Unbelievable… except it is believable.

It is unbelievable to me that our president behaves this way ~ except it’s not.  Not really.

Robert A George wrote a good article about the president’s lack of tact  and questionable leadership, though I think describing him as “wildly disconnected” is a bit of an understatement.   George writes,

President Obama didn’t wait long after Tuesday’s devastating elections to give critics another reason to question his leadership, but this time the subject matter was more grim than a pair of governorships.

After news broke out of the shooting at the Fort Hood Army post in Texas, the nation watched in horror as the toll of dead and injured climbed. The White House was notified immediately and by late afternoon, word went out that the president would speak about the incident prior to a previously scheduled appearance. At about 5 p.m., cable stations went to the president. The situation called for not only his trademark eloquence, but also grace and perspective.

But instead of a somber chief executive offering reassuring words and expressions of sympathy and compassion, viewers saw a wildly disconnected and inappropriately light president making introductory remarks.”  [read the rest here]

About becomewhatyouare

Catholic, Middle-Aged, Knitting-Addicted, Wife, Homeschooler, Mom of 6, Mom-in-Law to 1, Mother of 11 little saints, Grandma to 1, Godmother to 12, Foster Mom to 5, Army mom, Happily living in Texas!
This entry was posted in Our Catholic Family Life. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Unbelievable… except it is believable.

  1. SAHMinIL says:

    My sister is station @ Ft. Hood. Personally I was disgusted with the pres. remarks. I felt that the Ft. Hood should have been mention FIRST, not the shout-outs to the people, etc.

    • I guess you’ve heard from your sister by now… I hope so.

      What a terrible time.

      • SAHMinIL says:

        Yes, I was able to talk to my sister last night. I learned early in the afternoon that she was okay, via text. Although, it still didn’t keep me from worrying about her…It wasn’t just her, she’s got a son there too.

        Still I think the first thing out of Obama’s mouth should have been about Ft. Hood and not the shout out to the people there. (In my opinion of course).

        • I’m really glad they weren’t hurt and that you got news quickly.

          • SAHMinIL says:

            Yes she is one of the lucky ones. My sister told me she was just a block away from the shooting, and from the reports I’m hearing tonight she could have easily been one of the victims, seeing he did move the rampage outside and wasn’t shot down until he got outside.

            My prayers are with EVERYONE at Ft. Hood, I know they feel like a family down there, so this is hurting all of them, even if they weren’t one of the direct victims.

  2. KC says:

    But, of course, all you see are the short clips of him saying somber appropriate things.

    • He’s the king of “out of context”. I sure wish that I could edit my words like that, you know, when I’m fussing at Chief and being unreasonable. I could look so smooth and loving all of the time!

  3. Shawntele says:

    Why am I not surprised?

  4. regan says:

    i was really confused by his opening comments…and shout outs…you all have been thru such a terrible time…so sorry to hear about it. my prayers are with all the families who have been affected by this. God bless.

Leave a Reply

