Say Something Nice

Ordination Fr A

Therese at Aussie Coffee Shop tagged me for a “Say Something Nice” Meme.  This meme celebrates the Year of the Priest and the priests that have touched our lives particularly.  Therese tagged me while I was away from the computer for a while.  Once I saw the tag, I had the hardest time figuring out what to write!  I have been very blessed to have so many good priests come into my life, so figuring out who and what to write about has been difficult.  Finally, I decided that since I will be tagging local friends, I would leave our beloved parish priest, Father R., for them and write about Father Alberto.  I am sure I won’t do him or this meme justice, but here goes…

fr_alberto_borruelI have known Father Alberto Borruel for many years.  I was trying to figure out just how many and I think it must be, ummm, 8 years?  I met Father when he was a seminarian doing his pastoral year at a local parish (not mine.)  This parish had (has?) a youth group that our older boys were involved in (there isn’t anything like that at our parish) and that is where I met the dear Padre.

He was given many duties at the parish during that pastoral year.  One of them was to work with and guide the Youth Group.  He is well suited to working with teens.  He is just REAL ~ and for that, the kids love him.  And this is what I love about him, too.  He is real and reachable and he is a good priest.  When he laughs, he laughs heartily.  When he is concerned, he is truly and deeply concerned.  He is always ready with wit and with good, solid Catholic answers for the concerns of those whom he meets and counsels.

Father is always joyful.  Always.  Even when he is not happy, he is joyful.  This past summer, Father’s dad passed away.  He got word while he was in Rome.  Unfortunately, I did not find out his dad passed away for a couple of weeks or so afterward.  When I did speak with Father, I found him saddened by his loss, but peaceful in the midst of that sorrow.  At times, I’ve known him to have various struggles, but again, he is at peace in the middle of it.  When I am upset and I think the sky is falling, Father is always available with a calm word and good perspective for me.  He has also been a steady, faithful friend to my oldest sons since their teen years.

Currently, Father is associate pastor at a large parish in Round Rock, Texas.  In addition to those duties, Father was recently asked to serve as Moderator for Pro-Life activities in our diocese ~ a job he wasn’t sure he was ready for.  After seeking counsel, he accepted (then) Bishop Aymond’s invitation.  He has taken this job seriously, recently returning from a workshop on the Theology of the Body.  I know he will do a great job in this position.

Father is a good, good man, a good priest and a dear, dear friend.  When I met him, I liked him immediately.  As I got to know him, I developed a great fraternal love for him.  Through all of these years, I loved him for the man he is.  The fact that he’s now a great priest makes me love him more.  I thank God for Father Alberto and all of the wonderful priests I have been blessed to know and love throughout my life.

God bless you and your ministry, Father Alberto!  I hope to see you soon.

I tag: KC, Emily, Jessica, Karen, and Charlotte.

About becomewhatyouare

Catholic, Middle-Aged, Knitting-Addicted, Wife, Homeschooler, Mom of 6, Mom-in-Law to 1, Mother of 11 little saints, Grandma to 1, Godmother to 12, Foster Mom to 5, Army mom, Happily living in Texas!
This entry was posted in Our Catholic Family Life. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Say Something Nice

  1. Therese says:

    great tribute to Fr. Alberto. I really love this meme and finding out about all the holy priests out there.

Leave a Reply

