7 Quick Takes (Vol. 44)

7_quick_takes

UU 1 UU

Theater:

The girls are now in 2 productions.  The first is Alice in Wonderland, Jr. at our local theater.  GuitarGirl is The Queen of Hearts, MissKaboom is the Mad Hatter, and MissCreativity is “Lily” one of the flowers (one of the “major” flowers. she has lines AND a solo!)  Performances are 14 – 16 August.

The second production that is just about to begin was cast yesterday.  KC & Jess are doing a production of A Midsummer Night’s Dream with the homeschool group.  The girls are:  GuitarGirl:  Hermia, MissKaboom:  Helena and MissCreativity: Nick Bottom (Pyramus).  They each got a role that they hoped for!  The performance will be next year, at the end of April or early May.

UU 2 UU

The Stink:

The stink remains.  I don’t smell it as easily as I did last week, but I haven’t gotten everything done, so  I know it’s there.  I just know it.

UU 3 UU

Rain:

We finally got some rain yesterday.  It was a very good thing.  Except for the fact that it means the yard is muddy.  And we have a dog.  That runs the fence, barking his fool head off (there is a sidewalk behind our fence.)  I dread the days of mud in the house ahead.  Someone will let him in all muddy.  Someone always does.  We might get some more rain today and tomorrow.  But I doubt it.

update:  I was wrong.  It did rain some more.  We got a bit of a storm!  It was wonderful!

From Aug 3, 2009

UU 4 UU

Sleep:

I have been forcing myself to sleep a bit longer in the morning when I can.  I am usually not successful, but when I am, I do tend to feel better and function better.  I am a natural early bird.  I get up daily between 4 and 5 a.m.  This used to work just fine, but while Chief was deployed I started staying up later and later and now I don’t get to bed before 10:30 ever.  Often it’s later.  Running on 5.5 to 6.5 hours of sleep for the long term takes its toll, but I just can’t seem to sleep in most of the time.  If I could figure out how to end the day sooner that would be best.

UU 5 UU

School:

I am still not done with all of the planning and preparation for this next school year.  I wish I would just get done with it, but it takes time.  A lot of time.  If only I could get a 36 hour day! (without the need for more sleep, of course!)

UU 6 UU

Lasagna:

I made a lasagna this morning.  It looks and smells wonderful.  I mean I think I could eat the whole darn thing myself right now (I wouldn’t, but I think I could.)  This lasagna is for the Snows.

You see, I never make lasagna for our family.  Nope.  Sure don’t.  Why not?  Well, of the six of us left at home, 3 of them have dairy allergies.  Yeah.  Makes lasagna pretty much a “no” around here.  Hrmph.  I hope the Snow’s like it, at least.

UU 7 UU

Grief:

Grief is a big part of my day now.  I grieve the loss of Matthew Karol.  My heart aches for the Snows and for all of us who loved Matthew, hoped for him and prayed for him.

I grieve also for myself.  We, too, lost a baby just a bit younger than he (30 weeks) and walking this path with Emily and John has been much harder on me than I anticipated.  Our situations with our babies were different, but there are many similarities, too.  I have relived that time in my life and sometimes the feelings are as raw as they were when it happened.  I have spent time second-guessing the decisions that Chief and I made, wondering if we’d accepted the risks we rejected, would things have turned out differently?  God had planned the moment that these would come to Him. He knew.  Always knew.  And we made the best decisions we could.  And still….

I am also grieving with my friend, KC, who’s little Mark Edward probably would have been born today had he not left us so very early in his life.  KC would have had to schedule his c-section and this would have been the most likely day that they would have scheduled his birth.  My heart breaks for KC and for all who suffer in this way.

Prayers for KC & Ben, The Snows, and all who’ve been asked to carry the heavy cross of losing children.

Head over to Jen’s for more Quick Takes.

About becomewhatyouare

Catholic, Middle-Aged, Knitting-Addicted, Wife, Homeschooler, Mom of 6, Mom-in-Law to 1, Mother of 11 little saints, Grandma to 1, Godmother to 12, Foster Mom to 5, Army mom, Happily living in Texas!
This entry was posted in 7 Quick Takes. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to 7 Quick Takes (Vol. 44)

  1. KC says:

    I’ve been thinking of you. I thought that things were hard for you and that you might be reliving those hard emotions. Praying for you my dear friend.

    Thank you.

  2. AmmieJo says:

    Just want you to know I’m praying for your friend’s the Snows, KC and for your heart as well. (hugs) and love…I need a way to end my day earlier too. But I go to bed and lay there and my mind just won’t shut off. It’s full of the to do list for tomorrow…

  3. Carla says:

    Thinking of you and your friends. I can’t even begin to imagine. And I have no words, only my simple prayers for comfort that go upward for each and every one of you.

Leave a Reply

