What a (Great! and busy) Week!

It was quite a busy week, this last week of Advent. So many preparations for us to make. It was a good week, with many blessings, but still, very busy. It seems I’ve been away from my blog for a long, long time, having only auto posts for the O Antiphons scheduled over the past week.

We baked and decorated a lot of cookies. It was a lot of fun. KC and her kids came and joined us for cookie decorating. We loved it and I think they had fun, too. (Well, poor KC didn’t even get an offer of a cup of coffee from me. Sometimes half of my brain falls out. I found it shortly after they left, thankfully!)

TheBoy heard that these are my favorite cookie decorations and had at it!

It’s been neat watching the O Antiphon ornaments go up. This morning I will turn them around for the “hidden message” within them…. “Ero Cras”, “Tomorrow, I come.” I am not fully pleased with the ornaments we made, but they worked for this year. We may have a better idea for next year.

Chief and I also celebrated the anniversary of our convalidation this past Tuesday.  We went to dinner.  Chief bought me roses.

Last evening, we changed our Advent tree into our Christmas tree. TheBoy was so excited to place the star on top of the tree! Chief had to get an 8 ft ladder and bring him up there to do it. The poor little star is so small on top of that big tree. I did look for a new one, but didn’t find anything without a lot of foil and too-bright colors (not to mention they were about as small as the one we have.) I also looked for an angel tree topper, but they were all just goofy looking.

This week I got a nice gift from my mother-in-law. It was not a Christmas gift. It was a thank you gift for the photos I had sent to her local Walgreen’s. She, like me, loves and “collects” Polish Pottery. She found a very pretty au gratin dish and ordered it and had it sent to me. It is really pretty! I love it! Hmmm… I just sent more photos yesterday… 🙂

Speaking of photos, I think I ought to disclose that as together as I have had gifts this year, I failed with the annual photo books that I send to our parents. First, I waited to finish and upload them until after our trip to Tahoe and then when I did finish them, I had a hard time getting the books uploaded. They will likely arrive today or tomorrow, so they won’t be too late, but still… *sigh*

Speaking of discloser, I ought also to mention that I noticed yesterday that I have a few unwrapped gifts in my closet! Ack! (Actually, I think there are eight things!) Though the stocking items are properly sorted and ready to dump into stockings! Worst of all, though, is that I discovered that through total oversight, I missed buying two gifts for one of the kids!!!!!!!! ACK, ACK, ACK!!!! These are gifts from the grandparents that I purchase on their behalf (with their funds.) I am going out to WallyWorld very soon (it is 4 am as I write this) to find a couple of somethings. The most frustrating thing is that I missed the child who is hardest to buy for, of course.

Another thing I dropped the ball on was a nice Christmas outfit for TheBoy. I was concerned that I wouldn’t be able to find anything decent for him yesterday, as it was getting close to the end of the shopping season. Chief promised me that St Anthony would find something. I was still a bit skeptical as I don’t always feel as though St Anthony “listens” to me. Chief assured me that St Anthony has been faithful to him and that I would find something. He was right!

Chief also took the burden of a trip to HEB (our grocery store) off of my shoulders and went out and purchased the few stray items I still needed. As crowded and busy and even frustrating our trip to the local “mall” was, I know his portion of this was worse. The entire parking lot was full at HEB and it was crazy in there! Thank you, Chief, for sparing me that trip! He will also head out to the German bakery early this morning to pick up some yummy semmel to go with our traditional Christmas Eve meal of brown sugar, spiral sliced ham and potato soup. Mmmmm… mmmmmm… mmmmmm!!!!

I can’t help but be a bit sad this Christmas. While I knew that SgtSoldierSon would remain in California for Christmas (and be with his wife and new family), I had hoped, maybe even assumed, that SuperSoldier would make it back, even if it was only for a 4 day weekend, but he will not be here. And we found out too late for me to get him his package and stocking in the mail in time for Christmas. He will be spending Christmas in Washington on 24 hour duty.

This is hard enough on me, having both of our older sons gone, but it seems to sting a bit more since we learned that SuperSoldier received his deployment packet (before they even assigned him a room in the barracks!) and will be deploying next month. Ugh. Time to put the bracelet back on! (I have one of those jelly “advocacy” bracelets, an Army one, that I wore for the duration of SuperSoldier’s training and that I promised to put back on for a deployment.)

If there is any good news in this it is that his unit has already been “there” for about 6 or so months, so he will only be doing half of a tour. Even that is too long for me. Such is the life of a military family. I suppose there is one more benefit… nothing gets the family rosary and/or chaplet on track every evening like having a child or husband deployed!

I have made some decent progress on the sweater I recently started again, having lost the first in my travels and having to restart. I’m done with the body and nearly done with the neck (worked from bottom up) and then I’ll just have the sleeves left. The sweater is for TheBoy. No, it won’t be done in time to be a Christmas gift, but he’ll love it just the same.

SuperSoldier left me one of his more “worn” uniforms when he left out for Ft Lewis so that I could make for myself a bag. I’ll be working on that here pretty soon. I am not interested in paying someone else to do it (yes I am aware of “H.O.M.A” and while she does nice work, I want to do it myself.) I’ve not been able to find a free a pattern online, but I’ve seen some nice bags and have some ideas about what I would like in mine.

We will be going to the vigil Mass (the Children’s Mass) this evening and then beginning our family celebrations.

I pray that all of you have a peaceful, joyful, merry and blessed Christmas!

And in that region there were shepherds out in the field, keeping watch over their flock by night. And an angel of the Lord appeared to them, and the glory of the Lord shone around them, and they were filled with fear. And the angel said to them, “Be not afraid; for behold, I bring you good news of a great joy which will come to all the people; for to you is born this day in the city of David a Savior, who is Christ the Lord. And this will be a sign for you: you will find a babe wrapped in swaddling cloths and lying in a manger.” And suddenly there was with the angel a multitude of the heavenly host praising God and saying, “Glory to God in the highest, and on earth peace among men with whom he is pleased!” (Luke 2: 8-14)

About becomewhatyouare

Catholic, Middle-Aged, Knitting-Addicted, Wife, Homeschooler, Mom of 6, Mom-in-Law to 1, Mother of 11 little saints, Grandma to 1, Godmother to 12, Foster Mom to 5, Army mom, Happily living in Texas!
This entry was posted in Our Catholic Family Life. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to What a (Great! and busy) Week!

  1. KC says:

    We had a great time! Coffee wasn’t missed. I enjoyed our conversation and watching the kids have fun. Had to check control freak at the door though. 😉

    That polish pottery dish is gorgeous. One of these days I’m going to start my collection…

    See you at mass tonight.

  2. Dawn Farias says:

    Oh, you are busy. I love the pottery. Sorry about the missing family and the deployment.

  3. Therese says:

    Merry Christmas to you and your family.

    Looking forward to reading your blog in 2010 too.

  4. tmoe99us says:

    Stopping by to wish you and your wonderful family a very Merry Christmas! Thank you for being such a wonderful friend and for all you do!

  5. Lisa Sweet says:

    Merry Christmas to you and your lovely family!
    I, too, found many “balls” that I had dropped, even though I thought I was on top of things….wrapped Christmas gifts at midnight on Christmas Eve..*sigh*…
    Praying for you and your soldier.
    God bless.

  6. snowbabies says:

    Merry Christmas sweet friend. I love you dearly. Please be assured of our prayers for the duration of the deployment, for his safety and your peace.
    This was our first Christmas in years where it was just “us”
    PS, I know you loved getting your roses, so I have to thank you for posting them in their beauty and a Saint who may have whispered in your ear to post them for me to see perhaps?
    Love you!

    • I so love to be a tool!!! Especially in the hands of such a dear heavenly friend.

      Thank you for your prayers. I was counting on them from the beginning! 🙂

      much love to you, too.

Leave a Reply

