Last week, Chief came home with a “belated” Christmas gift for me (not really late since it was still Christmas, but you know what I mean!)  He brought home the new Mario game for Wii!  I LOVE IT.  It is so much fun.  I hope that Snowbabies and The Cabbage Patch decide to get this game too.  Then some night when we should be knitting, we could play Mario instead Then I could play with their kids! 🙂

~3~

It is COLD!  At 9am, it is 20°!!!  Before you northerners get all hysterical, this is Texas!  We don’t do cold!!!!

~4~

My mom always sends a Visa gift card for Chief and for me for Christmas.  I spent mine on yarn (yeah, surprise!).  I ordered Swish worsted weight from KnitPicks.  Only I didn’t order enough for what I had in mind.  *sigh*  Oh, well, I’ll find something to use it with (I can’t just order more.  Dye lots matter.  Well, I can order more and will, but will have to order 18 instead of just 6 so that all of the yarn matches.)  I love, love, love this stuff.  Well, I think I do.  I haven’t knit with it, but it is some of the softest wool I’ve ever touched and it is machine washable! WhooHoo!

~5~

After much dread, I plucked up my courage and got on the scale last week and was pleasantly surprised.  I did gain weight, but instead of the 10 or 15 lbs I expected, it was only 4.  I have already lost that plus another pound, bringing my total since 24 September 2009 to 32lbs lost.

~6~

I am working really hard at keeping my anxiety in check as SuperSoldier’s deployment creeps ever closer.  I am thinking about flying out to see him before he goes, but I am not sure if that will be possible.  I do hope he can come here for a couple of days.  That would be best as everyone could see him.

~7~

I am looking for (audio) book recommendations for fiction books.  I like things like The Lord of the Rings, The Chronicles of Narnia and Harry Potter.  I don’t really want to read vampire books (no reason except that they don’t really interest me.)  I’ve just listened to LOTR and HP on audio book, for the 4th or 5th time and am about to start The Chronicles again, but after that????  Any ideas?  (I don’t like profanity in books, but especially so in audio books, so if your favorite is sprinkled with colorful language, I’ll pass.)

For more 7 Quick Takes, head over to Jen’s.

About becomewhatyouare

Catholic, Middle-Aged, Knitting-Addicted, Wife, Homeschooler, Mom of 6, Mom-in-Law to 1, Mother of 11 little saints, Grandma to 1, Godmother to 12, Foster Mom to 5, Army mom, Happily living in Texas!
This entry was posted in 7 Quick Takes, Our Catholic Family Life. Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to 7 Quick Takes Friday (Vol 64)

  1. Siobhan McIntire says:

    Call KnitPicks and see if they have any more yarn in the same dyelot. I’ve found the same dyelot a year after I bought the yarn.

  2. Carla says:

    If you like CS Lewis, then you might like Randy Alcorn’s Lord Foulgrin’s Letters. It’s one of my favorites and I liken it to a modern day Screwtape Letters.

    http://epm.org/books/audio-lord-foulgrins-letters.htm

    I like most of his fiction work and I promise that there is no profanity. 🙂

    • i’ll check it out! Thanks! I do like Lewis. The Screwtape Letters is a brilliant work, I think. Have you seen this?

      • Oh! I just found Lord Fougrin’s Letters on iTunes… it’s only $4.95

        • Carla says:

          Oh that’s a great price! I hope you like it. I actually have purchased that book multiple times and given it as a gift. There is another one that follows called the Ishbaine Conspiracy that is good, too.

          As I said before, Alcorn is one of my favorite present day authors. Definitely let me know what you think!

  3. KC says:

    Which Mario game is it?

  4. Laura says:

    We just took Patricia Wrede’s enchanted forest chronicles on our trip to MI. The girls say to look also for Lloyd Alexander’s prydain cycle. Stephanie just finished a few projects with that wool. She says not to let anyone wear their brand new socks on a bare concrete floor while playing darts! They had to be mended before they could even be washed!

  5. Dawn says:

    this is Texas! We don’t do cold!!!!

    Got that right, sista.

    Congrats on the weight gain/loss!!

    • Thanks.

      It is so stinking cold here, we have no water. We don’t know where the pipe break is, whether it is our problem or the city’s, but we.have.no.water!!!! We lost it last night. Before the dishes were done. Ugh.

  6. snowbabies says:

    we got that for Christmas from my sister to the kids.. ( She talked to Santa!) We’ve played and it is a lot of fun. John and I stayed up one night playing it, the next day , my left thumb hurt.. literally all day.. from jumping so much.. How come John can do it and I am all over the place?
    did you know there is a play coming to Austin feb 6 on the Screwtape letters? Saw it in Catholic Spirit, I think it is screwtapeonstage.com
    Also, CS Lewis wrote a space trilogy, fr K was talking about it.

    • yeah the nintendo thumb is just like exercising the first time after a while. Your body hollers at you! But if you persist, it will be fine. 🙂

      I did not know that. I would like to go!

      I have Lewis’ space trilogy on audio book, too. I forgot about that. I can listen to those again. I love it.

      • AmmieJo says:

        Sorry about the water! That stinks! I’m so over this cold weather!

        Brennen is reading Lewis’ space trilogy. My sister got it for him for Christmas. I think I may snag it and read it.

        Awesome job on the weight loss! I started my diet Monday. I told myself I wasn’t going to weigh until this Monday, but I needed some encouragement today. I’ve lost 2 lbs already!

  7. Dani says:

    I have a suggestion on fiction books. There is a trilogy series (well it’s 4 books to be exact) on King Arthur and it’s by Mary Stewart. Starts with the book titled “The Crystal Cave”. I read it back when I was in junior high….and I really liked it and still like it as an adult. It is fiction but really very good. If you are into British history and want to go way back this is a good book for winter reading.

Leave a Reply

