Forest or Trees?

Did you ever feel like you couldn’t see the forest for the trees?  There are just so many darn trees, it can get overwhelming, eh?

 

That was our weekend.

 

Chief and I saw so many trees, we didn’t see the forest.

 

Or the obvious answer to our dilemma!

 

Even if we “heard” it, we didn’t HEAR it until yesterday.  We are so inclined to view marriage/weddings as a family affair (and that IS right thinking) that it took a while for us to see that there is another option.

 

We can go without the children.  The price for 2 people to go for 3 days/2 nights (still a short, whirlwind trip) is within our budget.  A trip for 6 was not.

 

We have made arrangements for the children to stay with our dearest friends and TheBoy’s godparents.  Cathy even forwarded me an email from Southwest Airlines that saved us another $128! 🙂

 

The girls, while disappointed that they will not go (as we all were when we thought there was no way) are more than agreeable to us going.  They know how important it is for us to be there with them.

 

I asked Chief for this gift for Christmas (just a couple of weeks early!)  He, of course, didn’t want it to be my gift, but really, it IS what I want.  Even more than yarn and needles!!!! LOL 😀

 

I thank God, Chief and our friends for making this possible after all.

 

About becomewhatyouare

Catholic, Middle-Aged, Knitting-Addicted, Wife, Homeschooler, Mom of 6, Mom-in-Law to 1, Mother of 11 little saints, Grandma to 1, Godmother to 12, Foster Mom to 5, Army mom, Happily living in Texas!
This entry was posted in My Kids!. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Forest or Trees?

  1. Kathleen says:

    I am so glad you were able to work it through found a way to attend. I kept thinking how disappointed you would be – even further down the road.

  2. K says:

    I am overjoyed that you will get to attend, and that you got to see the forest!

  3. Cathy says:

    Well, I’m certainly glad you listened to me! It broke my heart to think you guys were going to miss it. I know the boy will have a good time too. We love you guys!

  4. Carla says:

    I’m so glad that you are able to go! It will be nice for you and Chief to have this time together, too! I’m so happy for you! I have tears. (I’m emotional today, but I guess I’ll blame it on my own happy reunion!)

  5. snowbabies says:

    Oh my goodness, I am teary reading this!! I knew inside it was killing you to not be able to be there to be with them.. oh what a relief!! If Cathy needs anything while you are gone, PLEASE tell her to call!

  6. KC says:

    We are available too if Cathy needs anything. What a blessing!

  7. Therese says:

    oh that is wonderful that you can go. Enjoy yourselves. I would love to have a holiday away with just Steve.

Leave a Reply

