Today was our first day of school.

It went really well.  The girls got their things done pretty quickly and we didn’t have much bickering about who is shaking their leg or tapping their pencil or any of that.  The house is NOT in tip-top shape today, but I’ve seen worse on a first day of school, so that’s a success, too!  TheBoy was not entirely happy that the girls and I were occupied this morning.  At first he was happy to sit and glue, but once he was done, he expected everyone else to be done and doing his bidding!  He’ll adapt, I know.  I still have math to check, but it was a good day.

Of course, I didn’t take any pictures for the first day of school.  I guess I’m a bad mom?  I don’t think much of it since this is just part of our normal routine.  When TheBoy starts some formal schooling, I’m sure I’ll have my camera ready.  Once.🙂

I also finally finished packing up those big boxes for Iraq.  I’m guessing these boxes weigh about 60 lbs! (total, not each) Not looking forward to paying the postage, but it is worth it to know that someone will FINALLY use all that yarn!

I’ve been sleeping poorly lately.  I think that I am losing my caffeine tolerance.  I fall into bed exhausted, fall asleep almost immediately, but then I wake up about once an hour for the first several hours and then I might get 2 or 3 hours of sleep.  Today I cut back on my caffeine a bit and let me tell you…. I’m dragging way more than usual.  *yawn*  I even had to lie down for a power nap earlier.  I really wanted coffee, but resisted, hoping to reclaim longer stretches of sleep tonight.

Prayers for CarKiller, please.  His hernia seems to be causing him more and more trouble and more and more pain.  It is beginning to look like postponing surgery may not be an option after all.  He spoke to an NCO (who told him not to be a “tough guy”… “tough guys” tend to do more damage… and he knows, he did something similar) who assured him that while missing so much class time would put him in a different training cycle that he would not have to completely restart and would be placed in a company that is just entering the next phase he would enter if he didn’t have to have surgery, so the loss will be minimal. (yeah, I know.  I don’t want to fix it.  you know what i’m trying to say.) It’s not a done deal or anything yet, but it is looking like he will need to go ahead and schedule the surgery fairly soon.  (and, um, he’ll get convalescent leave.  here. yay!)

About becomewhatyouare

Catholic, Middle-Aged, Knitting-Addicted, Wife, Homeschooler, Mom of 6, Mom-in-Law to 1, Mother of 11 little saints, Grandma to 1, Godmother to 12, Foster Mom to 5, Army mom, Happily living in Texas!
This entry was posted in Home Education, My Kids!, Prayer. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Today was our first day of school.

  1. KC says:

    First day of school AND 8 hours of babysitting 8 kids? Wow!! Way to go Queen of Hearts and Mad Hatter!

    Praying for CarKiller.

Leave a Reply

