God is…

…never shocked

…never confused

…never mistaken

…never unsure

…never stingy

…never anxious

…never early, nor is he ever late.

I’ve been thinking a lot about these things.  Sometimes, most times in fact, I spend my time contemplating what God is.  God is love.  God is faithful.  God is all powerful, omniscient….  But there are other times, times like now, when I contemplate more about what God isn’t, instead of what He is.  What He doesn’t do, instead of what he does.

God …never wrings his hands.

God …never forgets.

God …never worries.

God …never abandons us

God …never says, “Now what am I going to do?”


Eight years ago, I remember speaking these words often and to many people.  Our family was facing what would be a devastating situation.  So many who knew us would fret.  So many were concerned.  I was, too.  But I could not shake the confidence that no matter where the road we were on at the time led, we could trust God.  I was right to.  Yes, it was a devastating situation, but God was in every detail, every moment and all is well.  He had it together when I didn’t.  And that’s all that really mattered.

As I pray for Matthew, (or anyone/anything else for that matter) I [try really hard to] keep these things in mind.  I remember the goodness, the perfections of the Lord.  I continue to trust, to hope, to pray and to praise.  All the while, I battle my impatience.  “Come on, Lord, can’t you just get to it?  You are God after all.  This is easy for you.  Don’t you hear us all?  We’re begging you. We’re offering up our sufferings.  Why don’t you act now?!”

I know that God’s perfect plans are just that:  perfect.  I know that when things don’t go on my timeline or exactly as I hope, as I desperately pray, that there is that bigger picture, the one I’m too small to see.  So I continue to trust and to hope and to pray and I stand firmly in confidence that the Lord God Almighty has His Hand in every single detail and He is worthy of all of our trust.  It doesn’t matter what it might look like at any given moment.  He is completely in control of all things.  Hope always remains.

He is the God of miracles.  Miracles unfold around us everyday.  Please, God, give me the eyes to see them all, not just the “big” ones.

Jesus, I trust in You.

Let nothing disturb you;
Let nothing frighten you.
All things are passing.
God …never changes.
Patience obtains all things.
Nothing is wanting to him who possesses God.
God alone suffices.

~St. Teresa of Avila


About becomewhatyouare

Catholic, Middle-Aged, Knitting-Addicted, Wife, Homeschooler, Mom of 6, Mom-in-Law to 1, Mother of 11 little saints, Grandma to 1, Godmother to 12, Foster Mom to 5, Army mom, Happily living in Texas!
This entry was posted in Our Catholic Family Life. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to God is…

  1. Elaine says:

    Thank you so much for posting this. In my struggles I sometimes second guess my faith. Mostly not understanding God’s plan or like you said in our timing. I feel guilty for admitting it but I do. I guess that makes me human. I pray often but its usually about other people. Even in my lowest moments. Lately I’ve been learning to pray for myself too. Thank you for reminding me of His plan and he will take care of us in His way. (hug)

  2. Sarah says:

    This is a beautifully written, faith-filled piece. May God grant us His peace in our troubles, in our troubling times; and may we never feel He is not with us. God bless. My prayers are with all who are mourning – may they soon be singing and dancing again. God is good.

Leave a Reply

