7 Quick Takes (vol 57)

7_quick_takes

~1~

There is little else on my mind than the tragedy that took place here at Fort Hood yesterday.  I have been crying on and off all day.  I don’t know how anything can ever be normal again.

I am afraid to look for victims’ names.  What if there is someone I know on that  list?

I am incredibly proud of the brave soldiers who did what needed to be done.  I’m hearing of stories of soldiers who were walking their graduation who left the ceremony, in their caps and gowns to run toward the shots and render aid.  I hear of young soldiers who were safe outside of the building running in to assist the wounded. I hear of those who gave assistance to fallen comrades only to find out later that they themselves have been shot.    I find that today I am crying as much with pride as I am with sorrow for the tragedy.  I am so incredibly proud to still be a part of this military family and all of its heros.

~2~

Today was a total wash in school.  Heck, the whole week has been a wash, really, with all of the performances and so on.  Today I just couldn’t muster the energy to start.  The kids are kind of shell-shocked, too.     And that’s okay.  As homeschoolers, we can make up for lost time whenever we see fit.  I am so grateful for that.

~3~

Last night I purchased tickets for SgtSoldierSon and Mrs.SoldierSon to come here for Thanksgiving weekend.  I am excited beyond belief!!!

~4~

It has been a hard week in another way.  I have not talked to SuperSoldier since last Thursday evening.  I have not gone this long without talking to him since he was in basic training.  I miss him so very much.  I miss talking to him, laughing with him, sharing our lives, commiserating with him.  He graduates in just under 2 weeks and should be coming home right after graduation (or shortly after.)  I need to see him!!  These two weeks (+/-) will drag by, I’m sure!

~5~

I want to share with you something that Chief did for me this week.  It was incredibly kind and loving.  I am still so touched by it.  On Wednesday morning when I had to take the girls to the theater for their daytime performances for the kids in the local school district, (and took a trip to Chuck E Cheeses) he was on his way home from a chiropractor appointment.  We passed by each other.  After we finally finished up at the Rat’s place, I warned TheBoy that he would have to entertain himself because I had a lot of housework to do.

You see, the house had pretty much gotten trashed that morning.  I was not looking forward to what was waiting for me.   Dirty dishes, toys and junk strewn from room to room, bathrooms to be cleaned, laundry to be washed… general “destruction.”  When I walked in the door, I found that our place was picked up, swept, dishes done and everything was tidy!  Chief, though he really needed to get into work, though it would mean a longer day at the office, took the time to blow through the house and handle nearly all of the things that needed to be done.  It was an incredible transformation.  The dishwasher had even finished running and was ready for me to unload by the time I got home.  All I had to do was clean a bathroom and do some laundry.  I cannot express how grateful I am for that kindness.  It completely made my day… made my week.   Thank you, Chief.  Thank you for that.  I truly appreciate all that you did that day and all that you do everyday for us. ❤

~6~

TheBoy who is rounding the corner on 4 has been quite a handful lately.  It seems that I had somehow forgotten that 4 year olds are about as bad as 2 year olds… only we don’t usually expect to see that from a 4 year old (even if we have gone through it 5 times before.)  I finally laid down the law this morning… and it seems to be wroking.  I have headed off several fits by reminding him of the warning he received:  If there are ANY fits, YOU ARE IN TROUBLE!  With that simple reminder, he pulled himself together and today has been fit free.  Thankfully he took me and the warning (which was quite vague, don’t you think?!) seriously.  I hope it continues to be this easy!

~7~

CSA commitment weekend is upon us.  Chief and I were not sure what to do.  We have already committed our tithes.  We often give alms (over and above our tithes) already.  Here was one more thing.  We are not being greedy or stingy.  We are feeling stretched!!!  We didn’t know what to do.  Finally, we decided to give a one time gift that “feels” small to me.  I know it is not.  I know that we are faithful to give the Lord all he is due and more.  Why do I feel guilty then?

 

Head over to Jen’s for more Quick Takes.

About becomewhatyouare

Catholic, Middle-Aged, Knitting-Addicted, Wife, Homeschooler, Mom of 6, Mom-in-Law to 1, Mother of 11 little saints, Grandma to 1, Godmother to 12, Foster Mom to 5, Army mom, Happily living in Texas!
This entry was posted in Our Catholic Family Life. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to 7 Quick Takes (vol 57)

  1. Hope that things will return to normal soon.

  2. Therese says:

    oh I know what a wonderful feeling it is to walk into a house that you expect to look like a bomb has gone off and find it spotless. I remember one birthday that Steve took me out for breakfast and the children all cleaned up while we were gone. I was so surprised. I was expecting to walk into dirty breakfast dishes and toys all over the place. It really was the best birthday present I have ever got.

  3. twortd says:

    That is one of the things that separates men, some will hear shots and run towards them, instead of away.

    Hope your week goes well.

  4. Therese says:

    How exciting! A clean house!

    I am continuing to pray for the victims and their families.

  5. Emily says:

    I was horrified to hear of the tragedy at Fort Hood last week, and I, too, am so touched by the stories of bravery that have followed the initial shock and terror of that day. Sending prayers for comfort and healing your way…

Leave a Reply

