A Better Update

Well, the good news is that Holiday Inn is Mac ignorant.  The better news is that Mac can beat it.  We figured out how to get a proper connection on the system and this holiday inn does, in fact, have a decent internet connection, even for us.  Silly that we have to take extra steps to make it work though.  :-\

The trip went well, but slower than expected.  It was frustrating to drive 6+ hours and only get 330 miles, but the rest of the trip went quicker.  I guess stopping every hour for a potty break was really cutting into our progress!  When I laid down the law and told the kids we weren’t stopping every hour anymore, we made much better progress over the rest of the day’s drive.

Beginning Saturday evening, my hands and feet were swollen and mostly useless until this morning.  I could not even get a shoe on my right foot.  My feet are almost back to normal and I can walk almost normally to.  My hands are still stiff and sore, but typing isn’t terrible and if they continue to improve, I may get to casting on a pair of socks later today when Chief takes over the driving.  I think I’ll drive right about to Atlanta or so.

As I type this at 4am, I am sitting in the hotel lobby so I don’t wake the family. I suppose that I am just getting very excited to see CarKiller TOMORROW because I just can’t sleep anymore.  I woke at 3 am and laid there trying to sleep for about 40 minutes before I gave up, dressed and came down (or it might be that I went to bed at 9pm last night.)

I have a few pictures that I will download later.  I haven’t gotten many yet since I spent a lot of time driving and napping yesterday, but when we made a pit stop in Vicksburg, I took a few.  Tomorrow, I’ll post the first Vicksburg photo just for Ben.  I took some pics with my phone at dinner last night and since I don’t have to download those and can simply email them, here is one to share:

dinner in meridian

Anyway… back to Vicksburg…   I think we will be spending the 4th of July in Vicksburg.  I read online that they have a great fireworks display at the river and that there are several other activities for the 4th as well.  It should be fun.  It is on the return trip that I am going to insist that we do some history and stop at the museums and monuments and whatever else there is to be found in a great place like Vicksburg!

I still have an hour or more to waste before I can safely and fairly wake the family, but don’t worry!  I won’t spend it all writing!

Thanks to those of you who are praying for us on our trip!

God bless you!

About becomewhatyouare

Catholic, Middle-Aged, Knitting-Addicted, Wife, Homeschooler, Mom of 6, Mom-in-Law to 1, Mother of 11 little saints, Grandma to 1, Godmother to 12, Foster Mom to 5, Army mom, Happily living in Texas!
This entry was posted in Military Life. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to A Better Update

  1. snowbabies says:

    Keeping you in prayer while you are on the road! Give your graduate a hug from the TX Snows!

  2. mum6kids says:

    Enjoy your time-seeing CarKiller and all the 4th July stuff.
    WE drove from Birmingham to Edinburgh once (well quite a few times but THIS journey sticks in the mind) It’s about 320miles and it took us…11 HOURS! Why? Because one boy was 2 and needed the potty every hour or so and the other boy was a baby and needed the breast all the time! ARGH! it was nearly 18 years ago and I’m scarred for life. LOL!

Leave a Reply

