Good News/Bad News

First the bad news.

My friend, Cathy, lost her mother last night. Her mom had been suffering for a very, very long time. She passed away last night at around 6:30 p.m. Thankfully, Cathy and her husband and two of her kids made it to the hospital in time to see her before she left this world. Cathy was holding her hand and telling her she loved her when she died. Please pray for the repose of the soul of Mrs. M and for the comfort of her family. She leaves 6 children and gobs of grandchildren behind. Cathy’s dad passed away several years ago. I can’t imagine the pain of not having either your parents here.

And now the good news.

I think I just may completely meet my goal of having all of the Christmas shopping done for the kids before Thanksgiving! I am a bit surprised by and supremely happy about this! I even got a birthday present for TheBoy yesterday. Yes, just one, but still, I’ve got one. (His birthday is about 3 weeks after Christmas.)

Today I have to take the DVD of Go, Dog. Go! Over to the theater for them to burn copies for the families of the actors and while I’m out, I’ll be stopping by a few places over in that area of town to, hopefully, finish up! (I’ll also hit the Dollar Tree for tape strips. They’re, well, only $1 for the 3 pack, so I stock up for a year right before Christmas. Oddly, we have a new[ish] Dollar Tree here, but they don’t carry those strips.) I have just a few things to get plus some stocking stuffers (and, of course stocking candy. I suppose while I’m out, it might be wise to stop by Dillard’s or somewhere and find something for myself to wear to all the “big events” over the next month or so. Oh, how I hate shopping.)

I will begin the wrapping today, too. There are some things that I have ordered from Amazon that I will have to wait for, but the things that are here are going to be wrapped up and ready to go!

Today I also need to get the turkey out of the freezer. I can’t believe it’s time for that already. I need to make a shopping list for the commissary as well. There are some things that I can only get there, so I’m going to have to head out to Fort Hood either tomorrow or Saturday. Joy.

Once I get all of the shopping done (well, for the kids, anyway. Chief is another matter altogether!) I am going to sit down and plan my baking, activities, and crafts for this Advent. I’d like to have an idea of what I want to do so that I can have everything on hand that I need and also to make sure I’m not flying by the seat of my pants and getting nothing done in the end.

I can hardly wait for Saturday to get here. SuperSoldier is FINALLY coming home! His graduation day from AIT is today. I really wish I could be there, but it was not practical with everything else that is going on around here this year. While I wish I was there, I am very excited that he’ll be home Saturday. The next couple of days (almost 3, actually, as his plane lands in the late afternoon/evening) are going to dddrrraaaaaagggg by! I need to pull out the sheets for his bed and make sure I have enough pillows for everyone. Oh, and I need to get beer. Lots of beer.

Finally, I am supremely happy to report that I have lost another pound, bringing the total to 26 lbs lost since 24 September!

About becomewhatyouare

Catholic, Middle-Aged, Knitting-Addicted, Wife, Homeschooler, Mom of 6, Mom-in-Law to 1, Mother of 11 little saints, Grandma to 1, Godmother to 12, Foster Mom to 5, Army mom, Happily living in Texas!
This entry was posted in Our Catholic Family Life. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Good News/Bad News

  1. KC says:

    You’re done? How can anyone be done already? I don’t even have a list!

    Praying for Cathy’s mom’s soul, Cathy and her family.

    We can’t wait to see SuperSoldier at church on Sunday (tell him he’d better come with you to the 9am Mass!).

    • Ah, yes, well, that’s the key! I have lists! I had the kids make their lists in September. They’ve been tweaked a few times, but at least I had something to start with! Of course, TheBoy is the easiest… he loves and wants everything. I did said I *think* (am pretty certain) I will be done before Thanksgiving. I do have a few things to pick up.

      SuperSoldier will be at Mass at 9 on Sunday. Don’t you worry about that!🙂

  2. Lisa Sweet says:

    Wow! Great for you! Christmas shopping done??!! I’ve thought about it, but that’s all. Serious congrats on the weight lost! Spectacular! What are you doing? I’d love to know.

  3. Kathleen says:

    Thank you for reminding me about the Turkey! 🙂

    Good for you on the present (almost) completion. I have a few hats to finish, but otherwise, we are low key and mostly done here too!🙂

  4. Dawn says:

    I laughed out loud at the beer part. Congrats on your pound!!

Leave a Reply

