7 Quick Takes (Volume 63)

Happy New Year Edition!

7_quick_takes

Praying that you and yours have a happy and blessed new year!

~1~

We had a nice Christmas Day celebration, except for the fact that we had kids away from home.  Everyone got lovely gifts.  I received many lovely gifts (coffee mug, socks I love, a foot massager, Christmas lights) but two of the loveliest are my Polish Pottery rolling pin and cradle (the pattern is very similar to the dish my mother-in-law sent)

and a Miracoli Rosary from Chief!!!  I haven’t actually received my rosary yet.  Chief knows as well as I do (since he has one) that a Miracoli is for life, so we’re patiently watching what comes off of Jennifer’s bench so we can be sure to get one that is “me”.

~2~

Like many people, the start of a new year is a good time to set some goals…. some resolutions.  Naturally, I have many things (why choose one?!) and I have both spiritual goals and temporal goals.

I think there’s a bit of a theme going on here.  That theme, summed up in one word, is ORDER.  I need more order in my life.

~3~

Here are my Spiritual Goals:

Ω Pray more

make it #1 priority, don’t get sidetracked from it

†Choose and prepare a space with:

†My Bible,
†Prayer books,
†My rosary (can’t wait to discover it…. )
†Journal
†Have pens, 3×5 cards, and post-its handy

Ω Spiritual Reading Daily

†Read everyday, even if just for 5 minutes

†make a list of books to read or re-read, being flexible about the order and about adding new books

†Scripture daily

†Reread:

†Prayer Primer
†Seeking Spiritual Direction
†Fire Within
†Interior Castle
†Pocket Retreat for Catholics

†Finish:

†Fulfillment of All Desire
†The End
†Humility
†The Hidden Power of Kindness

†Read:

†Graced and Gifted
†Cherished and Chosen
(I have watched most of these videos, but not actually read the books)

Ω Go to confession every other week at least

‘Nuff said.

Ω Get a spiritual mentor (I have someone in mind)

†The woman I have in mind is a spiritual powerhouse.  I know she would make a wonderful guide.  I plan to talk to her about it this month.

Ω Make a methodical plan to acquire/practice the virtues.

†This is something that I will work through with a mentor.  To start, however, I’ve decided that  I’ll be working on patience in January.

~4~

Here are my Temporal Goals:

Ω Get more rest (go to bed earlier)

†No matter how I try, I can’t sleep in.  I have to increase how much rest I get on the other end by going to bed earlier if I can.

Ω Go back to low carb eating

†Sure, carbs taste yummy and are quick and easy to stuff into your mouth, but I feel like doo doo eating carbs and I’ve put weight back on, so I need to get back on track.  As a bit of a side note, some of the “side effects” of carbs for me are:

Weight gain
Bloating
Crankiness
Lethargy
Mental fuzziness
Sleepiness
Increased coffee consumption
Out-of-control cravings for more carbs
More frequent and greater hunger
Zits

Yeah….. Cookies, potatoes and pie are worth that… NOT.

Ω Exercise 3 times a week

†This is just something I need to do and have needed to do, well, my whole life!

Ω Establish a household routine for housework, shopping, cooking and errands

†Nearly everything is done last minute and haphazardly now.  I don’t like it.  Neither does my family.

Ω Make a plan for my knitting

†I’ve been such a scatterbrained knitter and I rarely feel I’m truly accomplishing anything, so I want a plan for that this year.

Ω Spend less money this year.

Self explanatory!

~5~

TheBoy’s birthday is coming up.  I can’t believe he’s almost 4!!!!

I think our baby days are over.  I’m a little sad, but mostly okay with that.  I’ll be 45 in a few months and I have a grandchild on the way.  TheQueenofHearts is going to graduate at about mid-year this year.  It just seems like it’s okay if that part of our lives has come to a close.  And still, it is okay if it hasn’t.

~6~

Today, as we celebrate the Solemnity of Mary, Mother of God, we will (of course!) attend Mass, but we will also be celebrating Moonbeam’s First Holy Communion! We are very excited to share in this day.

Note to self:  this spring, buy a bunch of First Holy Communion cards.  There are none to be found in Dec/Jan!

~7~

I have not forgotten my big milestone of passing 100,000 blog hits.  I’ve also not forgotten that I want to have a giveaway in celebration of it.  I just need a bit more time to put it all together…. Keep watching and thanks for being patient!

For more 7 Quick Takes, head over to Jen’s at Conversion Diary.

About becomewhatyouare

Catholic, Middle-Aged, Knitting-Addicted, Wife, Homeschooler, Mom of 6, Mom-in-Law to 1, Mother of 11 little saints, Grandma to 1, Godmother to 12, Foster Mom to 5, Army mom, Happily living in Texas!
This entry was posted in 7 Quick Takes. Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to 7 Quick Takes (Volume 63)

  1. Carla says:

    Happy New Year! May 2010 bring many blessings to you and your family!

  2. Tootie says:

    Good resolutions! Happy 2010!

  3. homegrownandhomespun says:

    Happy new year, Knitter!🙂 I’ve missed chatting with you…I hope to be able to give you a call soon!😀 {{{hugs}}} and many blessings, Tracey

  4. Theresa Messner says:

    Happy New Year Knitter and Family!

  5. KC says:

    That’s the word I need! ORDER! I’m snitching your word as I’ve been wracking my brain for the word of the year for me.

    Happy New Year, dear friend.

  6. snowbabies says:

    Happy New Year! Sounds like you had a great Christmas. Love the pottery! Can’t WAIT to see your rosary!!!
    Thank you for being there today with our family. It was nice having you in the next pew. MM just kept whispering in my ear, “Thats my Godfather, Thats my Godmother, Ms Sue…. all said with a slur..)”
    Its going to be a very good year. God has His beautiful Mercy to share with us all.
    love, em

    • That little M&M… oooo I just love her! She was so sweet to just let me love on her for a minute before we left, even though she was SO busy playing!🙂

      I can’t wait to see the rosary, too!

  7. Dawn says:

    Wow! Those are some serious resolutions girlfriend!

    Can’t wait to see what kind of rosary you get!

  8. teachinmom says:

    Love the resolutions!
    I haven’t thought clearly about mine, but I’m working hard on order as well. Starting with food (odd isn’t it?) Got a menu made for a MONTH!! Pantry cleaned out! Got a list of all that is next…

    Happy New Year!!!!!!!

    • I don’t think it is odd at all! We’re moms. We’ve got 6 kids (well, you have 7, but he won’t eat from the grocery store for a while!) food is the biggest (or maybe second biggest) expense we have, not having sufficient food in the house makes for crises when those critters are hungry, shopping requires T.I.M.E., cooking requires time…… No, I don’t think it is odd at all. It’s a major component of our vocation!

      Happy New Year to you, too! I can’t believe that little boy is so close to arriving (okay, a couple of months, but STILL!)

Leave a Reply

