7 Quick Takes (Vol 59)

7_quick_takes

~1~

We got some good news last night.  At least it is good news to me!  SuperSoldier thinks so, too, but he hasn’t had to do the job yet….

Even though it is a voluntary program that SuperSoldier did not volunteer for, somehow he has been “voluntold” to participate in the “Hometown Recruiter” program.  This program takes new soldiers upon the completion of their training and sends them home for 2 weeks to work at their local recruiting station.  They are able to speak to potential recruits about their very recent experiences and encourage them to really consider serving in the Army.

How it will work, in its specifics, I am not sure, but generally, the soldiers in the  program go home and spend the first 2 weeks working alongside some recruiters.  I’ve consistently heard over the years that the “hours” are good and the expectations are not high.  After they serve their time in the station, they get to take their 10 days of leave that they are authorized after AIT.  That means that SuperSoldier will be at home for about 3 weeks!  The first two with some time spent working, the last week just on leave.  The last of his 10 days of leave will be spent out at Lake Tahoe.  He is to report to his new unit right after the wedding(party).  It seems that it will work out really well.  Even if SuperSoldier has to spend those days from 9 – 5 working, he’ll still be home in the evenings and on weekends.  Of course, he couldn’t have done this at a better time, either, with the 4-day weekend coming up for Thanksgiving!  That will reduce his “recruiting” time to 10 days… minus at least one more weekend!  YIPPEE!  I hope he doesn’t hate the work.

~2~

It is raining!  A lot.  I’m not thrilled about this since I planned to go to the commissary today.  I really don’t want to go in the rain.  I guess one benefit to doing so would be that maybe there will be lots of other people who don’t want to go in the rain and the crowds will be less.  I had also hoped to stop at a couple of other stores to pick up some of the things that I still need for Christmas (things I need to get locally.)

~3~

As I mentioned yesterday, I was able to get all of the Christmas presents we have here in the house wrapped up.  I am so excited to really be able to focus on other things this Advent and not have that looming over my head!

~4~

TheBoy is wearing me down with his night waking.  *sigh*  He is almost 4 years old!

~5~

I saw the cutest little toad this morning when I let the cat in.  This thing was as small as a dime!  I tried to take a picture of it, but since it was dark, I don’t think it turned out very well.  I wish it did.  It was soooooo cute!  Now that it is light outside there isn’t a toad to be found.

~6~

I am getting close to finishing the gansey.  I spent 2 days trying to figure out how to adapt the pattern.  One of the charts provided for the pattern simply would not work.  It really wouldn’t.  I showed KC when she came over for knitting and she saw it right away too.  I checked online for an errata, but found none.  I am so surprised.  I also spent time looking for an alternate stitch pattern for another part.  I didn’t particularly care for what they had (though it would work!) and it took me quite a bit of time to figure out what would do as a replacement.  I thought to combine various patterns and spent hours trying to figure out placement and so on.  Finally I stumbled upon the “oxox cable” and decided that would be perfect!!!  I only wish I’d thought to use larger needles on that section. Cables pull in.  I hope I can block it out right.  I intend to put the same cable down the outside of each sleeve (using bigger needles, thank you.)  At any rate, you can see that I did NOT meet my goal of finishing by last Sunday!  Oh well.

~7~

TOMORROW! TOMORROW! TOMORROW!

SuperSoldier flies in TOMORROW!!!!!!!!!!!!

W00T!

Head over to Jen’s for more Quick Takes.

About becomewhatyouare

Catholic, Middle-Aged, Knitting-Addicted, Wife, Homeschooler, Mom of 6, Mom-in-Law to 1, Mother of 11 little saints, Grandma to 1, Godmother to 12, Foster Mom to 5, Army mom, Happily living in Texas!
This entry was posted in 7 Quick Takes. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to 7 Quick Takes (Vol 59)

  1. KC says:

    Ben says the work is not difficult. It is a 9 to 5 pretty much. All he has to do is talk to people.

    I’m so glad you are able to spend more time with him even if it’s not all day for 3 weeks.

    List! I need to start my list!

    • Yeah… I’ve heard that they also use the carrot and stick method… if you help find X people today you can leave early. The station here in town probably doesn’t want to be bothered with that stuff, too (they don’t want to be bothered with anything!) They ALWAYS make quota

  2. Carla says:

    Yay! I’m so glad SuperSoldier gets to come home for a few weeks!

Leave a Reply

