“Mommy…

“…you like your computer, huh?”

Out of the mouths of babes!  Ouch!  TheBoy said this to me last night when I sat down next to him, with my computer, so that we could do a video chat with CarKiller.  Obviously I have been spending too much time on the computer.  It’s not that I didn’t know I was, but rather I had fooled myself into thinking that somehow I could spend “too much” time on it and still do a good job of mothering my children, keeping the home, loving my husband.  If it is significant enough for a 3 year old to make that observation, it is significant enough for me to make some changes.

I’m not going to go off of the deep end and swear off the internet or blogging or using my computer as a tool.  I am going to get my act together and pay more attention to the message that my behavior and choices send to my kids (and Chief!)  I am going to reset my priorities and put things like computer use in their proper place.

My computer is a well used tool for many things… lesson plans, daily routines/schedules, banking, keeping in contact with friends, feeling like I am part of a bigger community… and it is great resource for school and other general knowledge type things (it is now also a tool I use in supporting my daughters in their theater quests.)  I can and do use it for good purposes.  But I am also overusing it.  (Clearly.)  It is so easy to think, “oh, I have a minute, I’ll just check this,” and find that 30 or 60 minutes have passed.

This morning, I came up with a plan for a weekly routine.  I don’t know how it will work.  These things need a test run to see if they really fit.  How it looks on paper is not always how it works in real life and it often needs tweaking.  I have scheduled my computer time into my day.  Instead of running to check this or that frequently, I’ll use it when I am scheduled to use it and not more (this does not include looking up something on the internet with the kids to enhance their learning or to discover just what bug that is on our porch, of course, but it does answer to all of the wasted time on the computer.)  There is nothing that I have to say that is important enough to give up quite so much time, nor is there much out there that others have to say that I should be so distracted that my little one need tell me that I love my computer.  No, he should notice how much I love him, his siblings, his dad, not a machine.

I mentioned that when I came up with some kind of plan that I would share it here.  I have uploaded a pdf with the plan I’m going to begin to implement (mostly… we’re not doing school yet) this week.  I just used the 2-page weekly planner pages for this.  I do not have Sunday on the schedule.  I know the minimums of what needs to be done:  Mass, food, prayer, but I also intend to do what I must and honor the  day as a day of rest and relaxation and family time.


Here is the PDF

God bless you!

About becomewhatyouare

Catholic, Middle-Aged, Knitting-Addicted, Wife, Homeschooler, Mom of 6, Mom-in-Law to 1, Mother of 11 little saints, Grandma to 1, Godmother to 12, Foster Mom to 5, Army mom, Happily living in Texas!
This entry was posted in Our Catholic Family Life, TheBoy. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to “Mommy…

  1. regan says:

    achieving the proper balance is so hard. and it can only be done prayerfully. God knows our need to have “down” time. but those words do hurt. i have been trying to stay away from the computer myself. it is good, in moderation. but it can be so draining…the best of luck to you.

  2. Lisa Sweet says:

    Ouch! I feel your pain and share your ummm “love” of the computer. I am also struggling with balance and reprioritizing my life. They need to feel how much I love them and know they are more important than my computer. Great post. Thanks for sharing.

    • pattonhouse6 says:

      Ditto….I spend a lot of time at the computer just doing something “quick” that takes forever. Thank you for sharing your filled in schedule. I’ll be snitching. Hugs and miss you. Karen +AMDG+

  3. elizabeth says:

    My grandson got around this “problem” by working together on the computer with his Dad. At age 4, he had his own Internet address. Now, at 7, he tells me about IM’ing his aunt (my daughter), and yesterday when I was babysitting him, I saw that he had a a couple of dozen incoming email messages from friends. (I would assume mostly older ones, but perhaps all 7 year olds are now cyber-linked.)

  4. Pingback: Planning Bug « Flash Light

Leave a Reply

