I’m Baaaack!!!!

godscanvas

I just got home from San Antonio.  I went down yesterday to hang out with Em while her husband, John, went home to take care of a few things.  I spent the night with Em in the Fort Sam Houston Fisher House.  What a lovely facility!  This is such a wonderful place for families who are in the middle of medical crises.  I suppose this is most like a Ronald McDonald House for military families.  I really can’t speak highly enough of the place.  It was really beautiful and the staff was so kind and friendly.

I can’t tell you how tremendously touched and proud I am of all of the wounded soldiers we met and saw while I was there.  So many young men, heroes all, who are facing so many challenges ~ and doing so with really great attitudes.  I can’t even keep count of how many young men (some older ones, too!) that I saw who are missing limbs.  One soldier was missing both legs and his left arm.  His face showed a courageous, determined attitude ~ as did the faces of them all.  I was so, so proud to be in their company, even for a little while.

There were also sick soldiers.  One, who has a really bad tumor that was found after his deployment to Afghanistan, was able to have his wife, his child and his mother there with him.  It was so wonderful to see this family together… ABLE to be together.  The Fisher House does not charge these families a thing and they fill such a tremendous need.  I think that I will be making donations to our local Fisher House now that I’ve seen the tremendous service they provide.  I’d heard of them, knew they were a good thing, but experiencing what it provides first-hand was a real blessing to me.

Now… before I continue on… I just want all of you who love and pray for Em, Matthew and their whole family to know that Em is probably going to KILL ME (or at least be annoyed with me) for posting some of the pictures that follow.  But I will remind you, Em, dear, that you had a camera you could have used as a weapon against me AND I did put an awful picture of me in here (you being so pregnant and so uncomfortable are still so beautiful that I look like a toad standing next to you!)  I think everyone should post a comment and let Em know just how beautiful she is!  (don’t worry… she’ll see the comments!)

Taken while sitting in the dining room

Taken while sitting in the dining room

Another from the dining room

Another from the dining room

Em in the dining room

Em in the dining room

Common Kitchen

Common Kitchen

DSCN1720

another kitchen shot

other side of the kitchen

other side of the kitchen

these are all refrigerators for the families to use

these are all refrigerators for the families to use

Matthew, Em and I mostly just hung out, with Em smocking and me knitting and little Matthew kicking and rolling up a storm!  I so enjoyed getting to feel him so active.

yay for Belly Shots!

yay for Belly Shots!

watching the squirrel

watching the squirrel

The Squirrel

The Squirrel

cute, huh?

cute, huh?

We also took Matthew out to Applebee’s last night and out for breakfast at Cracker Barrel this morning.  After breakfast, we stopped by Michael’s (big box craft store) and wandered around quite a bit.  Em and Matthew got tuckered out pretty quickly, though.  Em has polyhydramnios and gets easily winded, so after we wandered around the store a good bit, we headed back to post.  We decided a fountain soda would be great, so we went to the main post and stopped by the burger place and then it was off to the Fisher House.  I’d hardly made a cup of coffee and checked email before John was back to take Em to her appointment today and it was time for me to head home.

Matthew (and Em) at Applebee's

Matthew (and Em) at Applebee's

Em and Me at Cracker Barrel

Em and Me at Cracker Barrel

Matthew and the Duck... that didn't fall off when I placed it there!

Matthew and the Duck... that didn't fall off when I placed it there!

I am really glad that I had the opportunity to hang out with Em and Matthew.  I had a great time!!!  I plan to make some day trips down to see Em while she waits for Matthew to be big enough to be born and tackle the heart issues they are facing.

Thank you, Em, for having me down.  I loved having a “sleepover” with you and just enjoying your company.  I will be back, friend.  I love you!

About becomewhatyouare

Catholic, Middle-Aged, Knitting-Addicted, Wife, Homeschooler, Mom of 6, Mom-in-Law to 1, Mother of 11 little saints, Grandma to 1, Godmother to 12, Foster Mom to 5, Army mom, Happily living in Texas!
This entry was posted in Matthew Karol. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to I’m Baaaack!!!!

  1. Pingback: Taking Matthew to Michigan « God’s Canvas

  2. KC says:

    Two beautiful women. It sounds like you both had a lovely time together.

  3. Kay says:

    Pictures are definitely worth a thousand words and I agree that that Em and Matthew look beautiful–but you definitely do NOT look like a toad:-) My thoughts and prayers are with this precious family and I’m glad they have friends close enough to help. Thanks for a beautiful post about Fisher House and our noble soldiers. God bless.

  4. jess says:

    So cute, both of you! I am so glad you were able to go a spend time together, looks like y’all had a lot of fun!
    That Fisher House is fantastic!

  5. Sue,
    What a gift you are to Emily. Your tender care is obvious…You all look like you had a lovely time. Praying for Emily (who looks FAB!).
    Still praying every day for Emily and sweet Matthew…

  6. Lyn Peters says:

    Sue,
    How dear you are to go and help my precious daughter. Thank you so much. Your photos are lovely. I especially like the one of you two together–two beautiful daughters of the King! The duck picture and the squirrel pictures are also good. Blessings to you.

    • Oh, thank you, Lyn, for stopping by!

      Your daughter is so very precioius (and, of course, her son Matthew and all the “snowbabies”.) I considered it a privilege and an honor to spend that time with her.

      Thank YOU for the precious daughter you raised!

  7. Ruth says:

    Love these pictures. Emily, you look so peaceful and so beautiful! God bless you!

  8. Pingback: St Patrick’s Day « God’s Canvas

  9. Pingback: Everyone… « God’s Canvas

Leave a Reply

