One of My Favorite Weeks

I love this week in the liturgical year!  This week we celebrate these feasts:

Feasts of the Archangels, St Michael, St Gabriel, St Raphael (29th Sep)
Feast of St Jerome, Priest, Doctor of the Church (30th Sep)
Feast of St Therese (1st Oct)
Feast of the Guardian Angels (2d Oct)
Feast of St Francis (4th Oct)
Feast of St Faustina (5th Oct)

We also head into a couple of other special days over the next couple of weeks or so after that.  We have:

Feast of Our Lady of the Rosary (7th Oct)
Feast of St. Teresa of Avila (15th Oct)
Feast of St Ignatius of Antioch (17th Oct)

In our family we will celebrate family “feast days” or “name days” 3 times between the 29th Sep and the 4th Oct.  Two of our kids were born on the feast of St Faustina (8 years apart) and The Mad Hatter remembers her First Holy Communion on the Feast of Our Lady of the Rosary.  I have a special love for St Therese, St Faustina and St Teresa of Avila and St Ignatius rocks! Who doesn’t love and depend on the Archangels and our Guardian Angels? (If you answer, “me,” I urge you to befriend these wonderful heavenly guides and helpers!)

Sometimes we jokingly call this “cake week.”  We usually celebrate these special “name” days with cake. Four or five times this week we have either “name day” cake or birthday cake!  Maybe it’s “cake month” as just over a week after the feast of St Ignatius is Chief’s birthday and a week after that it is Milky White’s birthday!

I’ll have coloring sheets and we’ll cook meals and deserts appropriate for celebration (I’m thinking things like angel hair pasta, Polish, French and Italian foods and so on) and I think we’ll make sacrifice beads in honor of St. Therese.  It should be fun! I am considering making the kids some pumpkin muffins for breakfast on the feast of Our Lady of the Rosary and have them arranged into a rosary before they come downstairs on the  7th (I’ll use mini muffin pans, not full size!)  Yes, blueberry (because of the relevance of the color blue and Our Lady) would be appropriate, but my family doesn’t love blueberry muffins.  They do love pumpkin and that can tie into fall as well as the feast.

Wouldn’t you agree that this is a great week (plus)?!

About becomewhatyouare

Catholic, Middle-Aged, Knitting-Addicted, Wife, Homeschooler, Mom of 6, Mom-in-Law to 1, Mother of 11 little saints, Grandma to 1, Godmother to 12, Foster Mom to 5, Army mom, Happily living in Texas!
This entry was posted in Our Catholic Family Life. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to One of My Favorite Weeks

  1. KC says:

    It is a great week! What a great idea for the 7th! I’ll have to make some better plans.

  2. Cathy says:

    A great week indeed! Might have to “steal” a couple ideas. :0) Happy feast week(s)!

  3. Dawn says:

    Wow!!

    I answered “me”… I really know nothing..

    You’re inspiring.

  4. Dawn says:

    Not only are you inspiring but apparently you are amazing and thoughtful, too. You know what I’m talking about!! Thank you. I am already waiting for my purchase to arrive. Padre Pio, here I come.

Leave a Reply

