7 (not so) Quick Takes (Vol. 53)

7_quick_takes

7 Not-soQuick Takes for Friday, October 2

There’s very little that is

Quick about this list

~1~

I’m loving this morning’s temperature!  64° at 5:00 am!

~2~

This week I realized I had to get some control over the house again.  Stacks and piles are everywhere.  My desk is the catch-all again.  The school shelves are a disaster again.  Everywhere you looked, there was an ugly mess again.

The biggest eyesore, though, was “the front room.”  It was designed to be a formal dining room.  It is immediately to the right when you walk in the front door.  We have never used it as it was intended.  It has been: A Catholic Bookstore, a school room and a play room.  It is currently serving as a play room.  And it was destroyed all. the. time.

Wednesday morning, I had had it.  I set the girls to work, plucked up my courage (it really was overwhelming!) and set to work!  The first thing that I did was set up a box that measured 18x18x20 inches.  As I cleaned and sorted, I filled that box with things that just really didn’t need to be in there.  The excess stuffed animals, gargantuan lego-style blocks, and Lord knows what else now!  Along the way, I also managed to fill 3 or 4 garbage bags.

I have a plain, white laminate, 2-door cabinet, with a lock, in there that I was using to hold some board books, a few board games and extra school paper.  It is now a toy cabinet.  Little People, kitchen gear and play food, matchbox cars, legos, puzzles, and more now call this cabinet home.  Did I mention it has a lock?

The only things left accessible are the Heros wooden train pieces, the train table, his Melissa and Doug “marching band” instruments, a few toy soldiers, his kitchen, a toy vacuum, some chairs, his easel and the guinea pigs.  Now, even when he is left to play without a lot of direct supervision, there is only so much damage he can do!  It has been easier to get him to cooperate with cleaning up now that he is not as overwhelmed, either!

I am still trying to find a home for that extra paper and the board games, but I have one room under control!

~3~

Today, the living room is coming under attack.  The school shelves and the printer are in there (it is more of a “family room”) and there is lot of clutter and a lot of mess in there.  The biggest job will be the shelves.

There is another big job in the living room, though.  You see, there is this one corner where somebody has a collection of stuff pile up.  Most of this stuff was once part of sheep.  And there lots and lots and lots of pointy things.  And books and papers.  Somebody needs to figure out a way to get that stuff stored neatly and out of sight.

~4~

Last week I mentioned that I decided to get my act together with regards to how I eat.  I mentioned that after just a couple of days I felt better.  I still feel much better and I have lost about 8 lbs and several inches around the middle!

I got on the treadmill once this week.  It was Wednesday morning, “toy room day”.  Within a couple of hours my hip was killing me and by the end of the day my knees were killing me, too.  I don’t know if it was just my being out of shape or if it is the stupid, ugly new shoes I bought (in the past I would use the treadmill wearing socks on my feet, but no shoes.  Shoes are a big problem for me.  I can’t find any that fit… except my trusty, comfy Birkenstocks.)  I took yesterday off and will get on again today.  If my hip and knees hurt again, I’m going back to socks and no shoes.

In about a week or so, I will start using the Bowflex, too.  (I’m doing things incrementally… a week on the diet before the treadmill, then a week or 2 after that the Bowflex and maybe a short while after that I’ll add Wii Fit, just for fun… it’s fun to play with the kids.)

I am pleased with how I am feeling and with the progress I’m making overall, especially the not giving in to the “quick” (read: carby) answer when I’m hungry.

~5~

Lately whole days go by without my doing any knitting.  Those days are very disappointing to me.  I have such big plans for things and yet I can’t find the time I need to get things finished.  I have to cast on a new gift for a friend because I never got the sleeves finished on the one I started before.  Her baby is growing and growing and there is no way she’ll be able to wear it anymore.  Even if she could squeeze it on now, it wouldn’t be for long, so I’d rather just start again with something else.  Something relatively quick.  Something bigger.

~6~

I miss reading.  I never have the time or the quiet to read anymore.  I have a huge stack of books (well, they would be a stack if they were all in one place) that I’ve bought over the past couple of years that I’ve just not gotten through.  I started several of them, but most I didn’t even open the cover.  I will get to it one day.  I know I will.  I do think that all books should be available as audio books.  Audio books are the best thing since sliced bread.  I love them.  I can listen to books while I am doing other things.  (like walking on the treadmill… after the rosary, of course!)

~7~

The screen on my 14 month old laptop seems to be dying.  It is very, very annoying.  In our 20+ years of owning computers (only Apples/Macs, thank you)  I have never had anything go wrong with my computers, other than user issues, like problems with the adapters (but thanks to the magnetic adapters of today’s Macs, that has not been a problem at all!) or needing to replace a keyboard after spilling coffee on the computer or, eventually, a hard drive dying (which is not really a user issue, but it is something that just happens.)  My computers have always been fine apart from becoming obsolete and s.l.o.w compared to new models.  I suppose that one part dying in 20 years isn’t bad, but having to shell out $200-400 on a new-ish computer isn’t fun.  For the first time ever I kinda wish I had purchased AppleCare.  Kind of.  Over the years, it would have been quite an expense… much more than the cost to fix this one problem.

(yes, I’m pretty sure it’s not the graphics card.  when I do a whole-screen shot while it’s acting up, the picture that it produces is clear and there is no evidence of anything going on.)

Head over to Jen’s to find more Quick Takes… or maybe *actual* QUICK Takes!

About becomewhatyouare

Catholic, Middle-Aged, Knitting-Addicted, Wife, Homeschooler, Mom of 6, Mom-in-Law to 1, Mother of 11 little saints, Grandma to 1, Godmother to 12, Foster Mom to 5, Army mom, Happily living in Texas!
This entry was posted in 7 Quick Takes. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to 7 (not so) Quick Takes (Vol. 53)

  1. Lisa Sweet says:

    Yes, I have to agree, these lists are anything BUT quick!! Good for you on the diet/exercise thing…I so need to follow your lead. Looks like you’ve had a productive week. Way to go!

  2. Judy says:

    WOW!!!!!!!!! YOU ARE ONE BUSY GAL!!!!!!!!
    Congratulations on those 8 lbs and inches…that is AWESOMETASTIC…don’t ya’ love that word?
    My blogging friend Haley, from My Mommy Kisses the Principal, made it up!

  3. Carla says:

    8 pounds! You go Girl! That is fantastic! I’m trying to be healthier, too. It’s that crisper air (or am I imagining because I am willing Fall to get here in a hurry since I hate Texas heat!) that gets that spring back in my step! I am loving the cooler mornings.

    Sounds like you may be a candidate to have a shoe fitting for a workout shoe. I had to have it done and it’s been a wonderful investment. I now know what kind of athletic shoe to look for that won’t make my knees hurt. I don’t know where they do that here in Texas, but I am sure there has to be somewhere. It really was well worth it for me.

    • I tried to find somewhere to give me a fitting… no luck yet. I even looked to the “experts” to guide me to a shoe that is designed in a way that would make them more likely to fit…. they looked at me as though their brain had just decided to take a coffee break down the street. I suppose I should pursue it further. You know. In my spare time. 😀

      It really is a shame, these feet of mine. I don’t get to wear cute shoes or even ugly, distinctively female shoes. …

  4. spilisz08 says:

    I love the quote on the sidebar — from Pope Paul VI!

    Also, my “quick” takes are usually not quick. It’s ok.
    Happy weekend!

  5. Dawn says:

    8 pounds?!?! Definitely awesometastic.

    • Thanks! Unfortunately, I will probably need to lose 20 or more pounds for it to be noticeable to others, but ya know what? I don’t really care! I am really pleased with my 8 pounds. 🙂

Leave a Reply

