7 Quick Takes (vol. 54)

7_quick_takes

~1~

Today we’re going to a farm to get pumpkins, go through mazes and just have a nice time.  The weather should be mild, though it will likely be quite muddy since we’ve had so much rain in the area for so long.  The farm is roughly 1 ½ hours away from home, so it will be long-ish day.  It should be loads of fun, though!  The Queen of Hearts will be staying home to work on her school work, unfortunately.  We will each get a pie-size pumpkin and I am sure that we will purchase a larger one while we are there.  I hope to get lots of photos and video!  We’ll be skipping out on the visit to the diner for pie, but still it should be fun!

~2~

The weight loss is still creeping along.  14+ lbs is my total now.  Yay!  Now if I could just get my act together and get on that treadmill (in spite of the swollen and painful joints in my feet, my knees, my hips….) and I really need to start doing some “resistance training.”

~3~

I hate my house.  I really do.  We’ve “decided” (a long time ago) that it is our goal to go out and find a small acreage and custom build a home, but we’re just not doing it.   We’re dragging our feet.  It’s a big step and a big investment.  I found 60 acres for sale (NOT small, but property is getting harder and harder to find) but I haven’t even googled about it, let alone anything else.  I know I get overwhelmed thinking about all of the things that we have put off taking care of in THIS house that we would need to fix before we could sell (or we’d have to lower our price significantly to sell as-is) or rent.  *sigh*  Then there are all of the other pulls on our budget and weighing the prudence of making any major move in this economy.  I really hate this house.  Nice neighborhood.  We are close to owning it outright.  The yard is nice for a “typical” neighborhood.  But I hate it.  And I hate that I hate it.  I am so ungrateful.

~4~

I had a dropped stitch fiasco on the edging of the baptismal garment.  With all of the yo’s and k2tog’s, it is not a good thing.  I am having a terrible time tinking back to a place where I can start again.  Then, of course, I wonder what stinking row I’m actually on at this point.  *sigh*  I will cry… actually cry… if I have to restart.  But, if I do, I do.  Not much else to say.  Teach me to try to talk and knit at the same item!

~5~

I got my semi-annual mammogram nag in the mail yesterday.  I am 44 ½ and I have never had one.  Of course, up until 18 months ago, I was never not pregnant or nursing for more than a few months, so I couldn’t.  I think I might go ahead and make the appointment.  Maybe.  It would be so much easier if I was pregnant and had another excuse.😀

~6~

We had “Ditch and Stitch” last night.  I am so glad.  It was nice to relax and spend time with friends.  My house was tidier than it had been for quite a while and, of course, it still is this morning.  It is a good feeling to wake up and only having the piles on my desk to look at rather than seeing piles everywhere!  Now to do a better job of maintaining it!

~7~

Rehearsals are done for the week.  Whew!  I love that my girls love theater and do so much, but the constant driving back and forth wears me out.  I am always so grateful for Fridays and the weekends .

Head on over to Jen’s for more Quick Takes!



Oh, Mary, conceived without sin,

pray for us who have recourse to thee!

Eternal Father, For the sake of His sorrowful passion,

have mercy on us and on the whole world.


pregnancy

About becomewhatyouare

Catholic, Middle-Aged, Knitting-Addicted, Wife, Homeschooler, Mom of 6, Mom-in-Law to 1, Mother of 11 little saints, Grandma to 1, Godmother to 12, Foster Mom to 5, Army mom, Happily living in Texas!
This entry was posted in 7 Quick Takes. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to 7 Quick Takes (vol. 54)

  1. Dawn says:

    14#?!?!? Amazing! Congratulations.

  2. AmmieJo says:

    I don’t think you are ungrateful. If you are, I am too. I am grateful that I have a home, warm, cozy, and paid for. But we have outgrown it, we need more room and so I hate this house because it doesn’t have what I need! *sigh*

    Thinking of you! Have a terrific day at the patch!

    Love ya!

Leave a Reply

