7 Quick Takes Friday, Vol 45

7_quick_takes

1

Teens…

We are mean, Chief and I.  We are dinosaurs. We don’t allow our kids to text.  Period.  We’ve blocked it on their phone.  We don’t have a text package.  We don’t use it ourselves except on rare occasions (and because it is so rare, we just pay the twenty cents when we do feel the need.)  We’ve seen too much rude and even dangerous behavior associated with texting (i.e. CarKiller had a friend over for dinner – the kid was 19 or 20 – and he sat at my table, eating my food and was texting with someone!  At first he kind of did it under the table, but I guess he gave up all pretense when he saw that I saw him.)  We see adults texting nonstop, even while driving.  It is just not something we want our kids to do under our watch, on the phones we pay for.  (for the record, we don’t care if you text.  it doesn’t bother us in the least.  we don’t think you’re horrible, unless we see you texting while driving, in Mass, at someone else’s dinner table… if that happens, we might!  We don’t care if you let your kids text.  That’s your call.)

So……  GuitarGirl sits down with me one day a week or so ago and says, “Mom, if I pay for it, can I get texting on my phone?  You see, I have friends whose parents only let them text, they don’t have voice on their phones.”

Hmmm.  I see.  So, you want ME to change OUR rules to bend to some other parents’ rules?  Ummm, sweetie, are THEY asking THEIR parents for voice so they can talk to YOU?  Ummm, yeah.  No.  I don’t think so.  Did she somehow think it was a money issue?  I don’t know.  I can add texting for as little as $5 or cover all 4 of our lines for $30 (unlimited.)  No, money is not the issue.  “No” is also the answer.

2

PreSchoolers…

Dancing With Headless Barbie

I am just really not sure what to make of this!  Here is TheBoy… dancing with a headless, life-size Barbie.  I guess this is what you get when Chief cleans out the stuffed attic space with the kids around.  This picture was taken by MissKaboom.  I sure wish she could have gotten video, but the battery on that camera was dead.

Check out the nifty ACU’s that CarKiller sent for the boy!  How fun is that.  He has a “nerf” type “rifle” and he plays soldier and tells me, “I’m CarKiller!”

3

Party Time

MissKaboom and MissCreativity are having an “End of Summer” slumber party.  They have invited 5 or 6 girls.  We’re going to grill up some dogs and burgers, heat up some beans.  For breakfast, they’ll serve a variety of bagels and muffins. They will have loads of snacks, water play (squirt guns and water balloons) and they are going to watch the Jonas Brothers’ concert video.  They’ve been planning this party for weeks.  They have promised to make sure the house is completely ready and cleaned and have spent the past couple of months doing extra chores to earn the money for food, snacks, drinks, etc.

4

#%!#!!% Lesson Plans!!!

I just don’t have time!!!!!!!  I need uninterrupted time and I don’t have any!!!!!  I know a woman who used to rent a hotel room and hole up in it for however long it took to finish her lesson plans.  I think I “get” why now!

ARGH!

5

Knitting

I get so frustrated with myself when I can’t keep a pattern straight!  I am knitting some bonnets with a basic “horseshoe” stitch and I keep having to tink and start over again.  It happens randomly… I can knit 3 bonnets with no problems, but then the 4th comes along and I have to tink the same row 5 times!  BAH!!!

I’ve taken a break from socks for a bit now.  I am almost done with the first sock of a pair for MissKaboom.  I have also decided that I will be knitting with Socks For Soldiers.  If I’m going to knit so many socks, I may as well knit for the troops at least some of the time!  I need to get some of the approved yarn before I can start.  I hope to order it soon.  I’m deciding between purchasing their little “starter kit” with yarn, dpns, stitchmarkers, and so on or just getting the yarn.  The kit is cute and pretty neat, but really, all I need is the right yarn.  SFS sells just yarn, too, so it is only a matter of deciding what I want to order.

6

The A/C

The truck is back in the shop again.  I really hope they look beyond the condenser and freon to figure out what is going on.  Clearly, it is NOT the condenser.  We are on our second new one… getting 2 bad ones in a row in 2 different states just isn’t likely.

Of course, since they didn’t call us yesterday, they are probably going to look at it this morning and tell us “it works fine.”  It doesn’t work “fine” but does MUCH BETTER in the morning when it’s cooler.  Once it hits 90°, it stinks!

7

New Beginnings

Chief is just about all set to start at the new job.  We have to look over things like insurance and other benefits.  Ugh.  I hate this part.  I am sad to “give up” our old dental and vision insurance (our health insurance will remain the same as we use TriCare.)  We also have to figure out what to do with our EOS and 401whatever we’ve got at the old place.  *sigh*  fun times

Supposedly the old company has sent a check for the last of the bonus

they owe us.  They are way behind on paying it to Chief.  They still owe us 2 installments and the last one is already due!  We’ve heard “the check is in the mail” before.  I’ll believe it when I see it.  Next time, if there is a next time, it comes up front or “they” (whoever they are) can forget it!

Check out Jen’s blog for more Quick Takes.

About becomewhatyouare

Catholic, Middle-Aged, Knitting-Addicted, Wife, Homeschooler, Mom of 6, Mom-in-Law to 1, Mother of 11 little saints, Grandma to 1, Godmother to 12, Foster Mom to 5, Army mom, Happily living in Texas!
This entry was posted in 7 Quick Takes. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to 7 Quick Takes Friday, Vol 45

  1. Carla says:

    I love those little ACUs that TheBoy has. I need to find those for Ian. He would love them! Though the headless Barbie is slightly disturbing!

  2. KC says:

    Those ACUs are awfully cute. Even cuter that he pretends to be CarKiller.

    Oh, and thank you for the size of your font. It’s been great for my eyes. 😉

  3. angie says:

    dont blame you about the text messages at all my teens do not have text on thier phones either.

Leave a Reply

