Heartbroken

Chief and I have had a lot on our minds.  We have been carrying a pretty heavy burden and we tried and tried to work things out differently.  Reality bit us in the butt and we had to admit that things must go differently than we intended.

To be short and to the point (unusual around here, I know):  We will not be attending our son’s wedding ceremony in Lake Tahoe in December.

The truth of the matter is, we just did not have the time we needed to plan and set aside extra funds for a trip and event like this on such short notice.

SoldierSon is unable to change this plan.  I am unsure about why that is, but it is.  I wish they had considered the difficulties that such a short-notice marriage celebration would present us before they made the decision regarding that day, but they have their reasons. We did not expect them to change their plans at this point.  We only wish they could or that we had more notice. (NOTE TO MY OTHER CHILDREN:  Give us 6 – 12 months advance notice, please!)

We are heartbroken about this. This was a very difficult realization we had to face.  We tried to believe that it would all work out, but it won’t.  Sadly, we know that it will also be a struggle for SuperSoldier to be there for his brother, both financially and with the potential for deployment on a “Quick Start” program.

Really, since it is so far and such short notice, it is just a tough time for our family all around.  Thankfully, it is pretty close to my daughter-in-law’s family, so at least they should be able to be there.

We know how important the celebration they are planning in Tahoe is to them.  We wanted to be there and be a part of their joy.  Instead, we will hope that they still plan to have their convalidation here, in our town with our friend, Father A, representing the Church, with all of SoldierSon’s (and our) local friends being there in celebration.

I know that our deep disappointment is just part of being human, it’s part of our being his parents.  It is painful, though.  There is no way around that.  I also know that peace will come as we let go of our will and our desire.  I am offering up this sorrow and heartache for Mr. & Mrs. SoldierSon and their growing baby, that they have every grace they need to have a healthy, happy and holy marriage and family life.

About becomewhatyouare

Catholic, Middle-Aged, Knitting-Addicted, Wife, Homeschooler, Mom of 6, Mom-in-Law to 1, Mother of 11 little saints, Grandma to 1, Godmother to 12, Foster Mom to 5, Army mom, Happily living in Texas!
This entry was posted in Our Catholic Family Life. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Heartbroken

  1. Therese says:

    I am so sorry! I cannot imagine how incredibly difficult this is for you! Praying for peace in your heart!

  2. Carla says:

    I’m so sorry! I know that must be so disappointing.

  3. Dawn says:

    Oh, I’m sorry!

  4. Elaine says:

    I’m sorry too. Praying for you, Chief and family about this. ((hug))

  5. KC says:

    I’m so sorry. I know how much you want to be there.

  6. Therese says:

    I am truly sorry to read this news BWYA. I will be praying for your son and his new wife and their child.

  7. Shawntele says:

    Oh sweetie, I feel so heartbroken for you, but God has a reason and a plan for everything. I don’t know if that thought comforts you, but trust in Him is all we have. 🙂

  8. snowbabies says:

    I know that you really wanted to be there. I am glad you and your DH talked it through though to see what is best at this time. You have a lot going on. I am still hoping they will get to come here around Thanksgiving !!\
    God knows best, hugs

Leave a Reply

