One-Third Complete and Good Company

lessonplans1

YIPPEE!!!!  I have completed MissCreativity’s lesson plans for the entire year! I can’t even tell what a wonderful, freeing, organized feeling that is!  I usually have a plan in place for a year.  I usually have several weeks written out in the beginning of the school year.  The problem is that after those first 9 – 12 weeks are up, I usually end up flying by the seat of my pants and looking over what what already written a giving verbal instructions for what’s next.  Which isn’t bad, except that the next week, there are no written plans to judge what to do next.  It’s not that we don’t accomplish all of our goals by the end.  We (mostly) do.  It’s just that it is with so much more stress and difficulty and indecision that everyone involved is frustrated.  Not this year.  36 weeks worth of plans for 6th grade are written and printed.  Today they will be hole-punched and put in a binder and placed on a shelf.  Today I will also print MissCreativity’s lapbook reproducibles for her history study (her science stuff already printed.)  This is a pretty major undertaking as there are probably hundreds of sheets to print, but again, I want (need?) everything completely ready to go.  I am really excited to be where I am with all of this.  It was quite a weight on my shoulders and though I still have more to do than I have completed, what remains is still a much lighter load.

lessonplans2

Picture 5

Yesterday I mentioned that Charlotte (Waltzing Matilda) drove down to share in the Snow’s day.  I also mentioned that it was so lovely to meet her.  Truly, she is a charming (young!) woman with absolutely adorable, sweet, polite children.  We had 5 Catholic homeschooling mom bloggers together yesterday…. well, make that 6, except that Cathy over at Anyone See Where I Lost My Marbles is still taking her running start on her blog.  I don’t know what gives.  I mean she’s only got 6 kids ages 3 – 15 as well as taking care of her mom.  I don’t know what the heck she’s so busy with that she doesn’t keep up with her blog more!  (I’ll keep linking to her so that she’ll write more!)  Anyway, while Cathy was running around making sure that her our kids were not destroying the place or killing each other, we got a snapshot of the other 5 of us.  The photo was taken with my iPhone, so the quality isn’t great (isn’t terrible, either!)

From left to right:

KC, Jess, Emily, Charlotte and me

TexasBloggers

Picture 5

I have one thing to add to the “weird” file.  Or the “what the heck?!” file:

croissant and books

Croissant on the (messy) book shelf. hmmmm.

Picture 5

You know, sometimes you just want a drink.  Or, well, I do, sometimes.  I don’t drink much or often, but sometimes I just want a drink.  I called Chief to let him know this was one of those days and to ask him to please bring some Bailey’s home for me.  Boy, did he!  He brought the biggest bottle of Bailey’s I’ve ever seen.  If left to me, this thing will probably last 2 years, though I’m sure Chief will help me out from time to time.

Yum!

Yum!

this shot is to help you understand how big it is!  That is a Sonic Route 44.

this shot is to help you understand how big it is! That is a Sonic Route 44.

bigger than a roll of paper towels!

bigger than a roll of paper towels!

almost 2 liters!

almost 2 liters!

In spite of the ample supply, I only had 2 glasses… okay, it was a pint-sized mason jar used as a glass, but it did have ice in it!

Yum!

Picture 5

God bless you!

About becomewhatyouare

Catholic, Middle-Aged, Knitting-Addicted, Wife, Homeschooler, Mom of 6, Mom-in-Law to 1, Mother of 11 little saints, Grandma to 1, Godmother to 12, Foster Mom to 5, Army mom, Happily living in Texas!
This entry was posted in Home Education. Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to One-Third Complete and Good Company

  1. It was so wonderful to meet all of you and seeing how those Minnesota gals have already claimed the Blogger’s Tea Party I think we should arrange a get together Texas style. Anyone up for a Blogger’s Barbecue? Or should we try to be more refined than that? : )

    • LOL! I was thinking the same thing. Texas Catholic Mom Blogger BBQ. Sweet tea is the closest to having “a tea party” that I want anyway! Brisket, ‘tater salad, beans…. ahhhhhh!

      So, whatcha doin’ next weekend? hehehe!

      Emailed you the photo, btw.

  2. Cathy says:

    Well..first of all…3-14, thank you very much! I’m not in a hurry for him to be 15. Still have a whole month and a few days left. lol Second, I had no idea that was Charlotte. No one (ahem) told me.😛 Of course, my littles still would’ve run around wreaking havoc so I still couldn’t sit with you guys.😦 Maybe next time, Charlotte.

    • I had no idea that was Charlotte. No one (ahem) told me.😛

      Yeah, yeah… it’s my fault.😛

      15 is close enough! Sorry to tell ya…. He’s getting old! Not sure what the implications of that are for YOU! Just hold on to the fact that you’re not the oldest one in your household. That’s my approach. Works pretty well.

  3. Cathy says:

    oh yeah… Yay you! For the lesson plans and exhibiting self control and only having 2 glasses. 😛

  4. teachinmom says:

    I had to go and sign in to wordpress to get to leave a comment! SO excited that you got your lesson plans done!!!!!!! Wee bit jealous too! You’re really setting a fire under me! My goal moved from first semester, to first nine weeks, just to hopefully get it done.
    Thrilled that you got to get together with so many great blogging women too! I’m thinking maybe we REALLY need to make a trip down to Texas, but Oklahoma is pretty cool too…

    • Yeah, wordpress was freaking out a few minutes ago. I couldn’t access anything “admin” for a short time.

      Oklahoma is pretty cool. I will grant you that. But y’all should come down!

      Even more cool is that I get to meet with/see/get together with 3 of those women at least once a week… seeing as they belong to my parish and all!😉

  5. Carla says:

    Bailey’s is yum… But I must say that I didn’t really think that would be your “drink of choice.” Guess I learned something new about you today! 🙂

    Glad you got your lesson plans 1/3 done. I don’t know how you do it! I have had a hard enough time finding 10 items on a list for Ian’s preschool.

  6. KC says:

    I need to get started! I’ve been working on them but only in a general way and in my head.

    We definitely need to have a Texas Blogger’s BBQ. How fun that would be!

    And, Baileys…yum!

  7. Thanks for the photos! How about we plan for a Saturday this fall when it (hopefully) won’t be 12,000 degrees? Since you gals have the highest concentration of bloggers, I’d be happy to come to you. We could find a little BBQ place to meet at for a girl’s BBQ party. I’d love to do a great big family thing, but that might be too much to bite off for our first time. What do y’all think?

    • Sounds great to me! Clem Mikeska’s. Yum. I also like the idea of waiting until… ummm, do we have “fall” here? Waiting until it is only about 10,000 degrees. (Was totally kidding about next weekend… just had a hankering for BBQ. LOL!) We’ll get the ladies talking…. we should probably give Jess a little adjustment time for that kind of outing, too.

Leave a Reply

