Reflecting

Today we celebrate the feast of St. Luke! St Luke, pray for us!

Here is a free coloring page from Waltzing Matilda (Charlotte) for today:  St. Luke Charlotte’s coloring pages are stored on scribd.  You must become a member to access these pages (membership is free and it only takes a minute to sign up.)

reflections

Thanks to Darcee at Simply Catholic for this format!

Reflections -18 October 2009.

Plans for this week – Keep working on getting through the disorder and clutter in the house ~ particularly closets (I hope!), rehearsals for Go, Dog Go start this week, rehearsal for Midsummer Night’s Dream,

.
I am wearing – jeans and a t-shirt

I am feeling – pretty good, other than some joint aches and allergy stuff.  I am still losing weight ~  a total of 17lbs in just over 3 weeks!

I am hearing – Mostly quiet, but the fish tank is getting noisy.

I am thankful for – my husband, my kids, my grandchild, my friends

I am wondering – how much the trash guys are going to hate me after I clean out the closets this week, but also thinking about how much goodwill will love me!

I am contemplating – a “dream” I had last night with Jesus calling to me and reaching out to me.


In prayer – My whole family, everyone who has entrusted their needs to me for prayer.

The Family

Chief: Is mostly recovered from being gone for a week.

SoldierBoy: What can I say?  He’s a newlywed and I’m sure he is supremely happy right now.

Mrs.SoldierBoy: Also a newlywed!  I hope to talk to her and her husband today.

SuperSoldier: Has 9 days of class left (the academic portion) and then a long-ish ftx and then he’s done with AIT!  I will definitely see him in about a month!  He needs to go to the doc to get his profile lifted. He does not have orders right now because he is a medical flag for deployment.  Once he gets his profile lifted, he should get orders.  The GREAT news is that the vast majority of kids graduating in his class are going to Bragg and HERE!  Praying he comes here.  Won’t you join me?!

The Queen of Hearts: Still working hard in school.  Missed a field trip in order to keep up with her work.  Had a little birthday get-together with friends yesterday at a local restaurant.

The Mad Hatter:  Sailing along in school (is finishing one book 2 weeks ahead of schedule!  she’ll probably finish history early this year.)  Seems to enjoy working tech on Go, Dog, Go!

MissCreativity: Seems to like having more hands-on experiments and crafts in her schooling this year.  I knew she would.

TheBoy: is just a sweetie!  He is so full of love and joy and imagination!

The Homefires:

Kitchen – Hmmmm. What to cook today? I don’t know.

In our my craft room: Working on a baptismal garment for my grandchild.  Sometimes, lace patterns can be quite complex.  In order to try to help keep me straight, I recorded my self reading each stitch in each row.  I created an album with 18 tracks that I will use in addition to the chart.  I hope it is as helpful as I suspect it will be.  If this works out, I’ll make “audio patterns” for everything I do that might be a bit complex!

In our school:  A couple of weeks ago I said that this has been the most productive and peaceful school year ever ~ I hold to that assessment.  I’m so pleased with how things are going this year!

Lucky Room(s) of the week: Well, as I mentioned above, not a room, but the closets… particularly MINE and *sigh* the one under the stairs again ~ the craft closet.  *sigh*

My iPod

Hobbit Audiobook CoverRosary of Healing Coverstillwaters rosaryusccb audio catechism


button 3

And, of course, my pattern recording!



……

……

……

……

My Reading

Still hoping to finish The End of the Present World and the Mysteries of the Future Life and The Fulfillment of All Desire.  I am reading The End first.


Fulfillment of All Desire Cover

The Fulfillment of All Desire

Drawing upon the teaching of seven Spiritual Doctors of the Church, Ralph Martin presents an in-depth study of the journey to God. This book provides encouragement and direction for the pilgrim who desires to know, love, and serve our Lord.

The End Cover

The End of the Present World and the Mysteries of the Future Life

Let the pages of The End of the Present World and the Mysteries of the Future Life fill you with the same burning words of love, with the same ardent desire to know God above all created things, that St. Thérèse gained from them. Let them also enrich your understanding of certain teachings of the Faith that can often seem so mysterious, even frightening:

+The signs that will precede the world’s end

+The coming of the Antichrist, and how to recognize him

+The Judgment and where it may send us: heaven, hell, and purgatory

+Biblical end-times prophecy: how to read it and not be deceived

Jesus commands us to be ever-watchful for his return, and ever-mindful that we have no lasting city on earth. The End of the Present World and the Mysteries of the Future Life is an invaluable aid to inculcating in your spirit that heavenly orientation, without which true human happiness cannot be found—in this world or the next.

Liturgical/Spiritual Goals/Resolutions –

  • Be more faithful to the daily rosary and daily chaplet of Divine Mercy
  • Imitate the virtues of Christ as he underwent his Passion and Death

My meditation for the Week

This came in my dgo email today.  It fits so perfectly with my goals this week. This meditation is by St. Thomas Aquinas:

Saint Thomas Aquinas (1225-1274), Dominican theologian, Doctor of the Church

On the Apostles’ Creed (Collationes In Symbolum apostolorum, art. 4 § 64.70.72-76; (trans. Joseph Collins)

“Whoever wishes to be great among you will be your servant”

What need was there that the Son of God should suffer for us? There was great need: and indeed it can be assigned to two reasons. The first is that it was a remedy against sin, and the second is for an example of what we should do… For the Passion of Christ can bring about a complete reformation of our lives… If you seek an example of charity, then “no one has greater love than this, to lay down one’s life for one’s friends” (Jn 15,13)… If you seek an example of patience, you will find it in its highest degree on the cross… Christ suffered greatly upon the cross and with all patience, because “when he was insulted, he returned no insult” (1Pt 2,23), “like a lamb led to the slaughter, he opened not his mouth” (Is 53,7)… “Let us persevere in running the race that lies before us while keeping our eyes fixed on Jesus, the leader and perfecter of faith. For the sake of the joy that lay before him he endured the cross, despising its shame” (Heb 12,1-2).

If you seek an example of humility, look upon him who is crucified; although he was God, he chose to be judged by Pontius Pilate and put to death… If you seek an example of obedience, imitate him who was obedient to the Father “even to death” (Phil 2,8). “For just as through the disobedience of one person, Adam, the many were made sinners, so through the obedience of one the many will be made righteous” (Rom 5,19)… If you seek an example of contempt for earthly things, imitate him who is “King of kings and Lord of lords” (1Tm 6,15), “in whom are hidden all the treasures of wisdom and knowledge” (Col 2,3). On the cross he was stripped naked, ridiculed, spat upon, bruised, crowned with thorns, given to drink of vinegar and gall.

Here is a picture (okay, 2.  These were taken at the farm) :

DSC_5816

BusyBee

God bless you!!!!

About becomewhatyouare

Catholic, Middle-Aged, Knitting-Addicted, Wife, Homeschooler, Mom of 6, Mom-in-Law to 1, Mother of 11 little saints, Grandma to 1, Godmother to 12, Foster Mom to 5, Army mom, Happily living in Texas!
This entry was posted in Our Catholic Family Life. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Reflecting

  1. pattonhouse6 says:

    So…you have lost quite a bit of weight in the last several weeks. Share the secret?

    • I eat very, very, very few carbs. My carbs come from things like broccoli, cauliflower, etc. I don’t eat any grains at all (no bread, pancakes, pasta, rice) I don’t eat potatoes or beans (I miss my Chernobyl Beans!) No chips, no ice cream, no popcorn, no cookies, no chocolate (see below) no sugar in my coffee. I eat plenty of protein (80 – 100gr/day) in meats, eggs, cheese, fibrous veggies and and lots of salads! My fruits are mainly berries and not too many of those. Sometimes, when I’m in a hurry or don’t want to cook, I do a (chocolate!) protein shake with no more than 5 carbs in it, total. It is my goal to get back on my treadmill when all of my joints cooperate!

      Voila. My secret. Well, I guess it’s not a secret, huh?

  2. teachinmom says:

    SO much better than my dream last night of a walking, talking, narcissistic elephant chasing me from camp grounds and circus sign ups because she thought I was trying to upstage her. I was just camping with the fam. So much more ridiculous detail than what I should put here!

    I like your dream better.
    Peace!

  3. ammiejo says:

    I love your dream! And what a blessing a school year like that is! Thinking of you! And praying that SuperSoldier gets orders to be at home!

    prayers,
    AmmieJo

Leave a Reply

