Family Day Was Awesome!!

Family Day Was Awesome!!

Family day was so totally awesome.  I am so happy that we got to spend so much time with CarKiller!  He looks good!  He looks so completely happy.  He looks great in his uniform.  I didn’t know I could be any prouder than I was, but I am.

I have so many pictures to download.  I tried to start downloading yesterday, but there was just too much!!  In the end, I just swapped out memory cards and started fresh!  I’ll try downloading after we get home.  I do have a few from my phone that I sent to myself, so I’ll share a couple of those.

a bit blurry, but it'll have to do

a bit blurry, but it'll have to do

bct cert2

My friend, A, drove down from North Carolina to spend a couple of days with us.  She brought 4 of her 5 kids (her oldest has baseball games he can’t miss) plus she brought one more, a friend of M and P.  I am having a wonderful time just being with A. She moved from Texas 8 years ago and it’s been 7 years since we’ve seen each other.

kids elevator


The other bit of news is that the truck saga continues.  *sigh*  The truck started making an odd noise while I was driving in Georgia.  Chief didn’t hear it (it was occasional and infrequent.) Then it started making noise while Chief was driving in town here in SC.  Still, he didn’t hear it.  Finally, when he did hear it, he thought it was someone else’s vehicle.  Eventually, Chief heard it, too.  He tried to figure it out and got pretty close to diagnosing the issue.  We took it to a mechanic here in town and they thought, initially, it was probably what Chief thought.  It was safe to continue driving, so we kept on with our day with CarKiller.  Yesterday after the grad ceremony, Chief took it back to the mechanic’s place to get it repaired.  We thought that probably it was a minor issue, but it isn’t.  The air conditioner compressor was dying. Did we want to replace it?


Hmmm.  Let’s see.  We’re in South Carolina in June, soon to be driving through Georgia, Alabama, Mississippi, Louisianna and back home to Texas.  Hmmm.  Is a/c important?  Uhhhh, yeah.  Very important.  So the truck is in the shop right now and the a/c unit will be replaced first thing this morning (or the compressor or something… not sure if they’re replacing everything or just that part.  I’ve no idea how auto a/c units work.)  The cost of this one fix is equal to all we paid for all of the work we got done last week!  Ugh.  I just keep reminding myself that the cheapest car to drive is the one we already own.  The cheapest car to drive is the one we already own.  The cheapest car to drive is the one we already own.  The cheapest car to drive is the one we already own….  and it’s true, but it’s no fun when it’s so much at once!  Oh well.

a losing money pic

About becomewhatyouare

Catholic, Middle-Aged, Knitting-Addicted, Wife, Homeschooler, Mom of 6, Mom-in-Law to 1, Mother of 11 little saints, Grandma to 1, Godmother to 12, Foster Mom to 5, Army mom, Happily living in Texas!
This entry was posted in Friends, Military Life. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Family Day Was Awesome!!

  1. Cathy says:

    Yay for family day! Glad you guys were able to enjoy some time together with A and the kids.

    Yuck about the truck! Hope it doesn’t take too long for them to fix.

  2. KC says:

    Oh, no! We just had to have the A/C fixed in our car as well. Then Ben’s truck started acting up.

    Aren’t you all a proud bunch of people. Car Killer looks great!

    • We got it fixed…
      and then, on the way to the zoo, we realized it wasn’t pumping out cold air
      then it started making that weird noise again.
      now it’s back in the shop.
      *sigh*

  3. Stacy says:

    I just found your site when googling: catholic homeschool killeen. I am not a catholic -yet – but would love to meet some moms who are. Can you tell me if you have a group meeting????

    Thanks – Stacy

  4. snowbabies says:

    Oh my goodness, I am teary! On the 4th of July I am just so happy for him and for all of you to be there with him!! Hugs!!!

  5. CmyT says:

    So celebrations like Family Day is a must to make them relax and enjoy and sure, it’s glad news that you guys were able to enjoy some time together as a family.

    [SPAM FOLLOWS-edited out]

    • Thanks for the spam! Not.

      We did enjoy our time, though. But I’m not sure “relaxed” is quite the word… one soldier and 6 family members trying to cram as much togetherness in as possible in a very limited amount of time. It was wonderful, but probably not so much relaxed.

  6. A says:

    A had a wonderful time “just being” with you TOO!!! And your family…what can I say ( a gift from God). Love, Me

Leave a Reply

